Datasheet · Trezor · rev.
Trezor Model T
Suits people who already own a Model T and want to know how long Trezor will support it; buyers starting fresh are pointed by Trezor to the Safe 5, which adds a secure element.
- Open-source firmware
- Bitcoin-only edition
- Touchscreen
- Maker
- Trezor
- Model
- Model T
- Status
- Discontinued
- Released
- 2018
- Sources
- 16
- Security events
- 8
- Rows verified
- 15 of 16
- Side-by-sides
- 0
- Dwg no.
- CF-TREZOR-MODEL-T
- Last checked
Fig. 1 Trezor Model T: outline, front and side view. Dimensions in mm.
- 1. Screen
1.54-inch color LCD touchscreen, 240 x 2402
Schematic, not a likeness. The outline is drawn to the published size and the screen window to the published diagonal and resolution; where the screen sits, and any buttons or ports, are not drawn.
Key parameters
- Price
- Not verified
- Screen
- 1.54 in · color · touch 240 × 240 px2
- Connectivity
- USB-C, microSD2
- Secure element
- No3
- Open-source firmware
- Yes4
- Backup format
- BIP39 12/24 words or SLIP39 20-word shares2
- Recovery on other wallets
- BIP39, 12 or 24 words, compatible-wallet recovery. SLIP39 backups require SLIP39-compatible recovery.16
Trezor Model T in six answers
Fit card · checked 14 Oct 2026Six plain questions, each answered from one row of the spec sheet. The line under every answer is the recorded value and its source. Unknown means the sources we checked do not settle it.
-
Its own screen
Check the amount and address on the wallet itself.
Yes
Display 1.54-inch color LCD touchscreen, 240 x 2402
-
Bluetooth or NFC
A radio link in the maker's list of connections.
No
Connectivity USB-C, microSD2
-
QR or air-gapped signing
Can sign with no cable or radio link to the online device.
No
Connectivity USB-C, microSD2
-
Open-source firmware
The code it runs is published for anyone to read.
Yes
Open-source firmware Yes4
-
Backup in shares
Split the backup into shares; a set number of them restores the wallet.
Yes
Shamir / SLIP-39 backup SLIP39 Multi-share Backup supported; firmware requirement applies7
-
Built-in battery
A battery inside, to charge or replace.
No
Battery None8
Tally: 3 yes, 0 partly, 3 no, 0 unknown
Coins and features
Support data · checkedWhat Trezor documents for the Trezor Model T, one status per coin or feature, each with its source. A linked name opens the sheet that sets every wallet side by side on it.
Coins
- Bitcoin Native srcIn Trezor Suite. Bitcoin-only firmware is available.
- Ethereum Native srcIn Trezor Suite, with ERC-20 tokens, on the universal firmware.
- Solana Native srcIn Trezor Suite, with SPL tokens, on the universal firmware.
- XRP Native srcTrezor Suite native XRP; T2T1 firmware separately lists XRP from 2.0.8. Sources undated.
Features
- Multisig Yes srcBitcoin via Electrum or Casa. Suite has no direct multisig management. Source date: not stated.
- Passphrase Yes srcSeed-extension passphrase protection. Source date: not stated.
- Bluetooth No srcMaker says Safe 5, Safe 3, and earlier models use wired connections. Source date: not stated.
- SLIP-39 Shamir backup Yes srcCreates and recovers SLIP-39 Single-share and Multi-share backups; the updated Multi-share Backup needs firmware 2.7.2 or later.
- BIP39 recovery phrase Yes srcTrezor lists a 12-word BIP39 phrase as the default (24 words optional); SLIP-39 shares are an option.
- Open-source firmware Yes srcFirmware (core) published at github.com/trezor/trezor-firmware under GPLv3.
Notes: design and recovery
Price position
No listed price is recorded for the Trezor Model T, so it is not placed on the range.
- Lowest
- $54.90
- Median
- $149
- Highest
- $399
All 21 listed prices
- Tangem Wallet $54.90 for 2 cards, $69.90 for 3 cards
- Trezor Safe 3 $59
- Arculus Cold Storage Wallet $59.76
- KeepKey $59.95
- Ledger Nano S Plus $69
- SafePal X1 $69.99
- SafePal S1 Pro $89.99
- Ledger Nano X $99
- Trezor Safe 5 $129
- Blockstream Jade Plus $149 to $169
- Keystone 3 Pro $149
- Tangem Ring $160
- ELLIPAL Titan 2.0 $169
- Ledger Nano Gen5 $179
- COLDCARD Mk5 $219
- Ledger Flex $249
- Trezor Safe 7 $249
- OneKey Pro $278
- COLDCARD Q $319
- Foundation Passport Prime $349
- Ledger Stax $399
Listed prices at each maker's own shop, in US dollars. Checked between 14 Oct 2026 and 15 Oct 2026. Shops change prices, bundles and regional offers often; open the source before buying. 5 featured devices have no US dollar price recorded and are left off the scale.
How this page was made: a documentation-led review. Every specification comes from Trezor's own pages or published research and links to its source; we have not used this device hands-on for this page. Last checked 14 Oct 2026. Method.
The Trezor Model T is Trezor’s first touchscreen hardware wallet, released on 26 February 2018, and it is discontinued. Trezor’s support notice says it left the Trezor e-shop on 8 January 2026, though official resellers may sell remaining stock “for a limited time”. The Model T page says its “spirit lives on in the Trezor Safe 5”. Current models: Safe 3, Safe 5 and Safe 7.
Is the Trezor Model T still supported?
Yes, for now. The same notice promises basic maintenance until at least 2031, new coin support until at least 2031 and critical security updates until at least 2036, and says the Model T remains “safe to use”. Trezor’s firmware changelog lists Model T firmware 2.12.5, released on 16 September 2026.
On post-quantum cryptography, the notice expects the Model T to handle future signing changes through software, but says only the Safe 7 is designed to resist the firmware threat it describes.
Who is the Trezor Model T for now?
Mainly people who already own one. If you are buying a new device, Trezor points to the Safe 5. For a Model T bought from a reseller, Trezor’s authentication guide says to check the holographic seal over the connector and notes that every Trezor ships without firmware, installed during setup.
It is a weaker fit if you want:
- a secure element: the Model T has none (see below);
- no cable: it connects only by USB-C;
- multisig inside Trezor Suite: Trezor says Suite does not support multisig wallets directly, so it works through compatible third-party software.
What is the Trezor Model T screen like?
Trezor lists a 1.54-inch color touchscreen at 240 x 240 pixels, a 64 x 39 x 10 mm body weighing 22 g, and a casing made from a PC/ABS plastic blend. Trezor’s hardware page lists an ARM Cortex-M4 processor at 168 MHz, while the Model T page gives 180 MHz for the same Cortex-M4; we could not reconcile the two figures. The authentication guide says there is no battery.
You enter the PIN by tapping the touchscreen, and Trezor’s passphrase guide lists the Model T among the devices that support passphrase entry on the device itself, so it does not have to be typed on the computer.
For the microSD slot, Trezor documents card encryption: its microSD encryption guide says it binds the device to a secret on the card, so unlocking needs both the PIN and the card. It is set up with the trezorctl command-line tool, and a lost card still leaves the wallet recoverable from its backup.
Does the Trezor Model T have a secure element?
No. Trezor’s Safe 3 FAQ explains that when the Model One and Model T were designed, available secure elements required non-disclosure agreements that conflicted with its open-source approach, so it relied on alternatives such as the passphrase and Shamir backup.
That choice has a documented cost. On 31 January 2020 Kraken Security Labs published an attack on the Model One and Model T that uses voltage glitching to extract the encrypted seed, then brute-forces the PIN. It needs about 15 minutes of physical access. Kraken wrote that the flaw was difficult to fix “without a hardware redesign” and recommended a BIP39 passphrase, which is not stored on the device. Trezor’s PIN page adds that 16 wrong PIN attempts reset the device and erase the wallet.
Is the Trezor Model T open source?
The device software is. Trezor’s security page says it “has always been open-source” and can be verified and built from the public code. So is the hardware design: Trezor’s hardware page says “Trezor device hardware is open-source”, and the trezor-hardware repository includes a Model T folder, with contents dual-licensed under the GNU AGPL v3 and the CERN Open Hardware Licence v2 (strongly reciprocal), according to its README. We have not assessed how complete those files are.
How does Trezor Model T backup and recovery work?
Trezor’s backup guide lists three formats for the Model T:
- 12 words (default) or 24 words follow BIP39, which the guide says is widely supported by other wallets.
- 20-word shares follow SLIP-39. Trezor’s SLIP39 FAQ lists the Model T among devices that support Multi-share Backup with firmware 2.7.2, where a chosen number of shares, for example 2 of 3, rebuilds the wallet. The same FAQ names Electrum, Rabby, Sparrow and BlueWallet as software that can import SLIP39 backups.
An optional passphrase is supported. Trezor’s passphrase guide says a mistyped passphrase opens a different wallet, and its SLIP39 FAQ warns that “Funds secured by a passphrase cannot be recovered if you lose the passphrase!” More in our seed phrase guide.
What coins does the Trezor Model T support?
The Model T page says the wallet “provides native support for 14 assets”, with thousands of coins and tokens reached through supported integrations; we have not counted them. Trezor’s firmware release index also lists a Bitcoin-only build of Model T firmware.
Has the Trezor Model T been hacked?
The security history below this article includes the 2020 Kraken research and the January 2026 discontinuation, plus brand-level incidents that were not device flaws: a January 2024 support-portal breach, a June 2025 phishing campaign and a shipping-provider breach. For the last, Trezor reported exposed names, phone numbers and email and shipping addresses on 13 August 2026, and on 4 September added about 67,000 US customers with orders from November 2019 to August 2021. Trezor says hardware wallets, private keys and backups were not affected.
What replaced the Trezor Model T?
The Safe 5, which Trezor’s Safe 5 product page listed at $129 on 14 October 2026. It keeps a 1.54-inch, 240 x 240 color touchscreen and adds a secure element certified to EAL6+. For the step up from the Safe 5, see Trezor Safe 5 vs Safe 7; for other makers, Ledger vs Trezor or the wallet database.
What we could not verify
- Price. Trezor no longer lists one, and reseller stock and prices were outside our checks.
- Basic maintenance. Trezor does not define what the 2031 commitment covers.
- Hardware design files. Trezor publishes them; we have not assessed their completeness.
- Processor clock speed. Trezor’s pages give both 168 MHz and 180 MHz.
- Model-specific exposure. Trezor did not publish how many affected shipping-incident customers had ordered a Model T.
- Country of manufacture. Our record (Czech Republic) rests on a February 2025 forum reply, not a product page.
Not verified on this sheet
1 of 16 rows emptyNo value recorded
- Price at maker Not recorded
Evidence base
- Rows with a value
- 15 of 16
- Sources cited
- 16
- On trezor.io
- 14
- Other domains
- 2
- Sources checked
- 14 Oct 2026
Security history at a glance
- Events recorded
- 8
- First
- Latest
- Period
- 2020 to 2026
Security history
8 events recordedDocumented events involving this device or its maker, with the date and the source. An empty list means we found no documented event, not that none exists.
-
Kraken published a physical seed-extraction attack against Model One and Model T requiring physical access.10
-
Model One and Model T physical access
Kraken demonstrated voltage-glitch extraction of encrypted seeds followed by PIN cracking. A strong passphrase was recommended; the MCU weakness was not a software-only repair.10
-
Model One and Model T; published physical attack
Kraken published seed extraction requiring physical access and voltage glitching. This was a research disclosure, not evidence of remote device compromise.10
-
Trezor support portal
Unauthorized portal access enabled seed phishing. Trezor restricted access and warned affected users.11
-
Brand-wide third-party support portal and subsequent phishing
Trezor reported unauthorized portal access, potential name/email exposure for up to 66,000 contacts, and seed-seeking emails to 41 users.12
-
Trezor support-form impersonation
Attackers abused support replies for phishing. Trezor said the issue was contained and the phishing site removed.13
-
Model One and Model T; manufacturer-shop discontinuation
Official shop sales ended. Basic maintenance is promised until at least 2031 and critical security updates until at least 2036.14
-
Brand-wide ShipMonk order-data breach; disclosure expanded September 4
Vendor initially reported 11,742 full and 1,947 partial exposures. The September 4 update added approximately 67,000 US customers from 2019-2021 orders. Names, contact/shipping details and order numbers were exposed. Model-specific affected-customer counts were not published.15
Compared with
0 side-by-side sheetsNo side-by-side sheet includes the Trezor Model T yet. The comparisons page lists every sheet we have.
Similar devices
4 from other makersFeatured devices from other makers that share a connection type or a listed-price band with the Trezor Model T. Outlines at one scale, this device first.
-
Trezor Model T
This sheet
- BitBox02 Nova Multi
Also has a microSD or SD slot; no listed price recorded.
- Blockstream Jade Plus
Also has a microSD or SD slot; listed at $149 to $169.
- COLDCARD Mk5
Also has a microSD or SD slot; listed at $219.
- COLDCARD Q
Also has a microSD or SD slot; listed at $319.
Front outlines at published sizes, one scale for all. Price bands: under $100, $100 to $199, $200 to $299, $300 and over, by the lowest listed price.
Also from Trezor
4 more datasheetsThe maker's other featured devices, lowest listed price first: the feature stamps each one adds or lacks next to the Trezor Model T, and the fit-card answers that differ.
| Device | Listed price | Feature stamps | Fit-card answers that differ |
|---|---|---|---|
| Trezor Safe 3 | $59 |
| Same six answers |
| Trezor Safe 5 | $129 | Same stamps |
|
| Trezor Safe 7 | $249 |
|
|
| Trezor Model One | Not recorded |
|
|
Pages that link here
1 pageOther pages on this site that point readers to the Trezor Model T datasheet.
Guides
- How to choose a hardware wallet 5 links
Sources
16 reference documents- 1 trezor.io/guides/trezor-devices/trezor-fundamentals/trezor-fundamentals checked 14 Oct 2026
- 2 trezor.io/trezor-model-t checked 14 Oct 2026
- 3 trezor.io/guides/trezor-devices/trezor-safe-3/trezor-safe-3-faqs checked 14 Oct 2026
- 4 trezor.io/learn/security-privacy/how-trezor-keeps-you-safe/security-safety-in-trezor checked 14 Oct 2026
- 5 trezor.io/other/product-updates/trezor-firmware-changelog-all-versions-and-release-dates checked 14 Oct 2026
- 6 trezor.io/learn/supported-assets/bitcoin/multisig-wallets-how-multi-key-security-protects-your-bitcoin checked 14 Oct 2026
- 7 trezor.io/guides/backups-recovery/general-standards/slip39-faqs checked 14 Oct 2026
- 8 trezor.io/guides/trezor-devices/trezor-model-t/authenticate-model-t checked 14 Oct 2026
- 9 forum.trezor.io/t/where-is-trevor-safe-3-manufactured/22077 checked 14 Oct 2026
- 10 blog.kraken.com/product/security/kraken-identifies-critical-flaw-in-trezor-hardware-wallets
- 11 forum.trezor.io/t/security-alert-update/15204
- 12 blog.trezor.io/trezor-security-update-stay-vigilant-against-potential-phishing-attack-bb05015a21f8
- 13 theblock.co/news/regulation/2025-06-23-trezor-phishing-scam-359172
- 14 trezor.io/other/product-updates/how-long-will-trezor-model-one-and-model-t-be-supported
- 15 trezor.io/blog/news/recent-customer-data-exposed-in-shipping-provider-incident
- 16 trezor.io/learn/security-privacy/personal-security-standards/understanding-trezor-wallet-backups-12-20-or-24-words checked 14 Oct 2026