Datasheet · Ledger · rev.
Ledger Flex
Suits someone who wants a mid-priced touchscreen Ledger with Bluetooth and an NFC backup card, and who accepts that part of the firmware is closed.
- Bluetooth
- NFC
- Battery
- Touchscreen
- Maker
- Ledger
- Model
- Flex
- Status
- In production
- Released
- 2024
- Sources
- 12
- Security events
- 6
- Rows verified
- 14 of 16
- Side-by-sides
- 2
- Dwg no.
- CF-LEDGER-FLEX
- Last checked
Fig. 1 Ledger Flex: outline, front and side view. Dimensions in mm.
- 1. Screen
E Ink touchscreen, 2.8 inches, 480 x 600, 16 grayscale1
- Size and weight
- 78.4 x 56.5 x 7.7 mm; 58 g1
- Distinctive
- E Ink touchscreen signer with Bluetooth and NFC.3
Schematic, not a likeness. The outline is drawn to the published size and the screen window to the published diagonal and resolution; where the screen sits, and any buttons or ports, are not drawn.
Key parameters
- Price
- $249 Maker's shop, checked 14 Oct 20261
- Screen
- 2.8 in · E Ink · touch 480 × 600 px1
- Connectivity
- USB-C, Bluetooth BLE 5.2, NFC for Recovery Key and Security Key3
- Secure element
- ST33K1M53
- Open-source firmware
- Partial4
- Backup format
- 24-word recovery phrase; optional services/cards vary by model5
- Recovery on other wallets
- Accounts can be recovered on other hardware or software wallets that support the same standards (BIP32/BIP39/BIP44). Asset and derivation-path compatibility still matters.12
Ledger Flex in six answers
Fit card · checked 14 Oct 2026Six plain questions, each answered from one row of the spec sheet. The line under every answer is the recorded value and its source. Unknown means the sources we checked do not settle it.
-
Its own screen
Check the amount and address on the wallet itself.
Yes
Display E Ink touchscreen, 2.8 inches, 480 x 600, 16 grayscale1
-
Bluetooth or NFC
A radio link in the maker's list of connections.
Yes
Connectivity USB-C, Bluetooth BLE 5.2, NFC for Recovery Key and Security Key3
-
QR or air-gapped signing
Can sign with no cable or radio link to the online device.
No
Connectivity USB-C, Bluetooth BLE 5.2, NFC for Recovery Key and Security Key3
-
Open-source firmware
The code it runs is published for anyone to read.
Partly
Open-source firmware Partial4
-
Backup in shares
Split the backup into shares; a set number of them restores the wallet.
Unknown
Shamir / SLIP-39 backup Not verified
-
Built-in battery
A battery inside, to charge or replace.
Yes
Battery Up to 10 hours normal use or 150 transactions1
Tally: 3 yes, 1 partly, 1 no, 1 unknown
Coins and features
Support data · checkedWhat Ledger documents for the Ledger Flex, one status per coin or feature, each with its source. A linked name opens the sheet that sets every wallet side by side on it.
Coins
Features
- Multisig Yes srcBitcoin via Sparrow. Source is maker-wide guidance. Source updated: 2025-08-29.
- Passphrase Yes srcOptional recovery-phrase extension creates a hidden wallet. Source updated: 2026-10-05.
- Bluetooth Yes srcBLE 5.2. Source date: not stated.
- SLIP-39 Shamir backup Not documented srcNo Ledger statement on SLIP-39 found. Ledger Recover (optional, paid) splits an encrypted copy of the seed among three companies; that is not a SLIP-39 backup.
- BIP39 recovery phrase Yes srcThe device creates a 24-word BIP39 recovery phrase.
- Open-source firmware Partial srcApps, SDK and crypto libraries are public; the low-level secure element OS stays closed under the chip vendor NDA.
Notes: design and recovery
-
Distinctive design
What the maker's pages single out about this device.
E Ink touchscreen signer with Bluetooth and NFC.3
-
Seed portability
Whether its backup restores on a wallet from another maker.
Accounts can be recovered on other hardware or software wallets that support the same standards (BIP32/BIP39/BIP44). Asset and derivation-path compatibility still matters.12
Price position
At $249 it ranks joint 16th lowest of the 21 featured devices with a US dollar price on our sheets.
- Lowest
- $54.90
- Median
- $149
- Highest
- $399
- Next lower COLDCARD Mk5 ($219)
- Same price Trezor Safe 7
- Next higher OneKey Pro ($278)
All 21 listed prices
- Tangem Wallet $54.90 for 2 cards, $69.90 for 3 cards
- Trezor Safe 3 $59
- Arculus Cold Storage Wallet $59.76
- KeepKey $59.95
- Ledger Nano S Plus $69
- SafePal X1 $69.99
- SafePal S1 Pro $89.99
- Ledger Nano X $99
- Trezor Safe 5 $129
- Blockstream Jade Plus $149 to $169
- Keystone 3 Pro $149
- Tangem Ring $160
- ELLIPAL Titan 2.0 $169
- Ledger Nano Gen5 $179
- COLDCARD Mk5 $219
- Ledger Flex (this sheet) $249
- Trezor Safe 7 $249
- OneKey Pro $278
- COLDCARD Q $319
- Foundation Passport Prime $349
- Ledger Stax $399
Listed prices at each maker's own shop, in US dollars. Checked between 14 Oct 2026 and 15 Oct 2026. Shops change prices, bundles and regional offers often; open the source before buying. 5 featured devices have no US dollar price recorded and are left off the scale.
How this page was made: a documentation-led review. Every specification comes from Ledger's own pages or published research and links to its source; we have not used this device hands-on for this page. Last checked 14 Oct 2026. Method.
The Ledger Flex is a battery-powered hardware wallet with a 2.8-inch E Ink touchscreen, an ST33K1M5 secure element, and USB-C, Bluetooth and NFC connections. Ledger released it in 2024. On price it sits in the middle of Ledger’s three touchscreen models: it was listed at $249 on Ledger’s US shop on 14 October 2026, against $179 for the Nano Gen5 and $399 for the Stax on the same day.
Who is the Ledger Flex for?
The Flex fits someone who wants to read addresses and amounts on a larger screen than the 1.1-inch, 128 x 64 OLED of the Nano X and Nano S Plus. It also fits someone who signs from a phone over Bluetooth, or who wants Ledger’s NFC Recovery Key card as a second backup.
It fits less well if you want:
- Fully open-source firmware. Ledger describes its code as only partly open.
- A Bitcoin-only build or Shamir (SLIP-39) backups. Ledger’s pages we checked mention neither for the Flex.
- A lower price. The USB-only Nano S Plus was listed at $69 on the same day.
For the closest alternatives, see Ledger Flex vs Stax and Ledger Nano Gen5 vs Nano X.
How big is the Ledger Flex screen?
Ledger lists a 2.8-inch E Ink touchscreen at 480 x 600 pixels with 16 levels of grey. The Nano Gen5 has the same 2.8-inch diagonal but a lower 300 x 400 resolution in monochrome. The Stax has a larger 3.7-inch curved panel at 400 x 670.
The body measures 78.4 x 56.5 x 7.7 mm and weighs 58 g, heavier than the Stax (45 g) and the Gen5 (46 g). Ledger rates the battery at up to 10 hours of normal use or 150 transactions.
Is the Ledger Flex secure?
The Flex keeps its keys in an ST33K1M5 secure element. That is the same chip part number Ledger lists for the Nano S Plus, Nano Gen5 and Stax. The Flex is a cold wallet: you prepare a transaction in an app on your phone or computer, then review and sign it on the Flex itself. Ledger’s product page says the screen is controlled by the secure element, not your computer or phone.
Is the Ledger Flex open source? Partly. In a July 2024 post, Ledger says its operating system and software are “95% OpenSource and/or available” for review. That covers the companion app, the Secure SDK and the apps that run on the device. Ledger also says its agreement with STMicroelectronics legally prevents it from publishing the low-level code that talks to the secure element’s hardware. That low-level code is not publicly available for independent review.
Has the Ledger Flex had security problems? On 10 January 2025 Ledger’s security team published advisory LSB-021. It covered missing parameter validation during microcontroller firmware updates, a flaw that could permanently brick a device. Ledger fixed it in Flex firmware 1.2.2 and later, and states that client funds were never at risk.
The other events in the security history below concern Ledger as a company. They include a customer-data breach in 2020 and an exposure of order data through Global-e in January 2026. Those incidents involved contact and order details, not keys, and Ledger warned affected customers about phishing after the 2026 exposure. More context is in Is Ledger safe?.
How do you back up a Ledger Flex?
Ledger lists three backup routes for the Flex.
- A 24-word recovery phrase. Ledger’s recovery phrase guide says its devices generate the phrase with the BIP39 standard, and that a phrase can be entered into another compatible wallet to restore access. Which coins appear, and on which derivation paths, still depends on the receiving wallet. Our seed phrase guide explains the format.
- Ledger Recovery Key. Ledger’s comparison page lists this card as included with the Flex, and the Flex’s NFC is listed for it. Ledger describes the card as a PIN-protected backup card that stores the 24-word phrase in its own secure element chip. Ledger calls it a complement to the paper recovery sheet, not a replacement, and warns that wrong PIN attempts wipe the card’s contents.
- Ledger Recover. This is a paid, optional subscription. It encrypts the seed’s entropy, splits it into three fragments, and gives one each to Coincover, Ledger and EscrowTech. Restoring requires identity verification with an ID document. Ledger’s Recover page says it works with the Flex through both the desktop and mobile versions of Ledger’s app. Using it means trusting those companies and their identity checks.
Does the Ledger Flex support a passphrase? Yes. Ledger states that all its devices offer the passphrase option: an optional string of letters, numbers and signs that is combined with the 24 words to derive a different seed. Under BIP39, every passphrase produces a valid wallet, so a mistyped or forgotten passphrase opens a different wallet rather than an error. Ledger warns that forgetting the passphrase means losing access to the funds behind it.
Does the Ledger Flex support Shamir backup? Ledger’s pages we checked do not state support for SLIP-39, the SatoshiLabs standard for splitting a secret into shares where a set minimum number of shares restores it.
What coins does the Ledger Flex support?
Ledger lists 500+ coins through its Ledger Wallet app, and thousands through third-party wallets. For Bitcoin multisig, Ledger says its signers have integrated multisig capabilities. That is a statement about Ledger devices in general, and we did not find a list of coordinator apps confirmed for the Flex specifically. The NFC radio also serves Ledger’s Security Key app, which Ledger’s developer documentation describes as a FIDO2 and U2F hardware security key for website sign-ins.
How much does the Ledger Flex cost?
The Flex was listed at $249 on Ledger’s US shop on 14 October 2026. The Recovery Key card is in the box. Prices change, so check the maker’s shop on the day you buy.
What we could not verify
- SLIP-39 (Shamir) backup support: not stated on the Ledger pages we checked.
- A Bitcoin-only edition: none found.
- Which third-party multisig coordinators Ledger confirms for the Flex specifically.
- The countries Ledger ships the Flex to.
Not verified on this sheet
2 of 16 rows emptyNo value recorded
- Bitcoin-only edition Not verified
- Shamir / SLIP-39 backup Not verified
Evidence base
- Rows with a value
- 14 of 16
- Sources cited
- 12
- On ledger.com
- 11
- Other domains
- 1
- Sources checked
- 14 Oct 2026
Security history at a glance
- Events recorded
- 6
- First
- Latest
- Period
- 2020 to 2026
Security history
6 events recordedDocumented events involving this device or its maker, with the date and the source. An empty list means we found no documented event, not that none exists.
-
Historical Ledger customer-data incident, predating Flex
Ledger patched unauthorized customer-database access. Included as brand history, not a Flex hardware compromise.7
-
brand
Ledger disclosed an e-commerce and marketing customer-data breach. This is a brand-level privacy incident.7
-
Historical Ledger Recover controversy, predating Flex
Ledger announced accelerated open sourcing and delayed Recover pending that work; the service was described as optional.8
-
Historical Ledger Connect Kit incident, predating Flex
Malicious npm releases were replaced with a genuine release. Included as software-supply-chain history.9
-
Flex MCU firmware-update validation
Missing reset-handler validation could brick the device. Fixed in Flex 1.2.2 or later; Ledger reports funds were not at risk.10
-
Global-e customer-order data
Ledger customer contact and order information was exposed through Global-e. Customers were notified and warned about phishing.11
Compared with
2 side-by-side sheetsSheets that set the Ledger Flex beside other devices, one row per spec with differences marked.
- Ledger Flex vs Stax
Against Ledger Stax
- Rows that differ
- 4 of 16
- Revised
- Ledger vs Trezor
Against Trezor Safe 3, Trezor Safe 5, Trezor Safe 7 Same side Ledger Nano S Plus, Ledger Nano X
- Rows that differ
- 12 of 16
- Revised
Similar devices
4 from other makersFeatured devices from other makers that share a connection type or a listed-price band with the Ledger Flex. Outlines at one scale, this device first.
-
Ledger Flex
This sheet · $249
- OneKey Pro
Also has Bluetooth and NFC; same price band ($200 to $299), listed at $278.
- Trezor Safe 7
Also has Bluetooth; same price band ($200 to $299), listed at $249.
- COLDCARD Mk5
Also has NFC; same price band ($200 to $299), listed at $219.
- Foundation Passport Prime
Also has Bluetooth and NFC; listed at $349.
Front outlines at published sizes, one scale for all. Price bands: under $100, $100 to $199, $200 to $299, $300 and over, by the lowest listed price.
Also from Ledger
4 more datasheetsThe maker's other featured devices, lowest listed price first: the feature stamps each one adds or lacks next to the Ledger Flex, and the fit-card answers that differ.
| Device | Listed price | Feature stamps | Fit-card answers that differ |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ledger Nano S Plus | $69 |
|
|
| Ledger Nano X | $99 |
| Same six answers |
| Ledger Nano Gen5 | $179 | Same stamps | Same six answers |
| Ledger Stax | $399 | Same stamps | Same six answers |
Pages that link here
6 pagesOther pages on this site that point readers to the Ledger Flex datasheet.
Guides
- What is a cold wallet? 1 link
- Cold wallet vs hot wallet 1 link
- Is Ledger safe? 1 link
- How to choose a hardware wallet 3 links
Other datasheets
- Ledger Nano Gen5 1 link
- Ledger Stax 1 link
Sources
12 reference documents- 1 shop.ledger.com/pages/hardware-wallets-comparison checked 14 Oct 2026
- 2 ledger.com/ko/academy/topics/ledgersolutions/ledger-flex-ease-of-use-free-from-compromise checked 14 Oct 2026
- 3 shop.ledger.com/products/ledger-flex/graphite checked 14 Oct 2026
- 4 ledger.com/blog-ledger-is-95-opensource-why-not-100 checked 14 Oct 2026
- 5 ledger.com/ledger-101-part-4-advanced-security-principles checked 14 Oct 2026
- 6 ledger.com/academy/what-is-a-multisig-wallet checked 14 Oct 2026
- 7 ledger.com/addressing-the-july-2020-e-commerce-and-marketing-data-breach
- 8 ledger.com/blog/ledger-recover-a-message-from-pascal-gauthier-chairman-ceo-at-ledger
- 9 ledger.com/blog/security-incident-report
- 10 donjon.ledger.com/lsb/021
- 11 theregister.com/security/2026/01/06/ledger-confirms-customer-data-lifted-after-global-e-snafu/2443622
- 12 support.ledger.com/article/4404388633489-zd checked 14 Oct 2026