Datasheet · SafePal · rev.
SafePal X1
Suits people who want a low-cost SafePal they can pair with a phone over Bluetooth and operate from a physical keypad, and who accept a radio link, a small battery and open-source claims we could not fully verify.
- Bluetooth
- Battery
- Maker
- SafePal
- Model
- X1
- Status
- In production
- Released
- 2023
- Sources
- 8
- Security events
- 3
- Rows verified
- 11 of 16
- Side-by-sides
- 0
- Dwg no.
- CF-SAFEPAL-X1
- Last checked
Fig. 1 SafePal X1: outline, front view. Dimensions in mm.
- 1. Screen
1.8-inch monochrome display, 128 x 64, buttons1
- Size and weight
- Not verified
- Distinctive
- Bluetooth wallet with a numeric keypad and D-pad.7
Schematic, not a likeness. The sources we checked do not publish a size, so the outline is generic and not to scale.
Key parameters
- Price
- $69.99 Maker's shop, checked 14 Oct 20261
- Screen
- 1.8 in · buttons 128 × 64 px1
- Connectivity
- Bluetooth1
- Secure element
- CC EAL6+; chip name not verified1
- Open-source firmware
- Partial: SafePal says relevant parts of the code were open-sourced in stages3
- Backup format
- BIP39, 12 or 24 words.4
- Recovery on other wallets
- BIP39/44-compatible recovery on other compatible wallets.8
SafePal X1 in six answers
Fit card · checked 14 Oct 2026Six plain questions, each answered from one row of the spec sheet. The line under every answer is the recorded value and its source. Unknown means the sources we checked do not settle it.
-
Its own screen
Check the amount and address on the wallet itself.
Yes
Display 1.8-inch monochrome display, 128 x 64, buttons1
-
Bluetooth or NFC
A radio link in the maker's list of connections.
Yes
Connectivity Bluetooth1
-
QR or air-gapped signing
Can sign with no cable or radio link to the online device.
No
Connectivity Bluetooth1
-
Open-source firmware
The code it runs is published for anyone to read.
Partly
Open-source firmware Partial: SafePal says relevant parts of the code were open-sourced in stages3
-
Backup in shares
Split the backup into shares; a set number of them restores the wallet.
Unknown
Shamir / SLIP-39 backup Not verified
-
Built-in battery
A battery inside, to charge or replace.
Yes
Battery 200mAh1
Tally: 3 yes, 1 partly, 1 no, 1 unknown
Coins and features
Support data · checkedWhat SafePal documents for the SafePal X1, one status per coin or feature, each with its source. A linked name opens the sheet that sets every wallet side by side on it.
Coins
- Bitcoin Native srcIn the SafePal app (BTC in the product page asset list). No Bitcoin-only edition found.
- Ethereum Native srcIn the SafePal app (ETH in the product page asset list).
- Solana Native srcIn the SafePal app (SOL in the product page asset list).
- XRP Native srcXRP listed among assets supported by this model through SafePal app. Source date: not stated.
Features
- Multisig Not documented srcDevice multisig support or coordinators not found. Scam education is not a support statement. Source date: not stated.
- Passphrase Yes srcPassphrase feature listed for this model. Source date: not stated.
- Bluetooth Yes srcBluetooth 5.0 signing. Source date: not stated.
- SLIP-39 Shamir backup Not documented srcNo SafePal statement on SLIP-39 or Shamir backups found.
- BIP39 recovery phrase Yes srcCreates a 12- or 24-word BIP39 phrase.
- Open-source firmware Partial srcSafePal's announcement says relevant parts of the X1 code were published in stages (github.com/SafePalWallet/safepal-x1); the product page says "Fully open-sourced", but we could not confirm the whole firmware is published.
Notes: design and recovery
Price position
At $69.99 it ranks 6th lowest of the 21 featured devices with a US dollar price on our sheets.
- Lowest
- $54.90
- Median
- $149
- Highest
- $399
- Next lower Ledger Nano S Plus ($69)
- Next higher SafePal S1 Pro ($89.99)
All 21 listed prices
- Tangem Wallet $54.90 for 2 cards, $69.90 for 3 cards
- Trezor Safe 3 $59
- Arculus Cold Storage Wallet $59.76
- KeepKey $59.95
- Ledger Nano S Plus $69
- SafePal X1 (this sheet) $69.99
- SafePal S1 Pro $89.99
- Ledger Nano X $99
- Trezor Safe 5 $129
- Blockstream Jade Plus $149 to $169
- Keystone 3 Pro $149
- Tangem Ring $160
- ELLIPAL Titan 2.0 $169
- Ledger Nano Gen5 $179
- COLDCARD Mk5 $219
- Ledger Flex $249
- Trezor Safe 7 $249
- OneKey Pro $278
- COLDCARD Q $319
- Foundation Passport Prime $349
- Ledger Stax $399
Listed prices at each maker's own shop, in US dollars. Checked between 14 Oct 2026 and 15 Oct 2026. Shops change prices, bundles and regional offers often; open the source before buying. 5 featured devices have no US dollar price recorded and are left off the scale.
How this page was made: a documentation-led review. Every specification comes from SafePal's own pages or published research and links to its source; we have not used this device hands-on for this page. Last checked 14 Oct 2026. Method.
The SafePal X1 is SafePal’s Bluetooth hardware wallet, launched alongside the S1 Pro in September 2023, according to a November 2023 SafePal post. Its product page lists Bluetooth 5.0, a 1.8-inch monochrome LCD at 128 x 64 pixels, a keypad of “12 laser engraved buttons” plus a D-pad, a 200 mAh battery charged over USB-C, and an “EAL6+ independent secure element”. SafePal’s store listed it at $69.99, VAT and duty excluded, on 14 October 2026, between the QR-signing S1 at $49.99 and the S1 Pro at $89.99.
Who is the SafePal X1 for?
It fits people who:
- want to approve transactions from a phone without a cable;
- would rather press physical buttons than use a touchscreen;
- plan to use the SafePal app or SafePal browser extension, the two companions SafePal lists.
It fits less well if you want:
- no radio link: the S1 Pro signs by QR code and, per SafePal, has no Bluetooth, Wi-Fi or NFC;
- long use away from a charger: SafePal rates the battery at 2 hours of continuous use on a full charge;
- a color screen: the X1’s screen is monochrome;
- Shamir (SLIP-39) backups or multisig: we found no SafePal documentation of either for this model.
Other Bluetooth-capable devices with datasheets here include the Ledger Nano X, listed at $99 on Ledger’s shop on 14 October 2026, the Blockstream Jade Plus and the Trezor Safe 7.
Is the SafePal X1 air-gapped?
Not by the usual definition. The X1 product page repeats the “100% air-gapped signing” highlight shown on the S1 Pro page, but its connectivity specification reads “High Speed Bluetooth 5.0”, and SafePal’s store comparison lists “Bluetooth” for the X1 against “QRcode” for the two S1 models. An air gap, in NIST’s definition, is an interface where any logical connection “is not automated”; a paired Bluetooth link is automated. If air-gapped signing is the point, see the S1 Pro and our air-gapped wallets guide.
Is the SafePal X1 Bluetooth connection safe?
The SafePal pages we checked do not describe how the X1 pairs, how the link is encrypted, or whether Bluetooth can be switched off. SafePal’s September 2023 launch letter says the published code “includes code used for the bluetooth interaction with the SafePal mobile software wallet”, so that part is open to review. The product page says the X1’s larger screen shows “more transaction details”, which is where you would compare the address and amount with what the phone shows; we have not verified what the X1 displays for each transaction type or how it handles a compromised phone.
Is the SafePal X1 open source?
SafePal says so, but its own launch letter is narrower. SafePal’s site menu calls the X1 a “Fully open-sourced bluetooth hardware wallet”, while the letter says: “Relevant parts of the major code for the X1 have already been made open-source in stages,” covering the Bluetooth interaction, signing and smart-contract approvals, and private key generation and storage. The code sits in a GPL-3.0 safepal-x1 repository whose commits are labelled with X1 firmware versions. We have not verified how complete the published code is, or whether it builds to the firmware SafePal ships.
The same letter says “audits for the X1 were completed by Keylabs”; we did not find a published report. It also describes the X1’s secure element as “CC EAL5+”, while the current product page says EAL6+. Neither names the chip.
Has the SafePal X1 been hacked?
We found no published attack on the X1. Two events involve the brand:
- February 2021, original S1. Kraken Security Labs found the S1’s tamper detection “at best, ineffective” and loaded older firmware without the device detecting it, but wrote that it was “not able to steal cryptocurrency from the wallet.” SafePal disputed that the findings were exploitable and said firmware V1.0.24 patched the downgrade. The research predates the X1 and does not establish an X1 flaw.
- August 2026, customer order data. SafePal reported an authorization flaw in an order-tracking plug-in that exposed names, email and shipping addresses, phone numbers and purchase details for about 39,798 customers who ordered between 2 March 2025 and 11 April 2026. It said seed phrases, private keys and wallet passwords were not part of the data, fixed the flaw, notified customers and took down over 30 phishing sites and links.
How do you back up and recover a SafePal X1?
In an August 2026 post, SafePal says the S1, S1 Pro and X1 create a 12- or 24-word recovery phrase under the BIP39 standard, from random data supplied by two chips, a secure element and an application chip, each with its own hardware random number generator. The store lists “PIN & Passphrase” support. SafePal’s help center says a lost device’s assets can be recovered “on any other BIP39/44 compatible wallet.” We have not tested that. If you set a passphrase, restoring the same wallet also needs that exact passphrase: under BIP39 every passphrase produces a valid but different wallet. We found no SLIP-39 support. See our seed phrase guide.
How do you update the SafePal X1?
Over a cable, not over Bluetooth. SafePal’s X1 upgrade page says “Plug your SafePal X1 into the PC, start the device and enter the upgrade mode,” then copy an upgrade.bin file to it, and says upgrading from a phone is not supported. On 14 October 2026 it listed version V1.0.35, dated 12 October 2026. The page also explains checking a downloaded firmware file against the SHA-256 ID SafePal tags to each version; downloads require the device’s serial number, so we did not see the ID for V1.0.35.
Which coins and apps work with the SafePal X1?
SafePal names the SafePal App and SafePal Extension as compatible and claims “200+ blockchains”. We found no Bitcoin-only edition and no model-specific multisig documentation.
What we could not verify
- The secure element’s part number, and whether its certification is EAL5+ or EAL6+.
- How Bluetooth pairing and encryption work, and whether Bluetooth can be turned off.
- The Keylabs audit report.
- Dimensions, weight and country of manufacture.
- Multisig and SLIP-39 support.
Read how we compile each datasheet in our methodology.
Not verified on this sheet
5 of 16 rows emptyNo value recorded
- Bitcoin-only edition Not verified
- Multisig Not verified
- Shamir / SLIP-39 backup Not verified
- Size and weight Not verified
- Made by (country) Not verified
Recorded with a stated gap
- Secure element Chip name not verified1
Evidence base
- Rows with a value
- 11 of 16
- Sources cited
- 8
- On safepal.com
- 7
- Other domains
- 1
- Sources checked
- 14 Oct 2026
Security history at a glance
- Events recorded
- 3
- First
- Latest
- Period
- 2021 to 2026
Security history
3 events recordedDocumented events involving this device or its maker, with the date and the source. An empty list means we found no documented event, not that none exists.
-
Earlier SafePal S1, not X1
Kraken reported S1 physical/downgrade weaknesses. SafePal disputed exploitability and reported a patch. This does not establish an X1 vulnerability.5
-
SafePal customer-order tracking, brand-level
An authorization flaw exposed order/contact information for approximately 39,798 customers. SafePal remediated it and notified customers; wallet credentials were excluded.6
-
Brand-wide customer-order data; not a model-specific device exploit
SafePal reported unauthorized access to approximately 39,798 customers' order information for orders placed March 2, 2025 to April 11, 2026. It excluded wallet credentials and reported associated phishing takedowns.6
Compared with
0 side-by-side sheetsNo side-by-side sheet includes the SafePal X1 yet. The comparisons page lists every sheet we have.
Similar devices
4 from other makersFeatured devices from other makers that share a connection type or a listed-price band with the SafePal X1. Outlines at one scale, this device first.
-
SafePal X1
This sheet · $69.99
- Ledger Nano X
Also has Bluetooth; same price band (under $100), listed at $99.
- Ledger Nano S Plus
Same price band (under $100), listed at $69.
- KeepKey
Same price band (under $100), listed at $59.95.
- Arculus Cold Storage Wallet
Same price band (under $100), listed at $59.76.
Front outlines at published sizes, one scale for all. A dashed outline marked NTS has no published size and is not to scale. Price bands: under $100, $100 to $199, $200 to $299, $300 and over, by the lowest listed price.
Also from SafePal
1 more datasheetThe maker's other featured devices, lowest listed price first: the feature stamps each one adds or lacks next to the SafePal X1, and the fit-card answers that differ.
| Device | Listed price | Feature stamps | Fit-card answers that differ |
|---|---|---|---|
| SafePal S1 Pro | $89.99 |
|
|
Pages that link here
2 pagesOther pages on this site that point readers to the SafePal X1 datasheet.
Guides
- How to choose a hardware wallet 4 links
Other datasheets
- SafePal S1 Pro 1 link
Sources
8 reference documents- 1 safepal.com/en/store checked 14 Oct 2026
- 2 safepal.com/en/blog/thanksgiving-black-friday-and-cyber-monday-promotions checked 14 Oct 2026
- 3 safepal.com/en/blog/safepal-x1-open-source-wallet-suite checked 14 Oct 2026
- 4 safepal.com/en/blog/hw-firmware-trng checked 14 Oct 2026
- 5 safepal.com/en/blog/our-response-to-the-security-findings-from-kraken-security-labs
- 6 safepal.com/en/blog/security-update
- 7 safepal.com/en/store/x1 checked 14 Oct 2026
- 8 safepalsupport.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/360053909672-What-would-happen-if-the-company-SafePal-went-bankrupt-or-my-SafePal-wallet-damaged-or-Phone-lost checked 14 Oct 2026