Chained Future Cold wallet datasheets

Datasheet · Foundation · rev.

Foundation Passport Prime

Suits Bitcoin holders who want a large touchscreen device that also keeps 2FA codes, security keys and encrypted files, and who are comfortable pairing it with Foundation's Envoy app over Bluetooth; less suited to anyone who wants a device that never uses a wireless link.

  • QR / air-gapped
  • Bluetooth
  • NFC
  • Battery
  • Touchscreen

Official page

Maker
Foundation
Model
Passport Prime
Status
In production
Released
2026
Sources
4
Security events
1
Rows verified
15 of 16
Side-by-sides
0
Dwg no.
CF-FOUNDATION-PASSPORT-PRIME
Last checked
FrontSide55.5104.8113.5 in (NTS)110 mm · grid 5 mm

Fig. 1 Foundation Passport Prime: outline, front and side view. Dimensions in mm.

  1. 1. Screen

    3.5-inch IPS touchscreen1

Size and weight
55.5 x 104.8 x 11 mm; 93 g1
Distinctive
KeyOS touchscreen device combining Bitcoin custody, authentication and encrypted file storage.1

Schematic, not a likeness. The outline is drawn to the published size; where the screen sits, and any buttons or ports, are not drawn. Dashed window: the maker does not publish enough to draw the screen to scale.

Key parameters

Price
$349 Maker's shop, checked 14 Oct 20261
Screen
3.5 in · IPS · touch1
Connectivity
USB-C power and data, Bluetooth QuantumLink, NFC backups, QR camera1
Secure element
Yes1
Open-source firmware
yes (manufacturer claim)1
Backup format
Encrypted NFC keycard backups; word-backup details not verified1
Recovery on other wallets
BIP39-compliant master-key seed words are exportable; compatible-wallet recovery requires matching derivation.4

Foundation Passport Prime in six answers

Fit card · checked 14 Oct 2026

Six plain questions, each answered from one row of the spec sheet. The line under every answer is the recorded value and its source. Unknown means the sources we checked do not settle it.

  1. Its own screen

    Check the amount and address on the wallet itself.

    Yes

    Display 3.5-inch IPS touchscreen1

  2. Bluetooth or NFC

    A radio link in the maker's list of connections.

    Yes

    Connectivity USB-C power and data, Bluetooth QuantumLink, NFC backups, QR camera1

  3. QR or air-gapped signing

    Can sign with no cable or radio link to the online device.

    Yes

    Connectivity USB-C power and data, Bluetooth QuantumLink, NFC backups, QR camera1

  4. Open-source firmware

    The code it runs is published for anyone to read.

    Claimed

    Open-source firmware yes (manufacturer claim)1

  5. Backup in shares

    Split the backup into shares; a set number of them restores the wallet.

    Unknown

    Shamir / SLIP-39 backup Not verified

  6. Built-in battery

    A battery inside, to charge or replace.

    Yes

    Battery 1100 mAh lithium-ion1

Tally: 4 yes, 1 partly, 0 no, 1 unknown

Coins and features

Support data · checked

What Foundation documents for the Foundation Passport Prime, one status per coin or feature, each with its source. A linked name opens the sheet that sets every wallet side by side on it.

Coins

  • Bitcoin Native srcIn Foundation's Envoy app (single-signature); multisig through other coordinators.
  • Ethereum Third-party srcThrough Rabby, with an optional Ethereum app in Legacy Mode (beta, KeyOS 1.4 or later).
  • Solana Third-party srcThrough Phantom, with an optional Solana app in Legacy Mode (beta, KeyOS 1.4 or later).
  • XRP Not documented srcXRP support not found. Bitcoin app listing does not establish an explicit XRP exclusion. Source date: not stated.

Features

  • Multisig Yes srcBitcoin multisig advertised. Prime-specific coordinator names not found. Source date: not stated.
  • Passphrase Yes srcHidden-wallet passphrase feature advertised; precise standard not specified here. Source date: not stated.
  • Bluetooth Yes srcQuantumLink Bluetooth. Source date: not stated.
  • SLIP-39 Shamir backup Not documented srcNo SLIP-39 statement found. Foundation's Magic Backups use a 2-of-3 Shamir split across NFC Keycards and Envoy, not SLIP-39 shares.
  • BIP39 recovery phrase Partial srcMagic Backups (Keycards and Envoy) are the default; BIP39 seed words can be viewed under Advanced Backups or used at manual setup, and BIP39 phrases restore.
  • Open-source firmware Partial srcKeyOS firmware published at github.com/Foundation-Devices/KeyOS, but it includes Microchip's CryptoAuthLib under a licence limited to Microchip products.

Notes: design and recovery

  1. Distinctive design

    What the maker's pages single out about this device.

    KeyOS touchscreen device combining Bitcoin custody, authentication and encrypted file storage.1

    Source wording Bitcoin, 2FA codes, security keys, encrypted files Checked 14 Oct 2026

  2. Seed portability

    Whether its backup restores on a wallet from another maker.

    BIP39-compliant master-key seed words are exportable; compatible-wallet recovery requires matching derivation.4

    Source wording the BIP39-compliant seed word representation of the Passport Prime Master Key. Checked 14 Oct 2026

Price position

At $349 it ranks 20th lowest of the 21 featured devices with a US dollar price on our sheets.

Lowest
$54.90
Median
$149
Highest
$399
All 21 listed prices
  1. Tangem Wallet $54.90 for 2 cards, $69.90 for 3 cards
  2. Trezor Safe 3 $59
  3. Arculus Cold Storage Wallet $59.76
  4. KeepKey $59.95
  5. Ledger Nano S Plus $69
  6. SafePal X1 $69.99
  7. SafePal S1 Pro $89.99
  8. Ledger Nano X $99
  9. Trezor Safe 5 $129
  10. Blockstream Jade Plus $149 to $169
  11. Keystone 3 Pro $149
  12. Tangem Ring $160
  13. ELLIPAL Titan 2.0 $169
  14. Ledger Nano Gen5 $179
  15. COLDCARD Mk5 $219
  16. Ledger Flex $249
  17. Trezor Safe 7 $249
  18. OneKey Pro $278
  19. COLDCARD Q $319
  20. Foundation Passport Prime (this sheet) $349
  21. Ledger Stax $399

Listed prices at each maker's own shop, in US dollars. Checked between 14 Oct 2026 and 15 Oct 2026. Shops change prices, bundles and regional offers often; open the source before buying. 5 featured devices have no US dollar price recorded and are left off the scale.

Note

How this page was made: a documentation-led review. Every specification comes from Foundation's own pages or published research and links to its source; we have not used this device hands-on for this page. Last checked 14 Oct 2026. Method.

Passport Prime is Foundation’s touchscreen security device: a Bitcoin hardware wallet that also holds 2FA codes, FIDO security keys and an encrypted file vault, running Foundation’s own KeyOS operating system. Foundation says it began shipping to pre-order customers in March 2026 and opened general availability on 21 May 2026. It was listed at $349 on Foundation’s product page on 14 October 2026, and Foundation says it is assembled in the USA. This page is built from Foundation’s documentation; we have not used the device.

Is Passport Prime the same as the Foundation Passport?

No. In March 2025 Foundation renamed its earlier Passport to Passport Core, which it describes as “fully air-gapped” with a power-only USB-C port. Passport Prime is a separate device with a wireless link, a touchscreen and NFC keycard backups; this page covers Prime only.

Who is Passport Prime for?

It fits Bitcoin holders who want to read and approve transactions on a 3.5-inch IPS touchscreen, and who would use the extra apps. Foundation’s FAQ says a touch keyboard appears for text entry, so a passphrase is typed on the device. For multisig it points to established coordinators such as Sparrow, Nunchuk, Specter, Electrum and BlueWallet, because Foundation’s own Envoy app handles single-signature wallets only.

It is a weaker fit if you:

  • want no Bluetooth at all: Foundation’s manual setup guide runs pairing and firmware updates through Envoy over Bluetooth;
  • want a microSD slot: the FAQ says there is none, though a USB-C card adapter works;
  • want something small: Foundation lists 55.5 x 104.8 x 11 mm and 93 g;
  • need many coins today (see below).

Can Passport Prime be used air-gapped?

Partly. It has a camera for QR codes, and the FAQ says Bluetooth and NFC “can be disabled from the device control center at any time, but this will limit device functionality”, and that you can use the device only to sign by QR code. Setup is the exception: Foundation’s setup guides establish a QuantumLink connection with Envoy before the device is ready, and the FAQ says this would be required at launch for setup and firmware updates, with other methods planned for later in 2026. QuantumLink is Foundation’s name for its Bluetooth link, which the product page says uses “post-quantum encryption” on a dedicated Bluetooth chip. See our air-gapped wallets guide.

Is Passport Prime secure?

The product page lists a Microchip SAMA5D2 “Security Processor” plus a secure element it does not name; Foundation’s October 2025 audit summary refers to “the ATECC608C secure element” among the components reviewed. Foundation also lists active tamper protection and an automatic erase after 10 wrong PIN attempts.

Before shipping, Foundation commissioned Keylabs to audit the firmware and hardware. Foundation reports no critical or high-severity findings: “All observations were low severity, requiring physical access and advanced tooling to attempt exploitation.” In response it randomised PIN-check timing, cleared memory more thoroughly on boot and after failed PIN attempts, wiped temporary Shamir shares right after use, and said future hardware revisions would reduce exposed debug pads. The summary is Foundation’s own; we have not seen the full report.

Is Passport Prime open source?

Foundation’s product page says “Hardware + Software”. The KeyOS repository on GitHub holds the operating system, Foundation’s apps and its build tools. Licences are set file by file: many files are GPL-3.0-or-later, others use permissive licences, and the repository also carries a Microchip licence that limits that code to use with Microchip products. Foundation’s reproducibility document explains how to rebuild a release and compare hashes, and notes that the encrypted bootloader cannot be matched byte for byte. It also says there is “no public self-service archive” of release binaries, so outside reviewers must obtain them from Foundation before comparing. We did not find published hardware design files for Prime.

How do Passport Prime backups work?

Foundation’s backup documentation describes two setups:

  • Magic Backups (default): the master key is split 2-of-3 with Shamir’s scheme. One share each goes on two of the three supplied NFC keycards; the third sits on your phone and is backed up to iCloud Keychain or Android Auto-Backup through Envoy. An encrypted settings file is stored on Foundation’s server. Foundation says it never stores or has access to any part of the private key.
  • Manual: chosen through “Advanced” during onboarding. The master key is split across all three keycards, and any two restore it. You export the settings file yourself to a microSD card or USB drive.

You can also export the master key as BIP39 seed words from settings at any time. Restoring them in another wallet needs a matching derivation path, and our seed phrase guide explains why. We could not verify whether the keycard Shamir shares follow SLIP-39, and contents of the Files app are not part of the settings backup.

The docs record one open problem: restoring existing seed words during onboarding skips the opt-out screen, so Magic Backups stay enabled. Foundation calls it “a known issue and a fix is planned” and suggests contacting support before setup if you want to avoid it.

What coins does Passport Prime support?

Bitcoin is the native app, with multisig, Taproot and message signing listed. On 15 September 2026 Foundation launched Legacy Mode in beta, an optional manual install whose first supported app families are Ethereum and Solana. It connects to software wallets over USB, testers checked Rabby and Phantom, and Foundation’s post describes Ledger users entering their Ledger recovery phrase on the device. Our dataset counts only the Bitcoin app as verified support.

What we could not verify

  • How many words the BIP39 export uses.
  • A certification level for the secure element. The product page’s “Certificate pending” label sits under splash resistance, not the secure element.
  • Whether the keycard backups are compatible with SLIP-39.
  • Whether a setup path without Envoy and Bluetooth exists yet.
  • Published hardware design files.
  • The first shipping date: the October 2025 audit post speaks of the device beginning to ship, while Foundation’s May 2026 post dates pre-order shipping to March.

Other Bitcoin signers on this site include the COLDCARD Mk5 and Blockstream Jade Plus; our methodology explains the sourcing.

Not verified on this sheet

1 of 16 rows empty

No value recorded

  • Shamir / SLIP-39 backup Not verified

Recorded with a stated gap

  • Bitcoin-only edition Separate Bitcoin-only firmware edition not verified1
  • Backup format Word-backup details not verified1

Evidence base

Rows with a value
15 of 16
Sources cited
4
On foundation.xyz
4
Other domains
0
Sources checked
14 Oct 2026

Security history at a glance

Events recorded
1
First
Latest
Period
2025

Security history

1 event recorded

Documented events involving this device or its maker, with the date and the source. An empty list means we found no documented event, not that none exists.

  1. Passport Prime; pre-shipping Keylabs audit, not a reported theft

    Vendor published low-severity physical-access/tooling findings and hardening responses for timing, memory clearing, Shamir shares and debug pads.3

Compared with

0 side-by-side sheets

No side-by-side sheet includes the Foundation Passport Prime yet. The comparisons page lists every sheet we have.

Similar devices

4 from other makers

Featured devices from other makers that share a connection type or a listed-price band with the Foundation Passport Prime. Outlines at one scale, this device first.

  • Foundation Passport Prime

    This sheet · $349

  • COLDCARD Q

    Also has NFC and QR or air-gapped signing; same price band ($300 and over), listed at $319.

  • Ledger Stax

    Also has Bluetooth and NFC; same price band ($300 and over), listed at $399.

  • OneKey Pro

    Also has Bluetooth, NFC and QR or air-gapped signing; listed at $278.

  • Ledger Flex

    Also has Bluetooth and NFC; listed at $249.

Front outlines at published sizes, one scale for all. Price bands: under $100, $100 to $199, $200 to $299, $300 and over, by the lowest listed price.

Pages that link here

1 page

Other pages on this site that point readers to the Foundation Passport Prime datasheet.

Sources

4 reference documents
  1. 1 foundation.xyz/products/passport-prime checked 14 Oct 2026
  2. 2 foundation.xyz/blog/foundation-raises-6-4m-human-authority-hardware-launch checked 14 Oct 2026
  3. 3 foundation.xyz/2025/10/passport-prime-security-audit
  4. 4 docs.foundation.xyz/backups/prime checked 14 Oct 2026