Chained Future Cold wallet datasheets

Datasheet · Trezor · rev.

Trezor Safe 7

Suits people who want a Trezor that works without a cable, with a battery, Bluetooth and two secure elements, and who accept the highest list price in the Safe range.

  • Open-source firmware
  • Bitcoin-only edition
  • Bluetooth
  • Battery
  • Touchscreen

Official page

Maker
Trezor
Model
Safe 7
Status
In production
Released
2025
Sources
15
Security events
5
Rows verified
15 of 16
Side-by-sides
2
Dwg no.
CF-TREZOR-SAFE-7
Last checked
FrontSide44.575.48.32.5 in110 mm · grid 5 mm

Fig. 1 Trezor Safe 7: outline, front and side view. Dimensions in mm.

  1. 1. Screen

    2.5-inch color touchscreen, 520 x 3803

Size and weight
75.4 x 44.5 x 8.3 mm; 45 g3
Distinctive
Wireless touchscreen wallet combining TROPIC01 and OPTIGA Secure Elements with a separate MCU.3

Schematic, not a likeness. The outline is drawn to the published size and the screen window to the published diagonal and resolution; where the screen sits, and any buttons or ports, are not drawn.

Key parameters

Price
$249 Maker's shop, checked 14 Oct 20261
Screen
2.5 in · color · touch 520 × 380 px3
Connectivity
USB-C, Bluetooth 5.0+, Qi2 charging3
Secure element
Two secure elements: Tropic Square TROPIC01 and Infineon OPTIGA Trust M (V3). OPTIGA Trust M is EAL6+ certified.4
Open-source firmware
Yes6
Backup format
BIP39 12/24 words or SLIP39 20-word shares3
Recovery on other wallets
Supports BIP39 and SLIP39; default 20-word backup is SLIP39, not a BIP39 mnemonic.15

Trezor Safe 7 in six answers

Fit card · checked 15 Oct 2026

Six plain questions, each answered from one row of the spec sheet. The line under every answer is the recorded value and its source. Unknown means the sources we checked do not settle it.

  1. Its own screen

    Check the amount and address on the wallet itself.

    Yes

    Display 2.5-inch color touchscreen, 520 x 3803

  2. Bluetooth or NFC

    A radio link in the maker's list of connections.

    Yes

    Connectivity USB-C, Bluetooth 5.0+, Qi2 charging3

  3. QR or air-gapped signing

    Can sign with no cable or radio link to the online device.

    No

    Connectivity USB-C, Bluetooth 5.0+, Qi2 charging3

  4. Open-source firmware

    The code it runs is published for anyone to read.

    Yes

    Open-source firmware Yes6

  5. Backup in shares

    Split the backup into shares; a set number of them restores the wallet.

    Yes

    Shamir / SLIP-39 backup SLIP39 Multi-share Backup supported; firmware requirement applies9

  6. Built-in battery

    A battery inside, to charge or replace.

    Yes

    Battery LiFePO4, 3.2 V, 330 mAh3

Tally: 5 yes, 0 partly, 1 no, 0 unknown

Coins and features

Support data · checked

What Trezor documents for the Trezor Safe 7, one status per coin or feature, each with its source. A linked name opens the sheet that sets every wallet side by side on it.

Coins

  • Bitcoin Native srcIn Trezor Suite. A Bitcoin-only edition of the Safe 7 is sold, and Suite can switch firmware.
  • Ethereum Native srcIn Trezor Suite, with ERC-20 tokens, on the universal firmware.
  • Solana Native srcIn Trezor Suite, with SPL tokens, on the universal firmware.
  • XRP Native srcNative Trezor Suite support. Use universal firmware, not Bitcoin-only firmware. Source date: not stated.

Features

  • Multisig Yes srcMaker-wide Electrum/Casa guidance; Safe 7 coordinator versions not enumerated. Suite has no direct multisig management. Source date: not stated.
  • Passphrase Yes srcSeed-extension passphrase protection. Source date: not stated.
  • Bluetooth Yes srcWireless pairing supported. Source date: not stated.
  • SLIP-39 Shamir backup Yes srcCreates and recovers SLIP-39 Single-share and Multi-share backups; the updated Multi-share Backup needs firmware 2.7.2 or later.
  • BIP39 recovery phrase Partial srcThe default backup is a 20-word SLIP-39 share; a 12- or 24-word BIP39 phrase can be chosen at setup, and BIP39 phrases restore.
  • Open-source firmware Yes srcFirmware (core) published at github.com/trezor/trezor-firmware under GPLv3.

Notes: design and recovery

  1. Distinctive design

    What the maker's pages single out about this device.

    Wireless touchscreen wallet combining TROPIC01 and OPTIGA Secure Elements with a separate MCU.3

    Source wording Three independent layers of security Checked 14 Oct 2026

  2. Seed portability

    Whether its backup restores on a wallet from another maker.

    Supports BIP39 and SLIP39; default 20-word backup is SLIP39, not a BIP39 mnemonic.15

    Source wording BIP39 backups are widely supported Checked 14 Oct 2026

Price position

At $249 it ranks joint 16th lowest of the 21 featured devices with a US dollar price on our sheets.

Lowest
$54.90
Median
$149
Highest
$399
All 21 listed prices
  1. Tangem Wallet $54.90 for 2 cards, $69.90 for 3 cards
  2. Trezor Safe 3 $59
  3. Arculus Cold Storage Wallet $59.76
  4. KeepKey $59.95
  5. Ledger Nano S Plus $69
  6. SafePal X1 $69.99
  7. SafePal S1 Pro $89.99
  8. Ledger Nano X $99
  9. Trezor Safe 5 $129
  10. Blockstream Jade Plus $149 to $169
  11. Keystone 3 Pro $149
  12. Tangem Ring $160
  13. ELLIPAL Titan 2.0 $169
  14. Ledger Nano Gen5 $179
  15. COLDCARD Mk5 $219
  16. Ledger Flex $249
  17. Trezor Safe 7 (this sheet) $249
  18. OneKey Pro $278
  19. COLDCARD Q $319
  20. Foundation Passport Prime $349
  21. Ledger Stax $399

Listed prices at each maker's own shop, in US dollars. Checked between 14 Oct 2026 and 15 Oct 2026. Shops change prices, bundles and regional offers often; open the source before buying. 5 featured devices have no US dollar price recorded and are left off the scale.

Note

How this page was made: a documentation-led review. Every specification comes from Trezor's own pages or published research and links to its source; we have not used this device hands-on for this page. Last checked 15 Oct 2026. Method.

The Trezor Safe 7 is the most recent Safe model by launch date: Trezor launched it on 21 October 2025. It is the only model in the range whose specifications list a battery and a wireless connection. It has a 2.5-inch color touchscreen, connects by USB-C or Bluetooth 5.0 or later, charges through Qi2 wireless charging, and pairs two secure elements, TROPIC01 and a second EAL6+ certified chip, with a separate microcontroller. Trezor’s comparison page listed it at $249 on 14 October 2026, against $129 for the Safe 5 and $59 for the Safe 3.

Who is the Trezor Safe 7 for?

The Safe 7 fits people who want to use a hardware wallet without plugging it in, want the largest screen in the Safe range by diagonal, and care about a secure element whose maker publishes its design for review. It runs the same Trezor Suite app and offers the same backup formats as the cheaper Safe models.

It is a weaker match if you want:

  • no radio at all: the Safe 3 and Safe 5 list USB-C connections and no Bluetooth;
  • a lower outlay: the Safe 5 keeps a color touchscreen at about half the list price on 14 October 2026;
  • signing with no USB or Bluetooth link to a computer or phone: see air-gapped hardware wallets;
  • multisig inside Trezor Suite: Trezor says Suite does not support multisig wallets directly; it works through compatible third-party software.

What are the Trezor Safe 7 screen and battery like?

Trezor lists a 2.5-inch color touchscreen at 520 x 380 pixels. The body measures 75.4 x 44.5 x 8.3 mm and weighs 45 g, a little over three times the Safe 3’s 14 g.

Power comes from a LiFePO4 battery rated at 3.2 V and 330 mAh. It charges over USB-C or on a Qi2-compatible wireless charger. Trezor’s product page we checked gives the battery chemistry and capacity; our records hold no figure for battery life or standby time.

Is the Trezor Safe 7 secure?

Trezor frames the Safe 7 around “Three independent layers of security”: two secure elements and a separate microcontroller. According to its product page, the layers are:

  • TROPIC01, a secure element designed by Tropic Square, which describes the chip as auditable and open source, so its design can be reviewed by outside researchers. Tropic Square calls itself a SatoshiLabs company, and SatoshiLabs says Trezor is part of SatoshiLabs, so the chip maker and the wallet maker belong to the same group.
  • A second secure element certified to EAL6+, which the product page names as Optiga and Trezor’s secure element page identifies as the same OPTIGA Trust M (V3) used in the Safe 3 and Safe 5. EAL6 is the sixth of seven evaluation assurance levels in the Common Criteria, Part 3, which lets a level be augmented by adding assurance components or by substituting higher-level ones.
  • A separate microcontroller, the third layer.

Trezor’s explainer on TROPIC01 says the chip secures one of three secrets that protect the PIN, and that neither the keys to your coins nor the wallet backup are stored on it.

Bluetooth adds a wireless interface that the cable-only Safe models do not have. Whether that trade matters depends on where and how you sign transactions.

On 3 June 2026 Ledger Donjon, the security lab of rival maker Ledger, published a laser fault-injection attack on TROPIC01, first reported to Tropic Square that January, that bypassed the opened chip’s firmware signature check. Tropic Square’s advisory adds a combined attack on data held in the chip, scores the issue 5.7 (medium) under CVSS 3.1 and plans a hardened revision for late 2026. Trezor’s response says the attack needs physical possession, disassembly and lab equipment, that compromising TROPIC01 alone does not give access to the PIN or funds, and that users need not act. Trezor adds that the issue cannot be fixed with a firmware update and that it cannot commit to whether or when a revised chip will reach the Safe 7.

Trezor’s security portal lists two further Safe 7 issues from 2026: a host could complete pairing without the code shown on the device (reported 22 June), and authenticity proofs were checked against a combined key set rather than per secure element (reported 16 August). Trezor says the pairing values involved are now rejected and each proof is now bound to its own secure element.

The security history below lists the June 2026 chip disclosure and the two portal issues, the latter under the dates Trezor gives for their reports. It also lists two phishing incidents involving Trezor’s support systems, in January 2024 and June 2025; both predate the Safe 7 and neither concerned its hardware. Trezor restricted support-portal access and warned affected users after the first, and said the second was contained and the phishing site taken down.

Is the Trezor Safe 7 open source?

The device software is. Trezor’s security page says the software in its devices “has always been open-source” and can be verified and built from public code. TROPIC01 adds a secure element whose maker presents it as open to review. The Trezor pages we checked do not say whether the Safe 7’s own hardware design files are published.

How do you back up a Trezor Safe 7?

Trezor lists 12-, 20- and 24-word backups. The 12- and 24-word options follow BIP39, the format most other wallets can restore. The default is a 20-word Single-share Backup that follows SLIP-39, according to Trezor’s backup guide. A SLIP39 backup is not a BIP39 phrase: it needs SLIP39-compatible software or hardware to restore, and the SLIP-39 specification says shares cannot be converted back into BIP39. If you want the widest choice of recovery wallets, the same guide says you can pick a different format from the Backup format menu during setup.

Trezor’s SLIP39 FAQ lists the Safe 7 among devices that support Multi-share Backup with firmware 2.7.2 or newer, a separate set of shares where a chosen number, for example 2 of 3, rebuilds the wallet. Passphrase protection is supported; under the BIP39 design a passphrase turns the same words into a different wallet. See our seed phrase guide for storage.

Which coins does the Trezor Safe 7 support?

Trezor says “Thousands” of coins and tokens, naming BTC, ETH, SOL, Arbitrum and USDC as examples. That is Trezor’s wording, not a count we made. Trezor also sells a Bitcoin-only Edition of the Safe 7.

How much does the Trezor Safe 7 cost?

Trezor’s comparison page listed the Safe 7 at $249 on 14 October 2026, the highest of the three Safe models on that date. Prices change, so read the figure with its date. What the extra $120 over the Safe 5 buys is covered in Trezor Safe 5 vs Safe 7. For wireless models from another maker, start with Ledger vs Trezor.

What we could not verify

  • Country of manufacture. We found no model-specific statement, and we did not extend an older forum reply about earlier models to the Safe 7.
  • Battery life and standby time. Not recorded in our dataset.
  • Supported phones and operating systems for Bluetooth. Not recorded in our dataset.
  • Firmware versions for the 2026 fixes. Trezor’s disclosure pages give report dates, not the firmware release that carried each fix.
  • Hardware design files. The Trezor security page we checked covers software only.

Not verified on this sheet

1 of 16 rows empty

No value recorded

  • Made by (country) Not verified

Evidence base

Rows with a value
15 of 16
Sources cited
15
On trezor.io
14
Other domains
1
Sources checked
14 Oct 2026

Security history at a glance

Events recorded
5
First
Latest
Period
2024 to 2026

Security history

5 events recorded

Documented events involving this device or its maker, with the date and the source. An empty list means we found no documented event, not that none exists.

  1. Historical Trezor support-portal incident, not Safe 7 hardware

    Unauthorized portal access enabled seed phishing. Trezor restricted access and warned affected users.10

  2. Historical Trezor support-form impersonation

    Attackers abused support replies for phishing. Trezor said the issue was contained and the phishing site removed.11

  3. TROPIC01 secure element in the Safe 7, physical lab attack

    Ledger Donjon published a laser fault-injection attack on an opened TROPIC01 chip that bypassed its firmware check and could extract a secret tied to its PIN functions. Trezor says it needs physical possession and lab equipment, that TROPIC01 alone does not give access to the PIN or funds, and that users need not act; a full firmware fix cannot be applied remotely.12

  4. Safe 7 host pairing (Trezor Host Protocol), date reported

    Trezor's security portal says a host could complete Safe 7 pairing without the code shown on the device by supplying a degenerate value in the pairing key exchange. Trezor says such values are now rejected.13

  5. Safe 7 secure element authenticity checks, date reported

    Trezor's security portal says Safe 7 authenticity proofs were verified against a combined key set rather than per secure element, so one valid proof could satisfy all three checks. Trezor says each proof is now bound to its own element.14

Compared with

2 side-by-side sheets

Sheets that set the Trezor Safe 7 beside other devices, one row per spec with differences marked.

  1. Ledger vs Trezor

    Against Ledger Nano S Plus, Ledger Nano X, Ledger Flex Same side Trezor Safe 3, Trezor Safe 5

    Rows that differ
    12 of 16
    Revised
  2. Trezor Safe 5 vs Safe 7

    Against Trezor Safe 5

    Rows that differ
    8 of 16
    Revised

Similar devices

4 from other makers

Featured devices from other makers that share a connection type or a listed-price band with the Trezor Safe 7. Outlines at one scale, this device first.

  • Trezor Safe 7

    This sheet · $249

  • Ledger Flex

    Also has Bluetooth; same price band ($200 to $299), listed at $249.

  • OneKey Pro

    Also has Bluetooth; same price band ($200 to $299), listed at $278.

  • COLDCARD Mk5

    Same price band ($200 to $299), listed at $219.

  • Ledger Nano Gen5

    Also has Bluetooth; listed at $179.

Front outlines at published sizes, one scale for all. Price bands: under $100, $100 to $199, $200 to $299, $300 and over, by the lowest listed price.

Also from Trezor

4 more datasheets

The maker's other featured devices, lowest listed price first: the feature stamps each one adds or lacks next to the Trezor Safe 7, and the fit-card answers that differ.

DeviceListed priceFeature stampsFit-card answers that differ
Trezor Safe 3$59
  • Lacks Bluetooth, Battery, Touchscreen
  • Bluetooth or NFC: No (this sheet: Yes)
  • Built-in battery: No (this sheet: Yes)
Trezor Safe 5$129
  • Lacks Bluetooth, Battery
  • Bluetooth or NFC: No (this sheet: Yes)
  • Built-in battery: Not stated (this sheet: Yes)
Trezor Model OneNot recorded
  • Lacks Bluetooth, Battery, Touchscreen
  • Bluetooth or NFC: No (this sheet: Yes)
  • Backup in shares: No (this sheet: Yes)
  • Built-in battery: No (this sheet: Yes)
Trezor Model TNot recorded
  • Lacks Bluetooth, Battery
  • Bluetooth or NFC: No (this sheet: Yes)
  • Built-in battery: No (this sheet: Yes)

Pages that link here

10 pages

Other pages on this site that point readers to the Trezor Safe 7 datasheet.

Sources

15 reference documents
  1. 1 trezor.io/compare checked 14 Oct 2026
  2. 2 trezor.io/guides/trezor-devices/trezor-fundamentals/trezor-fundamentals checked 14 Oct 2026
  3. 3 trezor.io/trezor-safe-7 checked 14 Oct 2026
  4. 4 trezor.io/learn/security-privacy/how-trezor-keeps-you-safe/secure-elements-in-trezor-safe-devices checked 14 Oct 2026
  5. 5 trezor.io/guides/trezor-devices/trezor-safe-7/what-is-the-tropic-01-chip checked 14 Oct 2026
  6. 6 trezor.io/learn/security-privacy/how-trezor-keeps-you-safe/security-safety-in-trezor checked 14 Oct 2026
  7. 7 trezor.io/trezor-safe-7-bitcoin-only checked 14 Oct 2026
  8. 8 trezor.io/learn/supported-assets/bitcoin/multisig-wallets-how-multi-key-security-protects-your-bitcoin checked 14 Oct 2026
  9. 9 trezor.io/guides/backups-recovery/general-standards/slip39-faqs checked 14 Oct 2026
  10. 10 forum.trezor.io/t/security-alert-update/15204
  11. 11 theblock.co/news/regulation/2025-06-23-trezor-phishing-scam-359172
  12. 12 trezor.io/blog/news/Trezor-response-TROPIC01-chip-disclosure-no-impact-to-your-funds
  13. 13 trezor.io/vulnerability/thp-pairing-could-be-completed-without-the-pairing-code
  14. 14 trezor.io/vulnerability/authenticity-proofs-not-bounded-to-their-secure-element
  15. 15 trezor.io/learn/security-privacy/personal-security-standards/understanding-trezor-wallet-backups-12-20-or-24-words checked 14 Oct 2026