Datasheet · Trezor · rev.
Trezor Safe 3
Suits people who want Trezor's open-source firmware, a certified secure element and a choice of BIP39 or SLIP39 backups at the lowest list price in the Safe range, and who can work with a small two-button screen.
- Open-source firmware
- Bitcoin-only edition
- Maker
- Trezor
- Model
- Safe 3
- Status
- In production
- Released
- 2023
- Sources
- 14
- Security events
- 3
- Rows verified
- 16 of 16
- Side-by-sides
- 2
- Dwg no.
- CF-TREZOR-SAFE-3
- Last checked
Fig. 1 Trezor Safe 3: outline, front and side view. Dimensions in mm.
- 1. Screen
0.96-inch monochrome OLED, 128 x 64, buttons3
- Size and weight
- 59 x 32 x 7.4 mm; 14 g3
- Distinctive
- Two-button, monochrome-screen wallet with a dedicated Secure Element.3
Schematic, not a likeness. The outline is drawn to the published size and the screen window to the published diagonal and resolution; where the screen sits, and any buttons or ports, are not drawn.
Key parameters
- Price
- $59 Maker's shop, checked 14 Oct 20261
- Screen
- 0.96 in · OLED · buttons 128 × 64 px3
- Connectivity
- USB-C3
- Secure element
- Infineon OPTIGA Trust M (V3), certified to Common Criteria EAL6+.4
- Open-source firmware
- Yes6
- Backup format
- BIP39 12/24 words or SLIP39 20-word shares3
- Recovery on other wallets
- BIP39 backups are portable to compatible wallets. Default 20-word SLIP39 backups require SLIP39-compatible recovery.14
Trezor Safe 3 in six answers
Fit card · checked 14 Oct 2026Six plain questions, each answered from one row of the spec sheet. The line under every answer is the recorded value and its source. Unknown means the sources we checked do not settle it.
-
Its own screen
Check the amount and address on the wallet itself.
Yes
Display 0.96-inch monochrome OLED, 128 x 64, buttons3
-
Bluetooth or NFC
A radio link in the maker's list of connections.
No
Connectivity USB-C3
-
QR or air-gapped signing
Can sign with no cable or radio link to the online device.
No
Connectivity USB-C3
-
Open-source firmware
The code it runs is published for anyone to read.
Yes
Open-source firmware Yes6
-
Backup in shares
Split the backup into shares; a set number of them restores the wallet.
Yes
Shamir / SLIP-39 backup SLIP39 Multi-share Backup supported; firmware requirement applies8
-
Built-in battery
A battery inside, to charge or replace.
No
Battery None; USB-powered.9
Tally: 3 yes, 0 partly, 3 no, 0 unknown
Coins and features
Support data · checkedWhat Trezor documents for the Trezor Safe 3, one status per coin or feature, each with its source. A linked name opens the sheet that sets every wallet side by side on it.
Coins
- Bitcoin Native srcIn Trezor Suite. A Bitcoin-only edition of the Safe 3 is sold, and Suite can switch firmware.
- Ethereum Native srcIn Trezor Suite, with ERC-20 tokens, on the universal firmware.
- Solana Native srcIn Trezor Suite, with SPL tokens, on the universal firmware.
- XRP Native srcNative Trezor Suite support. Use universal firmware, not Bitcoin-only firmware. Source date: not stated.
Features
- Multisig Yes srcBitcoin via Electrum or Casa. Suite has no direct multisig management. Source date: not stated.
- Passphrase Yes srcSeed-extension passphrase protection. Source date: not stated.
- Bluetooth No srcMaker says Safe 5, Safe 3, and earlier models use wired connections. Source date: not stated.
- SLIP-39 Shamir backup Yes srcCreates and recovers SLIP-39 Single-share and Multi-share backups; the updated Multi-share Backup needs firmware 2.7.2 or later.
- BIP39 recovery phrase Partial srcThe default backup is a 20-word SLIP-39 share (since June 2024); a 12- or 24-word BIP39 phrase can be chosen at setup, and BIP39 phrases restore.
- Open-source firmware Yes srcFirmware (core) published at github.com/trezor/trezor-firmware under GPLv3.
Notes: design and recovery
-
Distinctive design
What the maker's pages single out about this device.
Two-button, monochrome-screen wallet with a dedicated Secure Element.3
-
Seed portability
Whether its backup restores on a wallet from another maker.
BIP39 backups are portable to compatible wallets. Default 20-word SLIP39 backups require SLIP39-compatible recovery.14
Price position
At $59 it ranks 2nd lowest of the 21 featured devices with a US dollar price on our sheets.
- Lowest
- $54.90
- Median
- $149
- Highest
- $399
- Next lower Tangem Wallet ($54.90)
- Next higher Arculus Cold Storage Wallet ($59.76)
All 21 listed prices
- Tangem Wallet $54.90 for 2 cards, $69.90 for 3 cards
- Trezor Safe 3 (this sheet) $59
- Arculus Cold Storage Wallet $59.76
- KeepKey $59.95
- Ledger Nano S Plus $69
- SafePal X1 $69.99
- SafePal S1 Pro $89.99
- Ledger Nano X $99
- Trezor Safe 5 $129
- Blockstream Jade Plus $149 to $169
- Keystone 3 Pro $149
- Tangem Ring $160
- ELLIPAL Titan 2.0 $169
- Ledger Nano Gen5 $179
- COLDCARD Mk5 $219
- Ledger Flex $249
- Trezor Safe 7 $249
- OneKey Pro $278
- COLDCARD Q $319
- Foundation Passport Prime $349
- Ledger Stax $399
Listed prices at each maker's own shop, in US dollars. Checked between 14 Oct 2026 and 15 Oct 2026. Shops change prices, bundles and regional offers often; open the source before buying. 5 featured devices have no US dollar price recorded and are left off the scale.
How this page was made: a documentation-led review. Every specification comes from Trezor's own pages or published research and links to its source; we have not used this device hands-on for this page. Last checked 14 Oct 2026. Method.
The Trezor Safe 3 is the lowest-priced model in Trezor’s current Safe range: a two-button hardware wallet with a 0.96-inch monochrome screen and a secure element certified to EAL6+. Trezor launched it on 12 October 2023. It connects to a computer over USB-C, takes its power from that cable, and is managed in Trezor Suite. On 14 October 2026 Trezor’s comparison page listed it at $59, against $129 for the Safe 5 and $249 for the Safe 7.
Who is the Trezor Safe 3 for?
The Safe 3 fits someone moving coins off an exchange into a cold wallet who manages them from a computer and would rather pay less than get a larger screen. Like the more expensive Safe models, it runs Trezor’s open-source device software and supports BIP39 and SLIP39 backups.
It is a weaker match if you want:
- a touchscreen: the Safe 5 and Safe 7 both have color touchscreens;
- no cable: the Safe 7 is the Trezor model whose specifications list Bluetooth and a battery;
- signing with no USB or Bluetooth link to a computer or phone: see our guide to air-gapped hardware wallets;
- multisig inside Trezor’s own app: Trezor says Suite does not support multisig wallets directly, so you would pair the Safe 3 with compatible third-party software.
What is the Trezor Safe 3 screen like?
Trezor lists a 0.96-inch monochrome OLED at 128 x 64 pixels, operated with two physical buttons. By diagonal it is the smallest screen of the three current Safe models: the Safe 5 has 1.54 inches and the Safe 7 has 2.5 inches, both in color.
The body measures 59 x 32 x 7.4 mm and weighs 14 g. There is no battery: Trezor’s Safe 3 FAQ says the device is USB-powered, so it runs only while connected by cable. A February 2025 reply on Trezor’s community forum says all Trezor models are manufactured in the Czech Republic.
Is the Trezor Safe 3 secure?
Trezor’s security case for the Safe 3 rests on two documented parts: a secure element and open-source device software (next section). Trezor lists the secure element as a “Certified Chip EAL6+”, and its secure element page identifies it as the OPTIGA Trust M (V3). EAL6 is the sixth of the seven evaluation assurance levels defined in the Common Criteria, Part 3, which lets a level be augmented by adding assurance components or by substituting higher-level ones; the ”+” refers to such an augmentation. Trezor’s secure element page says it includes extra requirements such as protections against fault injection and side-channel analysis. Trezor attributes the certification to the chip, not to the wallet as a whole.
On 12 November 2024 Ledger Donjon, the security lab of rival maker Ledger, reported to Trezor that some Safe 3 countermeasures against supply chain attacks could be bypassed: the concern is a device altered before it reaches its owner. Trezor’s disclosure does not describe it as a way to extract keys from a wallet that was already set up and locked. The same page says the Safe 5 was not affected because it uses a newer microcontroller, and Trezor’s developer documentation says the Safe 3 “was upgraded post-release” and exists in two variants, depending on its chip.
The dated list below this article also records two phishing incidents involving Trezor’s support systems, in January 2024 and June 2025. Both were brand-level events, not flaws in the device. Trezor restricted support-portal access and warned affected users after the first, and said the second was contained and the phishing site taken down.
Is the Trezor Safe 3 open source?
The software is. Trezor’s security page says the software in its devices “has always been open-source” and that anyone can verify and build it from the public code. That lets outside researchers read the code that handles your keys. The statement concerns device software: we did not verify whether the design of the Safe 3’s secure element is open to review, and the Trezor pages we checked do not say whether the Safe 3 hardware design files are published.
How do you back up a Trezor Safe 3?
Trezor lists 12-, 20- and 24-word backups, in two standards:
- 12 or 24 words use BIP39. Trezor’s backup guide says BIP39 backups are widely supported by other wallets, so they restore without a Trezor.
- 20 words use SLIP-39, which splits a secret with Shamir’s secret sharing. Restoring needs SLIP39-compatible software or hardware, and the SLIP-39 specification says shares cannot be converted back into a BIP39 phrase. Trezor’s SLIP39 FAQ names Electrum and Sparrow among the software wallets that read it.
The same backup guide says the 20-word Single-share Backup has been the Safe 3 default since June 2024; units set up earlier defaulted to 12 words. You can pick another format from the Backup format menu when creating the wallet in Trezor Suite. Trezor’s SLIP39 FAQ lists the Safe 3 among devices that support Multi-share Backup with firmware 2.7.2 or newer: a separate set of shares where a chosen number, for example 2 of 3, rebuilds the wallet.
The Safe 3 also supports an optional passphrase. In the BIP39 design the passphrase is mixed into the seed, so each passphrase opens a different wallet and the words alone no longer restore the funds behind it. Our seed phrase guide covers how to store both.
Which coins does the Trezor Safe 3 support?
Trezor says the Safe 3 manages “1000s of coins & tokens” through Trezor Suite; we have not counted the list. Trezor also sells a Bitcoin-only edition of the Safe 3.
How much does the Trezor Safe 3 cost?
Trezor’s comparison page listed the Safe 3 at $59 on 14 October 2026; prices change, so the date is part of the figure. What the extra $70 bought on the Safe 5 that day is in Trezor Safe 3 vs Safe 5. For other makers, see Ledger vs Trezor and Coldcard vs Trezor, or browse the wallet database.
What we could not verify
- Which chip variant a given unit has. Trezor’s developer documentation confirms two Safe 3 variants, but we found no buyer-facing way to tell them apart.
- Hardware design files. The Trezor security page we checked covers software only.
- Country of manufacture. This comes from a forum reply, not from a product page.
Not verified on this sheet
0 of 16 rows emptyEvery row on this sheet has a sourced value, and no recorded value states a gap.
Evidence base
- Rows with a value
- 16 of 16
- Sources cited
- 14
- On trezor.io
- 13
- Other domains
- 1
- Sources checked
- 14 Oct 2026
Security history at a glance
- Events recorded
- 3
- First
- Latest
- Period
- 2024 to 2025
Security history
3 events recordedDocumented events involving this device or its maker, with the date and the source. An empty list means we found no documented event, not that none exists.
-
Trezor support portal, brand-level
Unauthorized portal access enabled seed-phishing messages. Trezor restricted access and warned affected users.11
-
Original Safe 3 supply-chain countermeasures
Ledger Donjon demonstrated a bypass of some supply-chain countermeasures. This was not described as extraction from an initialized, locked wallet. Later Safe 3 hardware uses an upgraded MCU.12
-
Trezor support-form impersonation campaign
Attackers abused support replies for phishing. Trezor said the issue was contained and the phishing site removed.13
Compared with
2 side-by-side sheetsSheets that set the Trezor Safe 3 beside other devices, one row per spec with differences marked.
- Ledger vs Trezor
Against Ledger Nano S Plus, Ledger Nano X, Ledger Flex Same side Trezor Safe 5, Trezor Safe 7
- Rows that differ
- 12 of 16
- Revised
- Trezor Safe 3 vs Safe 5
Against Trezor Safe 5
- Rows that differ
- 6 of 16
- Revised
Similar devices
4 from other makersFeatured devices from other makers that share a connection type or a listed-price band with the Trezor Safe 3. Outlines at one scale, this device first.
-
Trezor Safe 3
This sheet · $59
- KeepKey
Also connects by cable only (USB); same price band (under $100), listed at $59.95.
- Ledger Nano S Plus
Also connects by cable only (USB); same price band (under $100), listed at $69.
- Arculus Cold Storage Wallet
Same price band (under $100), listed at $59.76.
- Tangem Wallet
Same price band (under $100), listed at $54.90 to $69.90.
Front outlines at published sizes, one scale for all. A dashed outline marked NTS has no published size and is not to scale. Price bands: under $100, $100 to $199, $200 to $299, $300 and over, by the lowest listed price.
Also from Trezor
4 more datasheetsThe maker's other featured devices, lowest listed price first: the feature stamps each one adds or lacks next to the Trezor Safe 3, and the fit-card answers that differ.
| Device | Listed price | Feature stamps | Fit-card answers that differ |
|---|---|---|---|
| Trezor Safe 5 | $129 |
|
|
| Trezor Safe 7 | $249 |
|
|
| Trezor Model One | Not recorded | Same stamps |
|
| Trezor Model T | Not recorded |
| Same six answers |
Pages that link here
12 pagesOther pages on this site that point readers to the Trezor Safe 3 datasheet.
Guides
- What is a cold wallet? 2 links
- Cold wallet vs hot wallet 2 links
- How to choose a hardware wallet 5 links
- Self-custody, explained 2 links
Comparisons that mention it
- Trezor Safe 5 vs Safe 7 1 link
Other datasheets
- KeepKey 1 link
- Ledger Nano S Plus 2 links
- SafePal S1 Pro 1 link
- Trezor Model One 1 link
- Trezor Model T 1 link
- Trezor Safe 5 1 link
- Trezor Safe 7 1 link
Sources
14 reference documents- 1 trezor.io/compare checked 14 Oct 2026
- 2 trezor.io/guides/trezor-devices/trezor-fundamentals/trezor-fundamentals checked 14 Oct 2026
- 3 trezor.io/trezor-safe-3 checked 14 Oct 2026
- 4 trezor.io/learn/security-privacy/how-trezor-keeps-you-safe/secure-elements-in-trezor-safe-devices checked 14 Oct 2026
- 5 trezor.io/guides/trezor-devices/trezor-safe-7/what-is-the-tropic-01-chip checked 14 Oct 2026
- 6 trezor.io/learn/security-privacy/how-trezor-keeps-you-safe/security-safety-in-trezor checked 14 Oct 2026
- 7 trezor.io/learn/supported-assets/bitcoin/multisig-wallets-how-multi-key-security-protects-your-bitcoin checked 14 Oct 2026
- 8 trezor.io/guides/backups-recovery/general-standards/slip39-faqs checked 14 Oct 2026
- 9 trezor.io/guides/trezor-devices/trezor-safe-3/trezor-safe-3-faqs checked 14 Oct 2026
- 10 forum.trezor.io/t/where-is-trevor-safe-3-manufactured/22077 checked 14 Oct 2026
- 11 forum.trezor.io/t/security-alert-update/15204
- 12 trezor.io/vulnerability/donjon-s-trezor-safe-3-evaluation
- 13 theblock.co/news/regulation/2025-06-23-trezor-phishing-scam-359172
- 14 trezor.io/learn/security-privacy/personal-security-standards/understanding-trezor-wallet-backups-12-20-or-24-words checked 14 Oct 2026