Chained Future Cold wallet datasheets

Feature sheet · Bluetooth · rev.

Bluetooth hardware wallets

Bluetooth hardware wallets such as the Ledger Nano X, Trezor Safe 7 and BitBox02 Nova talk to a phone by radio, and their makers say private keys never cross that link: a separate chip relays the data, and every transaction still needs approval on the device itself. The cost is one more interface that can have bugs and can be reached from nearby; COLDCARD, NGRAVE, ELLIPAL and others leave Bluetooth out.

Wallets tracked
26
Yes
10
No
14
Not documented
2
Sourced rows
24 of 26
Sources
21
Dwg no.
CF-F-BLUETOOTH
Last checked

Bluetooth, wallet by wallet

26 wallets · 24 sourced · checked 14 Oct 2026

Of the 26 wallets we track, the makers document a Bluetooth connection for 10, state that it is absent on 14, and publish nothing we could find for 2.

Bluetooth: status for each wallet with a datasheet, with the source and the date checked
No. Wallet Status Detail Source Checked
01 BitBox02 Nova Multi Yes Bluetooth Low Energy. Datasheet date: not stated. 1bitbox.swiss
02 Blockstream Jade Plus Yes USB-C and Bluetooth. Source date: not stated. 2store.blockstream.com
03 Foundation Passport Prime Yes QuantumLink Bluetooth. Source date: not stated. 3foundation.xyz
04 Ledger Flex Yes BLE 5.2. Source date: not stated. 4shop.ledger.com
05 Ledger Nano Gen5 Yes BLE 5.2. Source date: not stated. 5shop.ledger.com
06 Ledger Nano X Yes BLE 5.2. Source date: not stated. 6shop.ledger.com
07 Ledger Stax Yes BLE 5.2. Source date: not stated. 7shop.ledger.com
08 OneKey Pro Yes Encrypted Bluetooth. Source date: not stated. 8onekey.so
09 SafePal X1 Yes Bluetooth 5.0 signing. Source date: not stated. 9safepal.com
10 Trezor Safe 7 Yes Wireless pairing supported. Source date: not stated. 10trezor.io
11 Arculus Cold Storage Wallet No NFC card. Source date: not stated. 11secure.getarculus.com
12 COLDCARD Mk5 No No Bluetooth radio. Source states last updated: June 2026. 12coldcard.com
13 COLDCARD Q No No Bluetooth radio. Source states last updated: June 2026. 12coldcard.com
14 ELLIPAL Titan 2.0 No Air-gapped QR signing. Source date: not stated. 13ellipal.com
15 KeepKey No No wireless radios. Official search-index evidence; direct article could not open. Source dated: 2026-01-28. 14keepkey.com
16 Ledger Nano S Plus No USB-only model. Source date: not stated. 15shop.ledger.com
17 NGRAVE ZERO No QR communication. Source date: not stated. 16shop.ngrave.io
18 SafePal S1 Pro No QR signing. Source date: not stated. 17safepal.com
19 Tangem Ring No NFC device; no Bluetooth. Source dated: 2026-07-10. 18tangem.com
20 Tangem Wallet No NFC device; no Bluetooth. Source dated: 2026-07-10. 18tangem.com
21 Trezor Model One No Maker says Safe 5, Safe 3, and earlier models use wired connections. Source date: not stated. 19trezor.io
22 Trezor Model T No Maker says Safe 5, Safe 3, and earlier models use wired connections. Source date: not stated. 19trezor.io
23 Trezor Safe 3 No Maker says Safe 5, Safe 3, and earlier models use wired connections. Source date: not stated. 19trezor.io
24 Trezor Safe 5 No Maker says Safe 5, Safe 3, and earlier models use wired connections. Source date: not stated. 19trezor.io
25 Block Bitkey Not documented NFC and USB-C charging listed. Explicit Bluetooth support or non-support statement not found. Source date: not stated. 20bitkey.world
26 Keystone 3 Pro Not documented Conflicting maker-site text: OKX page refers to disabling Bluetooth; homepage testimonial says no Bluetooth. Hardware status unresolved. Sources undated. 21keyst.one

Yes and No are what each maker's documentation states. Not documented: we found no statement. A status checked more than 90 days ago shows Re-checking until it is checked again. The number in Source opens that reference in the list below.

Note

How this page was made: the table comes from our support dataset: one row per wallet with a datasheet on this site, with the status its maker documents, the page that says so and the date we checked it. The text is written from those pages and from the published standard, and every page goes through a separate fact-check before publication. We have not used these devices hands-on for this page. Data generated , last checked 14 Oct 2026. Method.

A Bluetooth hardware wallet still signs on the device; the radio only carries data to and from a phone or computer. What it adds is one more interface that can have bugs and can be reached by an attacker within radio range.

What does Bluetooth expose on a hardware wallet?

In the designs makers publish, the Bluetooth chip is a relay outside the part that holds the keys. Ledger’s 2019 write-up on the Nano X says its radio chip “simply acts as a proxy” to the secure element, and “Only public data is transported by Bluetooth; critical data (such as private keys and seed) never leave the device.” Trezor’s Bluetooth guide says “Bluetooth is handled by a separate chip that sits outside the secure architecture of the Trezor.” BitBox’s Whisper summary says “The Bluetooth chip cannot access wallet secrets or flash storage”, and Foundation says every message through the Passport Prime’s radio chip is already encrypted.

What does cross the link: the unsigned transaction, the signature, and public keys and addresses, which Ledger says “could raise privacy concerns”. A radio can also reveal that a device is nearby. BitBox says the Nova uses random private addresses “to prevent passive tracking”, and Trezor says its Host Protocol means a Trezor “can’t be passively scanned or tracked by unknown devices”.

The makers’ central claim: a compromised phone, computer or radio link cannot sign alone, because the device shows the transaction on its screen and waits for you. In Ledger’s words, “No transaction signature is issued without your explicit consent.”

Is a Bluetooth hardware wallet safe?

The makers say yes, because keys never touch the radio. Compared with a cable, Bluetooth still changes two things.

The attacker can be nearby instead of on your computer. The Bluetooth SIG’s security and privacy best practices guide assumes “a MITM attacker is present within the radio range of the pairing devices”, and leaves security choices to each implementation. Without authenticated pairing, an attacker who gets between the two devices can read and alter the Bluetooth link, though “the MITM can only decrypt the link while physically adjacent to the attacked devices.” The guide calls that protection essential for data “not protected from eavesdropping or modification by non-Bluetooth mechanisms”; several makers add their own encryption on top (see pairing, below).

Every interface is code that can have bugs. In December 2025 Blockstream disclosed a Jade firmware flaw reachable on an unlocked device over the link used to unlock it: “a Bluetooth connected device is only vulnerable to Bluetooth RPC calls”. The USB interface had the same bug, QR mode did not, and firmware 1.0.37 fixed it.

Coinkite states the case against on its COLDCARD comparison page: “Bluetooth is convenient for mobile use, but it is also a wireless attack surface.” The case for is practical: Ledger’s Nano S Plus page says that cable-only model “does not work with iOS devices”, while BitBox says Bluetooth “enables the BitBox02 Nova to work with iPhone and iPad.” The makers’ defence rests on the device screen and buttons, not on the radio.

How does Bluetooth pairing work on a hardware wallet?

Pairing is when two devices agree a shared key, and when a nearby attacker would try to sit in between. The usual defence is a code you compare on both screens:

  • Ledger uses Bluetooth’s Numeric Comparison on the Nano X. It adds that “On older versions of Android, the Numeric Comparison may not be featured”, in which case the device shows a warning.
  • Trezor has you confirm a pairing code on the Safe 7 and the host, then enter a one-time code from the device. Its Host Protocol adds an encrypted layer over USB and Bluetooth.
  • BitBox says “Pairing requires the user to confirm matching codes on both devices”, with “two layers of encryption: native Bluetooth and BitBox end-to-end.”
  • Foundation passes the Passport Prime’s public key to the Envoy app by QR code during setup, so the Bluetooth chip never sees it.
  • OneKey’s firmware log says OneKey Pro firmware 4.18.0 (20 December 2025) “Optimized Bluetooth connection process, no need to enter pairing code”. It does not say how a new connection is authenticated instead.

Which hardware wallets have Bluetooth?

Grouped by how the makers implement it (the table above has each source):

Which hardware wallets avoid Bluetooth?

At Ledger and Trezor, Bluetooth is a choice between models: see Nano X vs Nano S Plus and Safe 5 vs Safe 7.

Can you turn Bluetooth off on a hardware wallet?

On most Bluetooth models, according to the makers:

  • Ledger Nano X and Trezor Safe 7: both makers say you can turn Bluetooth off and use the USB-C cable.
  • BitBox02 Nova: Bluetooth is on by default for iOS. You switch it off in the BitBoxApp over USB and confirm on the device; BitBox notes that “Bluetooth settings cannot be changed from iOS.”
  • Passport Prime: KeyOS can turn QuantumLink off, “completely powering down the Bluetooth chip”.
  • OneKey Pro: AirGap Mode disables “Bluetooth, USB, and NFC”, and firmware 4.18.0 “Added independent USB / Bluetooth switch”.
  • Jade: Blockstream ships each firmware as “Standard or No-radio (i.e. without Bluetooth support)”.

Turning the radio off removes that wireless interface. For the Nova, BitBox adds that “Disabling Bluetooth does not affect wallets, private keys, backups, or funds.”

What we could not verify

  • Keystone 3 Pro: Keystone’s site conflicts (one page describes disabling Bluetooth, a homepage testimonial says there is none), so the table shows “Not documented”.
  • Block Bitkey: Block lists NFC and USB-C charging but nothing about Bluetooth.
  • SafePal X1: we found no SafePal document on how the X1’s Bluetooth link is paired or encrypted.
  • OneKey Pro: what authenticates a new Bluetooth connection now that 4.18.0 removed the need to enter a pairing code.
  • Ledger Flex, Stax and Nano Gen5: Ledger’s detailed Bluetooth write-up dates from January 2019 and covers the Nano X; we found no equivalent for the newer models.
  • Independent review: the security claims above are the makers’ own; we did not review an outside audit of any of them.

Sources

21 reference documents
  1. 1 bitbox.swiss/bitbox02/nova/BitBox02_Nova_Multi_Datasheet.pdf Bluetooth® Low Energy checked 14 Oct 2026
  2. 2 store.blockstream.com/products/jade-plus USB Type-C, Bluetooth checked 14 Oct 2026
  3. 3 foundation.xyz/products/passport-prime Secure Bluetooth checked 14 Oct 2026
  4. 4 shop.ledger.com/products/ledger-flex/graphite Bluetooth® (BLE 5.2) checked 14 Oct 2026
  5. 5 shop.ledger.com/products/ledger-nano-gen5/jet-black Bluetooth® (BLE 5.2) checked 14 Oct 2026
  6. 6 shop.ledger.com/products/ledger-nano-x/onyx-black Bluetooth® (BLE 5.2) checked 14 Oct 2026
  7. 7 shop.ledger.com/products/ledger-stax/ledger-stax%E2%84%A2-%2B-recovery-key Bluetooth® (BLE 5.2) checked 14 Oct 2026
  8. 8 onekey.so/products/onekey-pro end-to-end encrypted Bluetooth checked 14 Oct 2026
  9. 9 safepal.com/en/store/x1 Bluetooth 5.0 connectivity checked 14 Oct 2026
  10. 10 trezor.io/trezor-safe-7 Bluetooth connectivity checked 14 Oct 2026
  11. 11 secure.getarculus.com/nft-support No Bluetooth. checked 14 Oct 2026
  12. 12 coldcard.com/compare/coldcard-vs-ledger-flex No Bluetooth radio checked 14 Oct 2026
  13. 13 ellipal.com/products/ellipal-titan no Bluetooth checked 14 Oct 2026
  14. 14 keepkey.com/blog/whats-inside-keepkey No wireless radios (WiFi, Bluetooth, NFC) checked 14 Oct 2026
  15. 15 shop.ledger.com/products/ledger-nano-s-plus/matte-black Limited to USB checked 14 Oct 2026
  16. 16 shop.ngrave.io/products/zero does not rely on USB or any network connection capability such as WiFi, Bluetooth, NFC, or 4G checked 14 Oct 2026
  17. 17 safepal.com/en/store/s1pro No Bluetooth, WiFi or NFC checked 14 Oct 2026
  18. 18 tangem.com/en/blog/post/andrey-lazutkin-interview no USB or Bluetooth connectivity checked 14 Oct 2026
  19. 19 trezor.io/trezor-suite rely on a wired connection checked 14 Oct 2026
  20. 20 bitkey.world/product checked 14 Oct 2026
  21. 21 keyst.one/okx deactivates both the USB and Bluetooth functionalitiesWith no USB (data), Bluetooth, WiFi or NFC connectivity checked 14 Oct 2026