Chained Future Cold wallet datasheets

Datasheet · Trezor · rev.

Trezor Model One

Suits existing owners who hold a BIP39 wallet and want to know what support remains; buyers starting fresh are pointed by Trezor to the Safe 3, which adds a secure element and SLIP39 backups.

  • Open-source firmware
  • Bitcoin-only edition

Official page

Maker
Trezor
Model
Model One
Status
Discontinued
Released
2014
Sources
15
Security events
8
Rows verified
14 of 16
Side-by-sides
0
Dwg no.
CF-TREZOR-MODEL-ONE
Last checked
FrontSide603060.96 in (NTS)110 mm · grid 5 mm

Fig. 1 Trezor Model One: outline, front and side view. Dimensions in mm.

  1. 1. Screen

    0.96-inch monochrome OLED2

Size and weight
60 x 30 x 6 mm; 12 g2
Distinctive
Two-button interface with monochrome OLED.2

Schematic, not a likeness. The outline is drawn to the published size; where the screen sits, and any buttons or ports, are not drawn. Dashed window: the maker does not publish enough to draw the screen to scale.

Key parameters

Price
Not verified
Screen
0.96 in · OLED2
Connectivity
Micro USB2
Secure element
No3
Open-source firmware
Yes4
Backup format
BIP39, default 24 words7
Recovery on other wallets
BIP39, 12 or 24 words, compatible-wallet recovery.7

Trezor Model One in six answers

Fit card · checked 14 Oct 2026

Six plain questions, each answered from one row of the spec sheet. The line under every answer is the recorded value and its source. Unknown means the sources we checked do not settle it.

  1. Its own screen

    Check the amount and address on the wallet itself.

    Yes

    Display 0.96-inch monochrome OLED2

  2. Bluetooth or NFC

    A radio link in the maker's list of connections.

    No

    Connectivity Micro USB2

  3. QR or air-gapped signing

    Can sign with no cable or radio link to the online device.

    No

    Connectivity Micro USB2

  4. Open-source firmware

    The code it runs is published for anyone to read.

    Yes

    Open-source firmware Yes4

  5. Backup in shares

    Split the backup into shares; a set number of them restores the wallet.

    No

    Shamir / SLIP-39 backup No7

  6. Built-in battery

    A battery inside, to charge or replace.

    No

    Battery None8

Tally: 2 yes, 0 partly, 4 no, 0 unknown

Coins and features

Support data · checked

What Trezor documents for the Trezor Model One, one status per coin or feature, each with its source. A linked name opens the sheet that sets every wallet side by side on it.

Coins

  • Bitcoin Native srcIn Trezor Suite. Bitcoin-only firmware can be chosen at setup.
  • Ethereum Native srcIn Trezor Suite, with ERC-20 tokens, on the universal firmware.
  • Solana Not supported srcTrezor's firmware support file lists SOL as not implemented on the Model One.
  • XRP Not supported srcT1B1 XRP entry is in the firmware support file's unsupported section. Source date: not stated; checked live main branch.

Features

  • Multisig Yes srcBitcoin via Electrum or Casa. Suite has no direct multisig management. Source date: not stated.
  • Passphrase Yes srcSeed-extension passphrase protection. Source date: not stated.
  • Bluetooth No srcMaker says Safe 5, Safe 3, and earlier models use wired connections. Source date: not stated.
  • SLIP-39 Shamir backup No srcInferred: Trezor lists BIP39 (12 or 24 words) as the only backup format for the Model One.
  • BIP39 recovery phrase Yes srcCreates a 24-word BIP39 phrase by default; 12 words optional.
  • Open-source firmware Yes srcFirmware (legacy) published at github.com/trezor/trezor-firmware.

Notes: design and recovery

  1. Distinctive design

    What the maker's pages single out about this device.

    Two-button interface with monochrome OLED.2

    Source wording Two-button pad Checked 14 Oct 2026

  2. Seed portability

    Whether its backup restores on a wallet from another maker.

    BIP39, 12 or 24 words, compatible-wallet recovery.7

    Source wording BIP39 (12-word, 24-word) Checked 14 Oct 2026

Price position

No listed price is recorded for the Trezor Model One, so it is not placed on the range.

Lowest
$54.90
Median
$149
Highest
$399
All 21 listed prices
  1. Tangem Wallet $54.90 for 2 cards, $69.90 for 3 cards
  2. Trezor Safe 3 $59
  3. Arculus Cold Storage Wallet $59.76
  4. KeepKey $59.95
  5. Ledger Nano S Plus $69
  6. SafePal X1 $69.99
  7. SafePal S1 Pro $89.99
  8. Ledger Nano X $99
  9. Trezor Safe 5 $129
  10. Blockstream Jade Plus $149 to $169
  11. Keystone 3 Pro $149
  12. Tangem Ring $160
  13. ELLIPAL Titan 2.0 $169
  14. Ledger Nano Gen5 $179
  15. COLDCARD Mk5 $219
  16. Ledger Flex $249
  17. Trezor Safe 7 $249
  18. OneKey Pro $278
  19. COLDCARD Q $319
  20. Foundation Passport Prime $349
  21. Ledger Stax $399

Listed prices at each maker's own shop, in US dollars. Checked between 14 Oct 2026 and 15 Oct 2026. Shops change prices, bundles and regional offers often; open the source before buying. 5 featured devices have no US dollar price recorded and are left off the scale.

Note

How this page was made: a documentation-led review. Every specification comes from Trezor's own pages or published research and links to its source; we have not used this device hands-on for this page. Last checked 14 Oct 2026. Method.

The Trezor Model One is the original Trezor, a two-button hardware wallet that Trezor’s fundamentals guide says launched on 29 July 2014 “as the world’s first hardware wallet”. It is discontinued: Trezor’s support notice says it left the Trezor e-shop on 8 January 2026, with official resellers selling remaining stock “for a limited time”. The Model One page says its “spirit lives on in the Trezor Safe 3”. Current models: Safe 3, Safe 5 and Safe 7.

Is the Trezor Model One still supported?

Yes, with limits. The notice promises basic maintenance until at least 2031 and critical security updates until at least 2036, and says the device remains “safe to use”. It promises new coin support until at least 2031 for the Model T, but makes no such promise for the Model One. On post-quantum cryptography it says “it’s uncertain whether future standards will be fully supported due to hardware limitations.” Trezor’s firmware changelog lists Model One firmware 1.14.1, released on 18 March 2026.

Who is the Trezor Model One for now?

Mainly people who already own one. For a new device, Trezor points to the Safe 3. For a Model One bought from a reseller, Trezor’s authentication guide says to check the two silver seals on the packaging and notes that every Trezor ships without firmware, installed during setup.

It is a weaker fit if you want:

  • a secure element: it has none (see below);
  • to type secrets on the device: passphrases and, in standard mode, recovery words are entered on the computer;
  • SLIP39 backups: Trezor lists BIP39 only;
  • USB-C or wireless: it uses Micro USB;
  • multisig inside Trezor Suite: Trezor says Suite does not support multisig wallets directly; it works through compatible third-party software.

How do you use a Trezor Model One?

Trezor’s Model One page lists a 0.96-inch monochrome OLED, a two-button pad and a 60 x 30 x 6 mm body weighing 12 g. Its hardware page gives an ARM Cortex-M3 processor at 120 MHz and a Micro USB port. The authentication guide says there is no battery.

With only two buttons, much of the input happens on the computer:

  • PIN: Trezor’s PIN page says the Model One uses “a blind matrix”, a grid of dots on the computer screen. The device display shows where the randomly arranged numbers sit, and you click the matching tiles.
  • Passphrase: the passphrase guide says “Trezor Model One has no on-device entry”, so you type it in Trezor Suite, and warns that anything typed on a compromised computer or phone can be captured.
  • Recovery: words are entered on the computer. Trezor’s advanced recovery instead has you enter letters on a PIN-pad whose layout keeps changing, so the computer never knows which letter you chose.

Does the Trezor Model One have a secure element?

No. Trezor’s Safe 3 FAQ says that when the Model One and Model T were designed, available secure elements required non-disclosure agreements that conflicted with its open-source approach, so it relied on alternatives such as the passphrase and Shamir backup, though the Model One itself has no Shamir option.

On 31 January 2020 Kraken Security Labs published an attack on both models: voltage glitching extracts the encrypted seed, then the PIN is brute-forced, with about 15 minutes of physical access. Kraken wrote the flaw was difficult to fix “without a hardware redesign” and recommended a BIP39 passphrase, which is not stored on the device. Trezor’s PIN page adds that 16 wrong PIN attempts reset the device and erase the wallet.

Is the Trezor Model One open source?

The device software is: Trezor’s security page says it “has always been open-source” and can be verified and built from the public code. So is the hardware design: Trezor’s hardware page says “Trezor device hardware is open-source” and points to the Model One files in the trezor-hardware repository, whose README dual-licenses its contents under the GNU AGPL v3 and the CERN Open Hardware Licence v2 (strongly reciprocal). We have not assessed how complete those files are.

How does Trezor Model One backup work?

The Model One uses BIP39 only. Trezor’s backup guide says 24 words are the default because “Model One relies on entering words on your computer for recovery.” The product page lists a 12-word backup too, but says it “Requires an advanced setup”, and the 1.14.1 changelog in Trezor’s firmware release index says the firmware now enforces advanced recovery for phrases shorter than 24 words.

The guide’s compatibility table lists no SLIP39 format for the Model One. A BIP39 phrase can be restored in other compatible wallets, and an optional passphrase is supported; losing that passphrase means losing the funds behind it. See our seed phrase guide.

What coins does the Trezor Model One support?

Our dataset has no verified count. Trezor’s coin list can be filtered to the Model One. The same release index lists a Bitcoin-only build of Model One firmware.

Has the Trezor Model One been hacked?

The security history below this article includes the 2020 Kraken research and the January 2026 discontinuation, plus brand-level incidents that were not device flaws: a January 2024 support-portal breach, a June 2025 phishing campaign and a shipping-provider breach that Trezor disclosed in August 2026, exposing names and contact and shipping details. Trezor says hardware wallets, private keys and backups were not affected.

What replaced the Trezor Model One?

The Safe 3, which Trezor’s Safe 3 product page listed at $59 on 14 October 2026. It keeps two buttons and a 0.96-inch monochrome screen, and adds USB-C, an EAL6+ certified secure element and SLIP39 backups. The step up is covered in Trezor Safe 3 vs Safe 5; for other makers see Ledger vs Trezor or the wallet database.

What we could not verify

  • Supported coins. We found no current count for the Model One.
  • Post-quantum support. Trezor itself says this is uncertain for the Model One.
  • Basic maintenance. Trezor does not define what the 2031 commitment covers.
  • Hardware design files. Trezor publishes them; we have not assessed their completeness.
  • Country of manufacture. Our record (Czech Republic) rests on a February 2025 forum reply, not a product page.

Not verified on this sheet

2 of 16 rows empty

No value recorded

  • Price at maker Not recorded
  • Coins supported Not verified

Evidence base

Rows with a value
14 of 16
Sources cited
15
On trezor.io
13
Other domains
2
Sources checked
14 Oct 2026

Security history at a glance

Events recorded
8
First
Latest
Period
2020 to 2026

Security history

8 events recorded

Documented events involving this device or its maker, with the date and the source. An empty list means we found no documented event, not that none exists.

  1. Kraken published a physical seed-extraction attack against Model One and Model T requiring physical access.10

  2. Model One and Model T physical access

    Kraken demonstrated voltage-glitch extraction of encrypted seeds followed by PIN cracking. Passphrase protection was recommended; the MCU weakness was not a software-only repair.10

  3. Model One and Model T; published physical attack

    Kraken published seed extraction requiring physical access and voltage glitching. This was a research disclosure, not evidence of remote device compromise.10

  4. Trezor support portal

    Unauthorized portal access enabled seed phishing. Trezor restricted access and warned affected users.11

  5. Brand-wide third-party support portal and subsequent phishing

    Trezor reported unauthorized portal access, potential name/email exposure for up to 66,000 contacts, and seed-seeking emails to 41 users.12

  6. Trezor support-form impersonation

    Attackers abused support replies for phishing. Trezor said the issue was contained and the phishing site removed.13

  7. Model One and Model T; manufacturer-shop discontinuation

    Official shop sales ended. Basic maintenance is promised until at least 2031 and critical security updates until at least 2036.14

  8. Brand-wide ShipMonk order-data breach; disclosure expanded September 4

    Vendor initially reported 11,742 full and 1,947 partial exposures. The September 4 update added approximately 67,000 US customers from 2019-2021 orders. Names, contact/shipping details and order numbers were exposed. Model-specific affected-customer counts were not published.15

Compared with

0 side-by-side sheets

No side-by-side sheet includes the Trezor Model One yet. The comparisons page lists every sheet we have.

Similar devices

2 from other makers

Featured devices from other makers that share a connection type or a listed-price band with the Trezor Model One. Outlines at one scale, this device first.

  • Trezor Model One

    This sheet

  • NTS
    KeepKey

    Also connects by cable only (USB); listed at $59.95.

  • Ledger Nano S Plus

    Also connects by cable only (USB); listed at $69.

Front outlines at published sizes, one scale for all. A dashed outline marked NTS has no published size and is not to scale. Price bands: under $100, $100 to $199, $200 to $299, $300 and over, by the lowest listed price.

Also from Trezor

4 more datasheets

The maker's other featured devices, lowest listed price first: the feature stamps each one adds or lacks next to the Trezor Model One, and the fit-card answers that differ.

DeviceListed priceFeature stampsFit-card answers that differ
Trezor Safe 3$59Same stamps
  • Backup in shares: Yes (this sheet: No)
Trezor Safe 5$129
  • Adds Touchscreen
  • Backup in shares: Yes (this sheet: No)
  • Built-in battery: Not stated (this sheet: No)
Trezor Safe 7$249
  • Adds Bluetooth, Battery, Touchscreen
  • Bluetooth or NFC: Yes (this sheet: No)
  • Backup in shares: Yes (this sheet: No)
  • Built-in battery: Yes (this sheet: No)
Trezor Model TNot recorded
  • Adds Touchscreen
  • Backup in shares: Yes (this sheet: No)

Pages that link here

2 pages

Other pages on this site that point readers to the Trezor Model One datasheet.

Other datasheets

Sources

15 reference documents
  1. 1 trezor.io/guides/trezor-devices/trezor-fundamentals/trezor-fundamentals checked 14 Oct 2026
  2. 2 trezor.io/trezor-model-one checked 14 Oct 2026
  3. 3 trezor.io/guides/trezor-devices/trezor-safe-3/trezor-safe-3-faqs checked 14 Oct 2026
  4. 4 trezor.io/learn/security-privacy/how-trezor-keeps-you-safe/security-safety-in-trezor checked 14 Oct 2026
  5. 5 trezor.io/other/product-updates/trezor-firmware-changelog-all-versions-and-release-dates checked 14 Oct 2026
  6. 6 trezor.io/learn/supported-assets/bitcoin/multisig-wallets-how-multi-key-security-protects-your-bitcoin checked 14 Oct 2026
  7. 7 trezor.io/learn/security-privacy/personal-security-standards/understanding-trezor-wallet-backups-12-20-or-24-words checked 14 Oct 2026
  8. 8 trezor.io/guides/trezor-devices/trezor-model-one/authenticate-model-one checked 14 Oct 2026
  9. 9 forum.trezor.io/t/where-is-trevor-safe-3-manufactured/22077 checked 14 Oct 2026
  10. 10 blog.kraken.com/product/security/kraken-identifies-critical-flaw-in-trezor-hardware-wallets
  11. 11 forum.trezor.io/t/security-alert-update/15204
  12. 12 blog.trezor.io/trezor-security-update-stay-vigilant-against-potential-phishing-attack-bb05015a21f8
  13. 13 theblock.co/news/regulation/2025-06-23-trezor-phishing-scam-359172
  14. 14 trezor.io/other/product-updates/how-long-will-trezor-model-one-and-model-t-be-supported
  15. 15 trezor.io/blog/news/recent-customer-data-exposed-in-shipping-provider-incident