Chained Future Cold wallet datasheets

Datasheet · KeepKey · rev.

KeepKey

Suits people who want a USB hardware wallet with published firmware and schematics and a multi-chain companion app, and who accept a design without a secure element, with a record of published physical glitching attacks.

  • Open-source firmware

Official page

Maker
KeepKey
Model
KeepKey
Status
In production
Released
2015
Sources
10
Security events
3
Rows verified
12 of 16
Side-by-sides
0
Dwg no.
CF-KEEPKEY
Last checked
Front · not to scale1Size not published · not to scale

Fig. 1 KeepKey: outline, front view. Dimensions in mm.

  1. 1. Screen

    OLED, 256 x 64 SSD1322; size/touch not verified3

Size and weight
Not verified
Distinctive
Aluminum enclosure with a large OLED for transaction verification.3

Schematic, not a likeness. The sources we checked do not publish a size, so the outline is generic and not to scale.

Key parameters

Price
$59.95 Maker's shop, checked 15 Oct 20261
Screen
OLED 256 × 64 px3
Connectivity
USB3
Secure element
None (manufacturer design claim)3
Open-source firmware
Yes3
Backup format
BIP39, 12 or 24 words3
Recovery on other wallets
BIP39-compatible recovery on another compatible wallet.10

KeepKey in six answers

Fit card · checked 14 Oct 2026

Six plain questions, each answered from one row of the spec sheet. The line under every answer is the recorded value and its source. Unknown means the sources we checked do not settle it.

  1. Its own screen

    Check the amount and address on the wallet itself.

    Yes

    Display OLED, 256 x 64 SSD1322; size/touch not verified3

  2. Bluetooth or NFC

    A radio link in the maker's list of connections.

    No

    Connectivity USB3

  3. QR or air-gapped signing

    Can sign with no cable or radio link to the online device.

    No

    Connectivity USB3

  4. Open-source firmware

    The code it runs is published for anyone to read.

    Yes

    Open-source firmware Yes3

  5. Backup in shares

    Split the backup into shares; a set number of them restores the wallet.

    Unknown

    Shamir / SLIP-39 backup Not verified

  6. Built-in battery

    A battery inside, to charge or replace.

    No

    Battery None; USB powered6

Tally: 2 yes, 0 partly, 3 no, 1 unknown

Coins and features

Support data · checked

What KeepKey documents for the KeepKey, one status per coin or feature, each with its source. A linked name opens the sheet that sets every wallet side by side on it.

Coins

  • Bitcoin Native srcIn KeepKey Desktop. A Bitcoin-only firmware is published as source on KeepKey's GitHub; we did not confirm a user release.
  • Ethereum Native srcIn KeepKey Desktop, with ERC-20 tokens.
  • Solana Native srcSigned on the device since firmware 7.14.1, through the KeepKey browser extension and apps.
  • XRP Native srcVault Desktop App supports XRP. Source date: not stated.

Features

  • Multisig Yes srcBitcoin via Electrum. Source date: not stated.
  • Passphrase Yes srcBIP39 extension. Source date: not stated.
  • Bluetooth No srcNo wireless radios. Official search-index evidence; direct article could not open. Source dated: 2026-01-28.
  • SLIP-39 Shamir backup No srcInferred: KeepKey creates and restores 12-, 18- or 24-word BIP39 phrases only.
  • BIP39 recovery phrase Yes srcCreates and restores 12-, 18- or 24-word BIP39 phrases (12 by default).
  • Open-source firmware Yes srcFirmware published at github.com/keepkey/keepkey-firmware (LGPLv3 unless a file says otherwise).

Notes: design and recovery

  1. Distinctive design

    What the maker's pages single out about this device.

    Aluminum enclosure with a large OLED for transaction verification.3

    Source wording Large OLED Display Checked 14 Oct 2026

  2. Seed portability

    Whether its backup restores on a wallet from another maker.

    BIP39-compatible recovery on another compatible wallet.10

    Source wording Recover on a new KeepKey (or any BIP39-compatible wallet) Checked 14 Oct 2026

Price position

At $59.95 it ranks 4th lowest of the 21 featured devices with a US dollar price on our sheets.

Lowest
$54.90
Median
$149
Highest
$399
All 21 listed prices
  1. Tangem Wallet $54.90 for 2 cards, $69.90 for 3 cards
  2. Trezor Safe 3 $59
  3. Arculus Cold Storage Wallet $59.76
  4. KeepKey (this sheet) $59.95
  5. Ledger Nano S Plus $69
  6. SafePal X1 $69.99
  7. SafePal S1 Pro $89.99
  8. Ledger Nano X $99
  9. Trezor Safe 5 $129
  10. Blockstream Jade Plus $149 to $169
  11. Keystone 3 Pro $149
  12. Tangem Ring $160
  13. ELLIPAL Titan 2.0 $169
  14. Ledger Nano Gen5 $179
  15. COLDCARD Mk5 $219
  16. Ledger Flex $249
  17. Trezor Safe 7 $249
  18. OneKey Pro $278
  19. COLDCARD Q $319
  20. Foundation Passport Prime $349
  21. Ledger Stax $399

Listed prices at each maker's own shop, in US dollars. Checked between 14 Oct 2026 and 15 Oct 2026. Shops change prices, bundles and regional offers often; open the source before buying. 5 featured devices have no US dollar price recorded and are left off the scale.

Note

How this page was made: a documentation-led review. Every specification comes from KeepKey's own pages or published research and links to its source; we have not used this device hands-on for this page. Last checked 14 Oct 2026. Method.

KeepKey is a USB hardware wallet with a 256 x 64 OLED screen, an aluminum enclosure and no secure element, a choice its maker presents as deliberate. It launched in 2015 and is still sold: KeepKey’s store listed it at $59.95 in the Classic finish, with free US shipping, on 14 October 2026. The footer of keepkey.com names KeepKey LLC, and the homepage lists Denver, Colorado under shipping. Kraken’s security researchers count KeepKey among the derivatives of the Trezor Model One.

Who is KeepKey for?

It fits someone who wants the firmware and the hardware design open to inspection: KeepKey’s product page says the device OS, firmware “AND hardware schematics” are on GitHub, built from parts anyone can source. It also suits people who hold coins on several chains and want swaps inside the companion app; the homepage advertises “THORChain swaps built-in”.

It is a weaker fit if you want:

  • a secure element: KeepKey lists “None (by design)”;
  • SLIP39 or Shamir backups: we found no KeepKey statement of support;
  • a Bitcoin-only edition: we found none;
  • no cable: it connects and draws power only over USB.

What is the KeepKey screen like?

KeepKey lists a “256×64 SSD1322 OLED Display” for on-device transaction checks, but not its size in inches, and it publishes no dimensions or weight. The device has no battery: KeepKey’s hardware overview (January 2026) says it is USB-powered only, so it is off when unplugged.

Two input details differ from many wallets:

  • PIN: KeepKey’s PIN guide (April 2025) says the device shows a randomized 3 x 3 grid while KeepKey Desktop shows a blank grid in the same layout, so you click positions rather than type digits.
  • Wrong PINs: KeepKey’s pages disagree. The FAQ says “Wrong PINs never wipe your KeepKey” and that the wait grows after each failed try; the PIN guide says the device wipes itself after too many wrong entries.

The companion apps are KeepKey Desktop for macOS, Windows and Linux, a browser extension and a mobile app.

Is KeepKey safe without a secure element?

KeepKey argues it is. The product page lists an industry-standard microcontroller with a “Public datasheet, no NDA required” and says “Security through transparency, not obscurity.” The hardware overview adds that secure elements “Can’t be independently audited” and require trusting the chip vendor.

The trade-off is a documented record of physical attacks:

  • December 2019. Kraken Security Labs showed that voltage glitching extracts the encrypted seed with about 15 minutes of physical access, after which the PIN is “trivial to brute force”. Kraken said a fix was difficult “without a hardware redesign” and recommended a BIP39 passphrase, which is not stored on the device. A second Kraken post said the underlying chip weakness cannot be reliably mitigated in firmware.
  • July 2021. Researcher Christian Reitter published a fault-injection attack needing invasive physical access that bypassed trusted boot protections in firmware 6.1.x to 7.1.4 with bootloader 2.0.0. He names 7.1.7 as the first correctly patched version and says ShapeShift, then the vendor, patched it and paid a bug bounty.

Whether the 2019 findings apply to units sold today is unclear. Kraken’s January 2020 Trezor report identified KeepKey as using the STM32F205, the chip the hardware overview still names, while the product page lists an STM32F405. We found no KeepKey statement on board revisions.

Is KeepKey open source?

Yes, including hardware. Besides the firmware and schematics, the firmware releases on GitHub carry build steps and an expected hash so anyone can check a release against the source. Version 7.14.1, published on 5 June 2026, is signed by three of five firmware keys, according to its release notes.

How do KeepKey backup and recovery work?

KeepKey uses a BIP39 recovery phrase of 12 or 24 words. The FAQ says you can “Recover on a new KeepKey (or any BIP39-compatible wallet)”, and that on a KeepKey you enter the words with a scrambled keyboard on the device’s screen. If the device is lost, the FAQ notes, “Your funds are on the blockchain, not the device.”

A BIP39 passphrase is supported; the product page describes it as “Hidden wallets for plausible deniability”. Kraken’s first report says the passphrase is not stored on the device, so its extraction attack does not reveal it. Losing it means losing the funds behind it. See our seed phrase guide.

For multisig, the FAQ answers “Yes”, and an April 2025 KeepKey guide walks through a 2-of-2 Bitcoin wallet with Electrum.

Which coins does KeepKey support?

The homepage advertises “11 native chains + all EVM tokens”, naming Bitcoin, Ethereum, Litecoin and THORChain among them; we have not counted the list. The firmware 7.14.0 release notes (April 2026) add Solana, Tron, TON and Zcash.

How much is a KeepKey?

KeepKey’s store listed it at $59.95 on 14 October 2026, with Red, Green, Gold and Silver finishes also offered; we did not check taxes or shipping outside the US. On the same date Trezor’s Safe 3 product page listed the Trezor Safe 3, which has a secure element, at $59. For more options, see the wallet database and our methodology.

What we could not verify

  • Microcontroller in current units. KeepKey’s own pages name two different chips, so we cannot say which units the 2019 attacks affect.
  • Wrong-PIN behavior. The FAQ and the PIN guide give opposite answers on whether repeated wrong PINs wipe the device.
  • Display. The hardware overview names an SSD1306 OLED, the product page an SSD1322; screen size is not published.
  • Size and weight. KeepKey does not publish them.
  • Country of manufacture. Not found.
  • SLIP39 and a Bitcoin-only edition. Neither found.

Not verified on this sheet

4 of 16 rows empty

No value recorded

  • Bitcoin-only edition Not verified
  • Shamir / SLIP-39 backup Not verified
  • Size and weight Not verified
  • Made by (country) Not verified

Recorded with a stated gap

  • Display Size/touch not verified3

Evidence base

Rows with a value
12 of 16
Sources cited
10
On keepkey.com
6
Other domains
4
Sources checked
14 Oct 2026 to 15 Oct 2026

Security history at a glance

Events recorded
3
First
Latest
Period
2019 to 2021

Security history

3 events recorded

Documented events involving this device or its maker, with the date and the source. An empty list means we found no documented event, not that none exists.

  1. KeepKey physical voltage-glitch attacks

    Kraken demonstrated defeat of memory-protection countermeasures and recovery of the seed after PIN brute force. Current hardware revision remediation was not verified.7

  2. KeepKey STM32F205-based hardware; published physical seed-extraction attack

    Kraken demonstrated voltage-glitch extraction and PIN brute force with physical access. It identified a BIP39 passphrase as outside the extracted device secret. Applicability to newer board revisions is unverified.8

  3. KeepKey STM32F205-based hardware and affected firmware; invasive physical fault attack

    Research demonstrated clock-glitch bypass of firmware protections. The researcher identifies 7.1.7 as the first correctly patched version. Applicability to newer board revisions is unverified.9

Compared with

0 side-by-side sheets

No side-by-side sheet includes the KeepKey yet. The comparisons page lists every sheet we have.

Similar devices

4 from other makers

Featured devices from other makers that share a connection type or a listed-price band with the KeepKey. Outlines at one scale, this device first.

  • NTS

    KeepKey

    This sheet · $59.95

  • Trezor Safe 3

    Also connects by cable only (USB); same price band (under $100), listed at $59.

  • Ledger Nano S Plus

    Also connects by cable only (USB); same price band (under $100), listed at $69.

  • NTS
    Arculus Cold Storage Wallet

    Same price band (under $100), listed at $59.76.

  • NTS
    Tangem Wallet

    Same price band (under $100), listed at $54.90 to $69.90.

Front outlines at published sizes, one scale for all. A dashed outline marked NTS has no published size and is not to scale. Price bands: under $100, $100 to $199, $200 to $299, $300 and over, by the lowest listed price.

Pages that link here

1 page

Other pages on this site that point readers to the KeepKey datasheet.

Sources

10 reference documents
  1. 1 keepkey.com/store checked 15 Oct 2026
  2. 2 coindesk.com/markets/2015/09/23/keepkey-launches-new-bitcoin-hardware-wallet checked 14 Oct 2026
  3. 3 keepkey.com/product checked 14 Oct 2026
  4. 4 keepkey.com checked 14 Oct 2026
  5. 5 keepkey.com/blog/storing_bitcoin_with_multisig_with_your_keepkey_and_electrum checked 14 Oct 2026
  6. 6 keepkey.com/blog/whats-inside-keepkey checked 14 Oct 2026
  7. 7 blog.kraken.com/product/security/flaw-found-in-keepkey-crypto-hardware-wallet-part-2
  8. 8 blog.kraken.com/product/security/flaw-found-in-keepkey-crypto-hardware-wallet
  9. 9 blog.inhq.net/posts/keepkey-glitching-vuln-21020
  10. 10 keepkey.com/faq checked 14 Oct 2026