Chained Future Cold wallet datasheets

Datasheet · BitBox · rev.

BitBox02 Nova Multi

Suits people who want an open-source, multi-coin signer for desktop, Android and iPhone with a microSD backup; bitcoin-only holders have a separate edition, and Solana or XRP holders are not covered.

  • Open-source firmware
  • Bitcoin-only edition
  • Bluetooth

Official page

Maker
BitBox
Model
BitBox02 Nova Multi
Status
In production
Released
2025
Sources
8
Security events
1
Rows verified
13 of 16
Side-by-sides
0
Dwg no.
CF-BITBOX02-NOVA-MULTI
Last checked
FrontSide54.525.49.6110 mm · grid 5 mm

Fig. 1 BitBox02 Nova Multi: outline, front and side view. Dimensions in mm.

  1. 1. Screen

    128 x 64 white OLED; capacitive touch sensors; Nova has glass top2

Size and weight
54.5 x 25.4 x 9.6 mm including USB-C plug; 13 g2
Distinctive
Touch-slider wallet with optional Whisper Bluetooth and microSD backup.3

Schematic, not a likeness. The outline is drawn to the published size; where the screen sits, and any buttons or ports, are not drawn. Dashed window: the maker does not publish enough to draw the screen to scale. Published size is including USB-C plug.

Key parameters

Price
Not verified
Screen
OLED 128 × 64 px2
Connectivity
USB-C, microSD backup, Bluetooth Low Energy2
Secure element
OPTIGA Trust M V32
Open-source firmware
Yes3
Backup format
microSD backup with optional BIP39 recovery words3
Recovery on other wallets
BIP39 recovery words can be displayed and retained for compatible-wallet recovery.3

BitBox02 Nova Multi in six answers

Fit card · checked 14 Oct 2026

Six plain questions, each answered from one row of the spec sheet. The line under every answer is the recorded value and its source. Unknown means the sources we checked do not settle it.

  1. Its own screen

    Check the amount and address on the wallet itself.

    Yes

    Display 128 x 64 white OLED; capacitive touch sensors; Nova has glass top2

  2. Bluetooth or NFC

    A radio link in the maker's list of connections.

    Yes

    Connectivity USB-C, microSD backup, Bluetooth Low Energy2

  3. QR or air-gapped signing

    Can sign with no cable or radio link to the online device.

    No

    Connectivity USB-C, microSD backup, Bluetooth Low Energy2

  4. Open-source firmware

    The code it runs is published for anyone to read.

    Yes

    Open-source firmware Yes3

  5. Backup in shares

    Split the backup into shares; a set number of them restores the wallet.

    Unknown

    Shamir / SLIP-39 backup Not verified

  6. Built-in battery

    A battery inside, to charge or replace.

    Unknown

    Battery Not verified

Tally: 3 yes, 0 partly, 1 no, 2 unknown

Coins and features

Support data · checked

What BitBox documents for the BitBox02 Nova Multi, one status per coin or feature, each with its source. A linked name opens the sheet that sets every wallet side by side on it.

Coins

  • Bitcoin Native srcIn the BitBoxApp. A separate BitBox02 Nova Bitcoin-only edition is sold.
  • Ethereum Native srcIn the BitBoxApp, with a curated set of ERC-20 tokens; others need an external wallet.
  • Solana Not supported srcBitBox says Solana is currently not supported.
  • XRP Not supported srcExplicit maker exclusion includes current BitBox products. Source updated: 2026-05-04.

Features

  • Multisig Yes srcBitcoin multisig. Electrum, Sparrow and Specter are listed compatible software. Source date for current Nova wording: not stated.
  • Passphrase Yes srcBIP39 extension. Datasheet date: not stated.
  • Bluetooth Yes srcBluetooth Low Energy. Datasheet date: not stated.
  • SLIP-39 Shamir backup No srcInferred: BitBox documents two backup methods, a microSD card and BIP39 recovery words; SLIP-39 shares are not among them.
  • BIP39 recovery phrase Partial srcThe standard setup backs up to the included microSD card, which restores only on a BitBox02; BIP39 recovery words (24 by default, 12 optional) can be written down at setup or displayed later.
  • Open-source firmware Partial srcMain firmware published at github.com/BitBoxSwiss/bitbox02-firmware (Apache 2.0). The Bluetooth chip firmware is published too, but builds on a Renesas SDK that BitBox says cannot be redistributed.

Notes: design and recovery

  1. Distinctive design

    What the maker's pages single out about this device.

    Touch-slider wallet with optional Whisper Bluetooth and microSD backup.3

    Source wording Bluetooth Low Energy via Whisper Checked 14 Oct 2026

  2. Seed portability

    Whether its backup restores on a wallet from another maker.

    BIP39 recovery words can be displayed and retained for compatible-wallet recovery.3

    Source wording display BIP-39 recovery words Checked 14 Oct 2026

Price position

No listed price is recorded for the BitBox02 Nova Multi, so it is not placed on the range.

Lowest
$54.90
Median
$149
Highest
$399
All 21 listed prices
  1. Tangem Wallet $54.90 for 2 cards, $69.90 for 3 cards
  2. Trezor Safe 3 $59
  3. Arculus Cold Storage Wallet $59.76
  4. KeepKey $59.95
  5. Ledger Nano S Plus $69
  6. SafePal X1 $69.99
  7. SafePal S1 Pro $89.99
  8. Ledger Nano X $99
  9. Trezor Safe 5 $129
  10. Blockstream Jade Plus $149 to $169
  11. Keystone 3 Pro $149
  12. Tangem Ring $160
  13. ELLIPAL Titan 2.0 $169
  14. Ledger Nano Gen5 $179
  15. COLDCARD Mk5 $219
  16. Ledger Flex $249
  17. Trezor Safe 7 $249
  18. OneKey Pro $278
  19. COLDCARD Q $319
  20. Foundation Passport Prime $349
  21. Ledger Stax $399

Listed prices at each maker's own shop, in US dollars. Checked between 14 Oct 2026 and 15 Oct 2026. Shops change prices, bundles and regional offers often; open the source before buying. 5 featured devices have no US dollar price recorded and are left off the scale.

Note

How this page was made: a documentation-led review. Every specification comes from BitBox's own pages or published research and links to its source; we have not used this device hands-on for this page. Last checked 14 Oct 2026. Method.

The BitBox02 Nova Multi is the multi-coin edition of the BitBox02 Nova, a small USB-C hardware wallet from Shift Crypto in Zurich with a glass-topped OLED screen, touch sliders instead of buttons and optional Bluetooth. BitBox announced the Nova on 20 June 2025 and says it is built in Switzerland. The shop sells Multi and Bitcoin-only as two separate products that “can’t be converted later,” according to the BitBox02 Nova shop page. Our dataset holds no verified price for the Multi edition on its own; the BitBox shop catalog listed the BitBox02 Nova at $196.00 in our US-dollar check on 14 October 2026. The shop shows prices by region, so the figure you see may differ.

What is new in the BitBox02 Nova compared with the BitBox02?

BitBox’s Nova page compares it with the original BitBox02:

  • a tempered glass top over the 128 x 64 pixel white OLED;
  • an EAL6+ certified secure chip, the OPTIGA Trust M V3 (the BitBox02 lists an ATECC608B);
  • Bluetooth Low Energy for iPhone and iPad, where the BitBox02 is USB only;
  • mobile support for iPhone, iPad and Android, where the BitBox02 supports Android only;
  • three colours: Midnight Black, Polar White and Bitcoin Orange.

Open-source firmware, microSD backup and desktop support (Windows, macOS, Linux) are the same on both models.

Who is the BitBox02 Nova Multi for?

It suits people who hold bitcoin alongside Ethereum, ERC-20 tokens, Litecoin or Cardano, want open-source firmware, and want to confirm addresses on the device’s own screen. It is also the BitBox option for iPhone users, since the Nova adds Bluetooth for iPhone and iPad.

It fits less well if you:

  • hold Solana or XRP, which BitBox says are “currently not supported”;
  • hold only bitcoin: the Bitcoin-only edition removes other coins, which BitBox describes as reducing the attack surface;
  • want a SLIP-39 Shamir backup: we found no BitBox statement either way.

What is the BitBox02 Nova like to use?

According to BitBox’s specifications, input is through capacitive touch sensors, which the shop page calls “button-free,” and the screen is a 128 x 64 pixel white OLED with a glass top. The USB-C plug is built into the device, which measures 54.5 x 25.4 x 9.6 mm including the plug and weighs 13 g. The box includes a microSD card, USB-A and Lightning adapters and a USB-C extension cable.

BitBox lists compatibility with Windows 10 or later, macOS 10.15 or later, iOS and iPadOS 16 or later, Android 9 or later, and Linux (x86_64). The companion app is the BitBoxApp. BitBox’s pages we checked do not state whether the Nova has a battery.

Is the BitBox02 Nova open source and secure?

BitBox states that the firmware is “fully open-source” and that the Nova uses a dual-chip design, pairing an ATSAMD51J20A microcontroller with the OPTIGA Trust M V3 secure chip, which BitBox describes as providing physical protection. Open-source firmware lets anyone inspect the published code that handles your keys. BitBox also documents reproducible builds, so anyone can compile that code and check that the binary matches the official release.

Bluetooth runs through what BitBox calls Whisper. The shop page describes it as end-to-end encrypted and running “on a separate chip with no memory and no access to wallet secrets,” and says all Bluetooth communication can be disabled. The same page says the Multi edition includes FIDO U2F, so the device can also act as a login key for services such as Google or GitHub. BitBox lists multisig account registration among its security features.

How do BitBox02 Nova backup and recovery work?

The default backup is the included microSD card: you create the backup on it and restore from it. You can also have the device display the backup as BIP39 recovery words to write on paper or steel. BitBox’s site warns that it will never ask for “your wallet backup / 24 recovery words.” Because the words follow BIP39, they can restore the wallet in other compatible wallets, provided the coins and derivation paths are supported there.

An optional passphrase is available. BitBox’s passphrase guide says each exact passphrase opens a separate wallet, accepts up to 149 characters, is not included in the backup, and cannot be recovered by BitBox. Our seed phrase guide explains how recovery words and passphrases relate.

Which coins does the BitBox02 Nova Multi support?

BitBox’s supported coins page splits support in two:

  • In the BitBoxApp: Bitcoin, Litecoin, Ethereum on mainnet and a curated selection of ERC-20 tokens.
  • Through external wallets: Cardano (with AdaLite or NuFi) and EVM networks such as Polygon, Arbitrum and Optimism (with Rabby, MyEtherWallet or NuFi). The keys stay on the BitBox and transactions are still confirmed on its screen.

The shop page adds “1500+ additional token” for the Multi edition.

Has the BitBox02 Nova had security issues?

BitBox’s Dixence update of 17 August 2026 disclosed issues found in internal audits. Two apply to the Nova Multi:

  • a memory-corruption flaw when a Multi edition with no wallet set up yet is used with a malicious host device, affecting firmware through 9.26.4;
  • a silent-payments flaw, affecting firmware 9.21.0 through 9.26.4, that could lock funds to an unintended address but, according to BitBox, not steal them directly.

Both are fixed in firmware 9.26.5. A separate bootloader exploit described in the same post does not affect the Nova. BitBox says it has no reports that either flaw was exploited.

What we could not verify

  • The price of the Multi edition specifically, as opposed to the catalog figure for the Nova line.
  • Whether the Nova has a battery: no specification on the pages we checked.
  • SLIP-39 (Shamir) backup support.
  • The first shipping date, as distinct from the 20 June 2025 announcement.
  • The full list of shipping countries.

Browse other devices in the wallet database or read how we build each datasheet in our methodology.

Not verified on this sheet

3 of 16 rows empty

No value recorded

  • Price at maker Not recorded
  • Shamir / SLIP-39 backup Not verified
  • Battery Not verified

Evidence base

Rows with a value
13 of 16
Sources cited
8
On bitbox.swiss
8
Other domains
0
Sources checked
14 Oct 2026

Security history at a glance

Events recorded
1
First
Latest
Period
2026

Security history

1 event recorded

Documented events involving this device or its maker, with the date and the source. An empty list means we found no documented event, not that none exists.

  1. Uninitialized Nova Multi and silent-payment transactions

    Memory corruption with a malicious host before setup and silent-payment address manipulation were fixed in 9.26.5. Nova was explicitly excluded from the older bootloader exploit.8

Compared with

0 side-by-side sheets

No side-by-side sheet includes the BitBox02 Nova Multi yet. The comparisons page lists every sheet we have.

Similar devices

4 from other makers

Featured devices from other makers that share a connection type or a listed-price band with the BitBox02 Nova Multi. Outlines at one scale, this device first.

Front outlines at published sizes, one scale for all. Price bands: under $100, $100 to $199, $200 to $299, $300 and over, by the lowest listed price.

Pages that link here

4 pages

Other pages on this site that point readers to the BitBox02 Nova Multi datasheet.

Sources

8 reference documents
  1. 1 blog.bitbox.swiss/en/introducing-bitbox02-nova checked 14 Oct 2026
  2. 2 bitbox.swiss/bitbox02/nova checked 14 Oct 2026
  3. 3 shop.bitbox.swiss/en/products/bitbox02-nova-79 checked 14 Oct 2026
  4. 4 support.bitbox.swiss/en_US/bitbox-supported-coins checked 14 Oct 2026
  5. 5 support.bitbox.swiss/en_US/set-up-manage-optional-passphrase checked 14 Oct 2026
  6. 6 bitbox.swiss/bitbox02/security-features checked 14 Oct 2026
  7. 7 bitbox.swiss/bitbox02 checked 14 Oct 2026
  8. 8 blog.bitbox.swiss/en/bitbox-08-2026-dixence-update