Datasheet · SafePal · rev.
SafePal S1 Pro
Suits people who want to sign by scanning QR codes with the SafePal app on a small color screen, and who accept partly published code and no documented Shamir backup or multisig.
- QR / air-gapped
- Battery
- Maker
- SafePal
- Model
- S1 Pro
- Status
- In production
- Released
- 2023
- Sources
- 7
- Security events
- 3
- Rows verified
- 11 of 16
- Side-by-sides
- 0
- Dwg no.
- CF-SAFEPAL-S1-PRO
- Last checked
Fig. 1 SafePal S1 Pro: outline, front view. Dimensions in mm.
- 1. Screen
1.3-inch full-color display, 320 x 320, buttons1
- Size and weight
- Not verified
- Distinctive
- QR-signing wallet with aluminum-alloy body and tempered glass.3
Schematic, not a likeness. The sources we checked do not publish a size, so the outline is generic and not to scale.
Key parameters
- Price
- $89.99 Maker's shop, checked 14 Oct 20261
- Screen
- 1.3 in · color · buttons 320 × 320 px1
- Connectivity
- QR signing1
- Secure element
- CC EAL6+; chip name not verified1
- Open-source firmware
- Partially open source; complete firmware openness not established.3
- Backup format
- BIP39, 12 or 24 words.4
- Recovery on other wallets
- BIP39/44-compatible recovery on other compatible wallets.7
SafePal S1 Pro in six answers
Fit card · checked 14 Oct 2026Six plain questions, each answered from one row of the spec sheet. The line under every answer is the recorded value and its source. Unknown means the sources we checked do not settle it.
-
Its own screen
Check the amount and address on the wallet itself.
Yes
Display 1.3-inch full-color display, 320 x 320, buttons1
-
Bluetooth or NFC
A radio link in the maker's list of connections.
No
Connectivity QR signing1
-
QR or air-gapped signing
Can sign with no cable or radio link to the online device.
Yes
Connectivity QR signing1
-
Open-source firmware
The code it runs is published for anyone to read.
Partly
Open-source firmware Partially open source; complete firmware openness not established.3
-
Backup in shares
Split the backup into shares; a set number of them restores the wallet.
Unknown
Shamir / SLIP-39 backup Not verified
-
Built-in battery
A battery inside, to charge or replace.
Yes
Battery 500mAh1
Tally: 3 yes, 1 partly, 1 no, 1 unknown
Coins and features
Support data · checkedWhat SafePal documents for the SafePal S1 Pro, one status per coin or feature, each with its source. A linked name opens the sheet that sets every wallet side by side on it.
Coins
- Bitcoin Native srcIn the SafePal app (BTC in the product page asset list). No Bitcoin-only edition found.
- Ethereum Native srcIn the SafePal app (ETH in the product page asset list).
- Solana Native srcIn the SafePal app (SOL in the product page asset list).
- XRP Native srcXRP listed among assets supported by this model through SafePal app. Source date: not stated.
Features
- Multisig Not documented srcDevice multisig support or coordinators not found. Scam education is not a support statement. Source date: not stated.
- Passphrase Yes srcPassphrase feature listed for this model. Source date: not stated.
- Bluetooth No srcQR signing. Source date: not stated.
- SLIP-39 Shamir backup Not documented srcNo SafePal statement on SLIP-39 or Shamir backups found.
- BIP39 recovery phrase Yes srcCreates a 12- or 24-word BIP39 phrase.
- Open-source firmware Partial srcSafePal says code for private-key generation and other important features is open source, not the whole firmware.
Notes: design and recovery
Price position
At $89.99 it ranks 7th lowest of the 21 featured devices with a US dollar price on our sheets.
- Lowest
- $54.90
- Median
- $149
- Highest
- $399
- Next lower SafePal X1 ($69.99)
- Next higher Ledger Nano X ($99)
All 21 listed prices
- Tangem Wallet $54.90 for 2 cards, $69.90 for 3 cards
- Trezor Safe 3 $59
- Arculus Cold Storage Wallet $59.76
- KeepKey $59.95
- Ledger Nano S Plus $69
- SafePal X1 $69.99
- SafePal S1 Pro (this sheet) $89.99
- Ledger Nano X $99
- Trezor Safe 5 $129
- Blockstream Jade Plus $149 to $169
- Keystone 3 Pro $149
- Tangem Ring $160
- ELLIPAL Titan 2.0 $169
- Ledger Nano Gen5 $179
- COLDCARD Mk5 $219
- Ledger Flex $249
- Trezor Safe 7 $249
- OneKey Pro $278
- COLDCARD Q $319
- Foundation Passport Prime $349
- Ledger Stax $399
Listed prices at each maker's own shop, in US dollars. Checked between 14 Oct 2026 and 15 Oct 2026. Shops change prices, bundles and regional offers often; open the source before buying. 5 featured devices have no US dollar price recorded and are left off the scale.
How this page was made: a documentation-led review. Every specification comes from SafePal's own pages or published research and links to its source; we have not used this device hands-on for this page. Last checked 14 Oct 2026. Method.
The SafePal S1 Pro is SafePal’s air-gapped hardware wallet: it passes transactions to and from the SafePal app as QR codes read by its own camera, and its product page lists “No Bluetooth, WiFi or NFC”. SafePal launched it alongside the X1 in September 2023, according to a November 2023 SafePal post. It has a 1.3-inch IPS color screen (320 x 320) operated with a D-pad, a 500 mAh battery charged over USB-C, an aluminum-alloy body with a tempered-glass panel, and a chip SafePal lists as CC EAL6+. SafePal’s store listed it at $89.99, VAT and duty excluded, on 14 October 2026, above the original S1 at $49.99 and the Bluetooth X1 at $69.99.
Who is the SafePal S1 Pro for?
It fits people who:
- want no cable or radio link between the signing device and their phone while they sign;
- plan to use the SafePal app or browser extension, the companions SafePal lists;
- want a color screen at a list price under $100.
It fits less well if you want:
- firmware you can read in full: SafePal says only parts of the code are public (see below);
- Shamir (SLIP-39) backups or multisig: we found no SafePal documentation of either for this model;
- no battery to look after: SafePal rates the cell at “Up to 25 days battery life with 15 minutes of daily usage”.
Other QR-capable signers with datasheets here include the Keystone 3 Pro, which documents SLIP-39 backups and multisig, and the OneKey Pro. For a USB-only device at a lower list price, see the Trezor Safe 3.
How does QR signing work on the SafePal S1 Pro?
In the QR pattern our air-gapped wallets guide describes, the unsigned transaction reaches the device as a code its camera scans, you check and approve it on the device’s screen, and the signed result goes back as a code on that screen. SafePal’s product page describes the S1 Pro as “Designed for truly offline security with QR scanning”, and lists no NFC, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth or USB connection under that heading.
Two caveats come from SafePal’s own pages:
- Firmware updates use a cable. The product page lists “No USB connection” under offline security, but SafePal’s S1 Pro upgrade page says “Plug your SafePal S1 Pro into the PC, start the device and enter the upgrade mode,” and that upgrading from a phone is not supported. On 14 October 2026 it listed version V1.0.82, dated 12 October 2026. The page also describes checking a downloaded firmware file against the SHA-256 ID SafePal tags to each version; downloads require the device’s serial number, so we did not see the ID for V1.0.82.
- Chain coverage over QR. SafePal advertises “200+ blockchains” for the device. We have not verified which of them sign over QR.
Is the SafePal S1 Pro secure?
SafePal lists an EAL6+ chip, a true random number generator, “Multiple layers of security sensors” and an “Anti-tampering self-destruct mechanism”. The pages we checked do not name the chip or link a certificate.
An August 2026 SafePal post, written after a randomness flaw was reported in another maker’s firmware, describes a secure element and an application chip, each with its own hardware random number generator, whose output is mixed when the recovery phrase is created. SafePal says phrases from the S1, S1 Pro and X1 were not affected. We found no independent evaluation of the S1 Pro.
Is the SafePal S1 Pro open source?
Partly. The product page says “Essential aspects of the code for private key generation and other important features are open source”, which is narrower than publishing the whole firmware. SafePal’s GitHub account has GPL-3.0 repositories named safepal-s1 and safepal-x1, with commits labelled by firmware version for those models; we found none named for the S1 Pro. We have not checked whether any published code builds to the firmware SafePal ships.
Has the SafePal S1 Pro been hacked?
We found no published attack on the S1 Pro itself. Two events involve the brand:
- February 2021, original S1. Kraken Security Labs found the S1’s tamper detection “at best, ineffective” and loaded older firmware without the device detecting it, but wrote that it was “not able to steal cryptocurrency from the wallet.” SafePal disputed that the findings were exploitable and said firmware V1.0.24 patched the downgrade. This research concerns the earlier S1, not the S1 Pro.
- August 2026, customer order data. SafePal reported an authorization flaw in an order-tracking plug-in that exposed names, email and shipping addresses, phone numbers and purchase details for about 39,798 customers who ordered between 2 March 2025 and 11 April 2026. It said seed phrases, private keys and wallet passwords were not part of the data, fixed the flaw, notified customers and took down over 30 phishing sites and links. SafePal says it will never ask for a seed phrase.
How do you back up and recover a SafePal S1 Pro?
SafePal’s August 2026 post says its devices create a 12- or 24-word recovery phrase under the BIP39 standard, and the store lists “PIN & Passphrase” among the features. SafePal’s help center says that if the device is lost, “your asset can still be recovered with the correct mnemonic phrase on any other BIP39/44 compatible wallet.” We have not tested that. Recovery needs a compatible wallet and, if you set one, the original passphrase: under BIP39 every passphrase produces a valid but different wallet, so only the correct one opens your funds. We found no SLIP-39 support. See our seed phrase guide.
Which coins and apps work with the SafePal S1 Pro?
SafePal names the SafePal App and SafePal Extension as compatible and claims “200+ blockchains”. We found no Bitcoin-only edition and no model-specific multisig documentation.
What we could not verify
- The secure element’s part number and certificate.
- Which chains can be signed over QR.
- Dimensions, weight and country of manufacture.
- How much of the S1 Pro firmware is public, and whether builds are reproducible.
- Multisig and SLIP-39 support.
Read how we compile each datasheet in our methodology.
Not verified on this sheet
5 of 16 rows emptyNo value recorded
- Bitcoin-only edition Not verified
- Multisig Not verified
- Shamir / SLIP-39 backup Not verified
- Size and weight Not verified
- Made by (country) Not verified
Recorded with a stated gap
- Secure element Chip name not verified1
- Open-source firmware Complete firmware openness not established3
Evidence base
- Rows with a value
- 11 of 16
- Sources cited
- 7
- On safepal.com
- 6
- Other domains
- 1
- Sources checked
- 14 Oct 2026
Security history at a glance
- Events recorded
- 3
- First
- Latest
- Period
- 2021 to 2026
Security history
3 events recordedDocumented events involving this device or its maker, with the date and the source. An empty list means we found no documented event, not that none exists.
-
Earlier SafePal S1, not S1 Pro
Kraken documented tamper-detection and downgrade weaknesses without stealing the seed. SafePal disputed exploitability and reported the downgrade issue patched.5
-
SafePal customer-order tracking, brand-level
An authorization flaw exposed order/contact information for approximately 39,798 customers. SafePal remediated it and notified customers. Wallet credentials were excluded.6
-
Brand-wide customer-order data; not a model-specific device exploit
SafePal reported unauthorized access to approximately 39,798 customers' order information for orders placed March 2, 2025 to April 11, 2026. It excluded wallet credentials and reported associated phishing takedowns.6
Compared with
0 side-by-side sheetsNo side-by-side sheet includes the SafePal S1 Pro yet. The comparisons page lists every sheet we have.
Similar devices
4 from other makersFeatured devices from other makers that share a connection type or a listed-price band with the SafePal S1 Pro. Outlines at one scale, this device first.
-
SafePal S1 Pro
This sheet · $89.99
- Ledger Nano X
Same price band (under $100), listed at $99.
- Ledger Nano S Plus
Same price band (under $100), listed at $69.
- KeepKey
Same price band (under $100), listed at $59.95.
- Arculus Cold Storage Wallet
Same price band (under $100), listed at $59.76.
Front outlines at published sizes, one scale for all. A dashed outline marked NTS has no published size and is not to scale. Price bands: under $100, $100 to $199, $200 to $299, $300 and over, by the lowest listed price.
Also from SafePal
1 more datasheetThe maker's other featured devices, lowest listed price first: the feature stamps each one adds or lacks next to the SafePal S1 Pro, and the fit-card answers that differ.
| Device | Listed price | Feature stamps | Fit-card answers that differ |
|---|---|---|---|
| SafePal X1 | $69.99 |
|
|
Pages that link here
2 pagesOther pages on this site that point readers to the SafePal S1 Pro datasheet.
Guides
- How to choose a hardware wallet 5 links
Other datasheets
- SafePal X1 1 link
Sources
7 reference documents- 1 safepal.com/en/store checked 14 Oct 2026
- 2 safepal.com/en/blog/thanksgiving-black-friday-and-cyber-monday-promotions checked 14 Oct 2026
- 3 safepal.com/en/store/s1pro checked 14 Oct 2026
- 4 safepal.com/en/blog/hw-firmware-trng checked 14 Oct 2026
- 5 safepal.com/en/blog/our-response-to-the-security-findings-from-kraken-security-labs
- 6 safepal.com/en/blog/security-update
- 7 safepalsupport.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/360053909672-What-would-happen-if-the-company-SafePal-went-bankrupt-or-my-SafePal-wallet-damaged-or-Phone-lost checked 14 Oct 2026