Datasheet · Ledger · rev.
Ledger Nano X
Suits people who want a Nano-sized signer they can use from a phone over Bluetooth or a computer over USB-C, and who accept a battery and a radio link.
- Bluetooth
- Battery
- Maker
- Ledger
- Model
- Nano X
- Status
- In production
- Released
- 2019
- Sources
- 16
- Security events
- 8
- Rows verified
- 14 of 16
- Side-by-sides
- 4
- Dwg no.
- CF-LEDGER-NANO-X
- Last checked
Fig. 1 Ledger Nano X: outline, front and side view. Dimensions in mm.
- 1. Screen
Monochrome OLED, 1.1 inches, 128 x 64, non-touch3
- Size and weight
- 72 x 18.6 x 11.7 mm; 34 g3
- Distinctive
- Nano-format signer with Bluetooth connectivity and an OLED display.4
Schematic, not a likeness. The outline is drawn to the published size and the screen window to the published diagonal and resolution; where the screen sits, and any buttons or ports, are not drawn.
Key parameters
- Price
- $99 Maker's shop, checked 14 Oct 20261
- Screen
- 1.1 in · OLED 128 × 64 px3
- Connectivity
- USB-C, Bluetooth BLE 5.24
- Secure element
- ST33J2M04
- Open-source firmware
- Partial5
- Backup format
- 24-word recovery phrase; optional services/cards vary by model6
- Recovery on other wallets
- Accounts can be recovered on other hardware or software wallets that support the same standards (BIP32/BIP39/BIP44). Asset and derivation-path compatibility still matters.16
Ledger Nano X in six answers
Fit card · checked 14 Oct 2026Six plain questions, each answered from one row of the spec sheet. The line under every answer is the recorded value and its source. Unknown means the sources we checked do not settle it.
-
Its own screen
Check the amount and address on the wallet itself.
Yes
Display Monochrome OLED, 1.1 inches, 128 x 64, non-touch3
-
Bluetooth or NFC
A radio link in the maker's list of connections.
Yes
Connectivity USB-C, Bluetooth BLE 5.24
-
QR or air-gapped signing
Can sign with no cable or radio link to the online device.
No
Connectivity USB-C, Bluetooth BLE 5.24
-
Open-source firmware
The code it runs is published for anyone to read.
Partly
Open-source firmware Partial5
-
Backup in shares
Split the backup into shares; a set number of them restores the wallet.
Unknown
Shamir / SLIP-39 backup Not verified
-
Built-in battery
A battery inside, to charge or replace.
Yes
Battery Up to 5 hours normal use3
Tally: 3 yes, 1 partly, 1 no, 1 unknown
Coins and features
Support data · checkedWhat Ledger documents for the Ledger Nano X, one status per coin or feature, each with its source. A linked name opens the sheet that sets every wallet side by side on it.
Coins
Features
- Multisig Yes srcBitcoin via Sparrow. Source is maker-wide guidance. Source updated: 2025-08-29.
- Passphrase Yes srcOptional recovery-phrase extension creates a hidden wallet. Source updated: 2026-10-05.
- Bluetooth Yes srcBLE 5.2. Source date: not stated.
- SLIP-39 Shamir backup Not documented srcNo Ledger statement on SLIP-39 found. Ledger Recover (optional, paid) splits an encrypted copy of the seed among three companies; that is not a SLIP-39 backup.
- BIP39 recovery phrase Yes srcThe device creates a 24-word BIP39 recovery phrase.
- Open-source firmware Partial srcApps, SDK and crypto libraries are public; the low-level secure element OS stays closed under the chip vendor NDA.
Notes: design and recovery
-
Distinctive design
What the maker's pages single out about this device.
Nano-format signer with Bluetooth connectivity and an OLED display.4
-
Seed portability
Whether its backup restores on a wallet from another maker.
Accounts can be recovered on other hardware or software wallets that support the same standards (BIP32/BIP39/BIP44). Asset and derivation-path compatibility still matters.16
Price position
At $99 it ranks 8th lowest of the 21 featured devices with a US dollar price on our sheets.
- Lowest
- $54.90
- Median
- $149
- Highest
- $399
- Next lower SafePal S1 Pro ($89.99)
- Next higher Trezor Safe 5 ($129)
All 21 listed prices
- Tangem Wallet $54.90 for 2 cards, $69.90 for 3 cards
- Trezor Safe 3 $59
- Arculus Cold Storage Wallet $59.76
- KeepKey $59.95
- Ledger Nano S Plus $69
- SafePal X1 $69.99
- SafePal S1 Pro $89.99
- Ledger Nano X (this sheet) $99
- Trezor Safe 5 $129
- Blockstream Jade Plus $149 to $169
- Keystone 3 Pro $149
- Tangem Ring $160
- ELLIPAL Titan 2.0 $169
- Ledger Nano Gen5 $179
- COLDCARD Mk5 $219
- Ledger Flex $249
- Trezor Safe 7 $249
- OneKey Pro $278
- COLDCARD Q $319
- Foundation Passport Prime $349
- Ledger Stax $399
Listed prices at each maker's own shop, in US dollars. Checked between 14 Oct 2026 and 15 Oct 2026. Shops change prices, bundles and regional offers often; open the source before buying. 5 featured devices have no US dollar price recorded and are left off the scale.
How this page was made: a documentation-led review. Every specification comes from Ledger's own pages or published research and links to its source; we have not used this device hands-on for this page. Last checked 14 Oct 2026. Method.
The Ledger Nano X is a Nano-format hardware wallet with Bluetooth, released by Ledger in 2019. It connects over USB-C or Bluetooth BLE 5.2, has a 1.1-inch monochrome OLED, a battery Ledger rates at up to 5 hours of normal use, and an ST33J2M0 secure element that holds the private keys. On 14 October 2026 it was listed at $99 on Ledger’s online shop.
Who is the Ledger Nano X for?
It fits people who:
- want to approve transactions from a phone without a cable, or switch between phone and computer;
- want a small device with Ledger Wallet’s coin range;
- accept a battery, a radio and Ledger’s partly closed firmware.
It fits fewer people who:
- want no wireless interface: the Nano S Plus is USB-C only, and air-gapped wallets sign without a cable or radio data link, though some keep those interfaces for other modes;
- want a touchscreen, which the Nano Gen5 adds;
- want a Shamir (SLIP-39) backup, which Ledger’s pages we checked do not document for this model.
See Ledger Nano X vs Nano S Plus and Nano Gen5 vs Nano X.
What is the Ledger Nano X like to use?
The display is a 1.1-inch monochrome OLED at 128 x 64 pixels, not a touchscreen; Ledger’s model comparison describes it as screen plus buttons. The body is 72 x 18.6 x 11.7 mm and 34 g, so it is longer, thicker and 13 g heavier than the Nano S Plus. The battery lets it run without a cable when paired with a phone.
Is the Ledger Nano X Bluetooth connection safe?
In its Bluetooth security model (January 2019), Ledger says only public data travels over Bluetooth and the seed and private keys are never exposed to the Bluetooth stack. A separate microcontroller relays data to the secure element. Pairing uses numeric comparison, which Ledger notes may be missing on older Android versions, and the link is protected with AES-based encryption. Even if the connection were compromised, Ledger says no signature is issued without confirmation on the device.
The protection is therefore the on-device check: a compromised phone can still propose a bad transaction, and the defence is reading the address and amount on the Nano X screen. Ledger says Bluetooth can be switched off in favour of USB-C. These are Ledger’s statements; we found no independent audit of the Nano X Bluetooth stack.
What did the 2020 Kraken research find on the Nano X?
On 8 July 2020 Kraken Security Labs published two attacks on Nano X units tampered with before reaching the buyer, for example in shipping. Both reflashed the non-secure STM32WB55 microcontroller, not the secure element:
- one made the device act as a USB keyboard that sent keystrokes to the host computer;
- the other could switch off the display while the buttons still worked, so a malicious app could trick a user into approving a transaction they could not see.
Kraken did not report extracting a seed or reaching the secure element. Per its article, the reflash had to happen before the first app was installed, because that step disables debugging. Kraken reported the issue to Ledger on 9 April 2020.
Ledger’s bulletin LSB-013 says firmware 1.2.4-2 has the secure element check the integrity of the whole microcontroller at each boot, and that debug interfaces are disabled on newly made devices. Ledger’s view is that the microcontroller can be fully compromised while funds stay secure. Kraken advised buying from trusted stores and verifying every transaction on the device screen.
Is the Ledger Nano X open source?
Partly. Ledger says its operating system and software are “95% OpenSource and/or available”. The closed part is the low-level code that drives the secure element’s hardware, which Ledger says its agreement with STMicroelectronics keeps private. More in Is Ledger safe?.
How do you back up and restore a Ledger Nano X?
The device creates a 24-word recovery phrase. Ledger’s support documentation says accounts generated by a Ledger device can be recovered on any hardware or software wallet that supports the same standards as Ledger (BIP32, BIP39 and BIP44); every account appears only if that wallet supports the same coins and derivation paths. Ledger says all its devices offer a passphrase, which opens a separate set of accounts and cannot be recovered if forgotten. Ledger’s pages we checked do not state native SLIP-39 support.
Ledger Recover, a paid optional subscription that Ledger names as available for the Nano X, stores an encrypted copy of the seed split between three companies, released after identity checks. Ledger documents Bitcoin multisig through its Bitcoin app and coordinator software. See our seed phrase guide.
What crypto does the Ledger Nano X support?
Ledger lists 500+ coins through its Ledger Wallet app and thousands more through third-party wallets. We found no Bitcoin-only edition.
How much does the Ledger Nano X cost?
It was listed at $99 on Ledger’s online shop on 14 October 2026. On the same date the Nano S Plus was listed at $69 and the Nano Gen5 at $179. These are dated snapshots.
What other security events involve the Nano X?
Our record holds three more model-level events:
- 17 May 2021: Ledger disclosed a length-extension attack in its device-to-server secure channel, rated limited in impact and fixed in Nano X firmware 1.3.0.
- 22 June 2021: after a user on the Ledger subreddit reported receiving an unsolicited “replacement” Nano X, Kraken rebuilt the attack on a Nano X it ordered online: a hidden USB drive inside the device carried a fake app meant to phish the seed. Kraken said the Ledger wallet and firmware had no flaw.
- 10 January 2025: a firmware-update validation flaw could permanently brick a device; fixed in Nano X 2.4.2. Ledger says funds were never at risk.
Brand-level events, such as the 2020 customer-data breach and the January 2026 Global-e data exposure, are listed with sources below the article.
What we could not verify
- Bitcoin-only edition: not found on the Ledger pages we checked.
- Native SLIP-39 backup: not stated on the Ledger pages we checked.
- Independent Bluetooth audit: none found; the Bluetooth claims above are Ledger’s.
- Country of manufacture: Ledger’s comparison page gives its Paris company address, not where the device is assembled.
Not verified on this sheet
2 of 16 rows emptyNo value recorded
- Bitcoin-only edition Not verified
- Shamir / SLIP-39 backup Not verified
Evidence base
- Rows with a value
- 14 of 16
- Sources cited
- 16
- On ledger.com
- 13
- Other domains
- 3
- Sources checked
- 14 Oct 2026
Security history at a glance
- Events recorded
- 8
- First
- Latest
- Period
- 2020 to 2026
Security history
8 events recordedDocumented events involving this device or its maker, with the date and the source. An empty list means we found no documented event, not that none exists.
-
Ledger customer database
Customer contact and order data were accessed. Ledger patched the breach; a larger dataset was published in December.8
-
Nano X before delivery or initial setup
Kraken demonstrated supply-chain attacks involving the non-secure processor and host-computer compromise. The article describes initial app installation disabling debugging.9
-
Nano secure-channel protocol
Ledger disclosed a length-extension attack with limited impact. Nano X firmware 1.3.0 contained a fix.10
-
Physical phishing packages impersonating Ledger
Kraken examined modified Nano X packages sent as supposed replacements. Its report explicitly distinguished the scam from a Ledger firmware flaw.11
-
Ledger Recover controversy
Ledger announced accelerated open sourcing and delayed Recover pending that work; participation was described as optional.12
-
Ledger Connect Kit and third-party DApps
Malicious npm releases were replaced with a genuine Connect Kit release. This was not hardware seed extraction.13
-
Nano X MCU firmware-update validation
Missing reset-handler validation could permanently brick a device. Fixed in Nano X 2.4.2 or later; Ledger reports funds were not at risk.14
-
Global-e customer-order data
Ledger customer contact and order information was exposed through Global-e. Customers were notified and warned about phishing.15
Compared with
4 side-by-side sheetsSheets that set the Ledger Nano X beside other devices, one row per spec with differences marked.
- Ledger Nano Gen5 vs Nano X
Against Ledger Nano Gen5
- Rows that differ
- 7 of 16
- Revised
- Ledger Nano X vs Nano S Plus
Against Ledger Nano S Plus
- Rows that differ
- 6 of 16
- Revised
- Ledger vs Trezor
Against Trezor Safe 3, Trezor Safe 5, Trezor Safe 7 Same side Ledger Nano S Plus, Ledger Flex
- Rows that differ
- 12 of 16
- Revised
- Tangem vs Ledger
Against Tangem Wallet Same side Ledger Nano S Plus
- Rows that differ
- 11 of 16
- Revised
Similar devices
4 from other makersFeatured devices from other makers that share a connection type or a listed-price band with the Ledger Nano X. Outlines at one scale, this device first.
-
Ledger Nano X
This sheet · $99
- SafePal X1
Also has Bluetooth; same price band (under $100), listed at $69.99.
- SafePal S1 Pro
Same price band (under $100), listed at $89.99.
- KeepKey
Same price band (under $100), listed at $59.95.
- Arculus Cold Storage Wallet
Same price band (under $100), listed at $59.76.
Front outlines at published sizes, one scale for all. A dashed outline marked NTS has no published size and is not to scale. Price bands: under $100, $100 to $199, $200 to $299, $300 and over, by the lowest listed price.
Also from Ledger
4 more datasheetsThe maker's other featured devices, lowest listed price first: the feature stamps each one adds or lacks next to the Ledger Nano X, and the fit-card answers that differ.
| Device | Listed price | Feature stamps | Fit-card answers that differ |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ledger Nano S Plus | $69 |
|
|
| Ledger Nano Gen5 | $179 |
| Same six answers |
| Ledger Flex | $249 |
| Same six answers |
| Ledger Stax | $399 |
| Same six answers |
Pages that link here
10 pagesOther pages on this site that point readers to the Ledger Nano X datasheet.
Guides
- What is a cold wallet? 1 link
- Cold wallet vs hot wallet 1 link
- Is Ledger safe? 1 link
- How to choose a hardware wallet 3 links
Other datasheets
- Arculus Cold Storage Wallet 1 link
- Ledger Flex 1 link
- Ledger Nano Gen5 1 link
- Ledger Nano S Plus 2 links
- SafePal X1 1 link
- Tangem Wallet 1 link
Sources
16 reference documents- 1 shop.ledger.com/products/ledger-nano-x checked 14 Oct 2026
- 2 ledger.com/academy/the-world-of-nano-which-ones-for-you checked 14 Oct 2026
- 3 shop.ledger.com/pages/hardware-wallets-comparison checked 14 Oct 2026
- 4 shop.ledger.com/products/ledger-nano-x/onyx-black checked 14 Oct 2026
- 5 ledger.com/blog-ledger-is-95-opensource-why-not-100 checked 14 Oct 2026
- 6 ledger.com/ledger-101-part-4-advanced-security-principles checked 14 Oct 2026
- 7 ledger.com/blog/building-a-best-in-class-hardware-bitcoin-multisig checked 14 Oct 2026
- 8 ledger.com/addressing-the-july-2020-e-commerce-and-marketing-data-breach
- 9 blog.kraken.com/product/security/kraken-security-labs-supply-chain-attacks-against-ledger-nano-x
- 10 donjon.ledger.com/lsb/016
- 11 blog.kraken.com/product/security/alert-modified-hardware-wallets-spotted-in-the-wild
- 12 ledger.com/blog/ledger-recover-a-message-from-pascal-gauthier-chairman-ceo-at-ledger
- 13 ledger.com/blog/security-incident-report
- 14 donjon.ledger.com/lsb/021
- 15 theregister.com/security/2026/01/06/ledger-confirms-customer-data-lifted-after-global-e-snafu/2443622
- 16 support.ledger.com/article/4404388633489-zd checked 14 Oct 2026