Datasheet · Ledger · rev.
Ledger Stax
Suits someone who wants Ledger's 3.7-inch curved E Ink screen, Qi charging and an NFC backup card, and who accepts partly closed firmware and a $399 price (Ledger US shop, 14 October 2026).
- Bluetooth
- NFC
- Battery
- Touchscreen
- Maker
- Ledger
- Model
- Stax
- Status
- In production
- Released
- 2024
- Sources
- 13
- Security events
- 6
- Rows verified
- 14 of 16
- Side-by-sides
- 1
- Dwg no.
- CF-LEDGER-STAX
- Last checked
Fig. 1 Ledger Stax: outline, front and side view. Dimensions in mm.
- 1. Screen
Curved E Ink touchscreen, 3.7 inches, 400 x 670, 16 grayscale3
Schematic, not a likeness. The outline is drawn to the published size and the screen window to the published diagonal and resolution; where the screen sits, and any buttons or ports, are not drawn.
Key parameters
- Price
- $399 Maker's shop, checked 14 Oct 20261
- Screen
- 3.7 in · E Ink · touch 400 × 670 px3
- Connectivity
- USB-C, Bluetooth BLE 5.2, NFC, Qi charging3
- Secure element
- ST33K1M54
- Open-source firmware
- Partial5
- Backup format
- 24-word recovery phrase; optional services/cards vary by model6
- Recovery on other wallets
- Accounts can be recovered on other hardware or software wallets that support the same standards (BIP32/BIP39/BIP44). Asset and derivation-path compatibility still matters.13
Ledger Stax in six answers
Fit card · checked 14 Oct 2026Six plain questions, each answered from one row of the spec sheet. The line under every answer is the recorded value and its source. Unknown means the sources we checked do not settle it.
-
Its own screen
Check the amount and address on the wallet itself.
Yes
Display Curved E Ink touchscreen, 3.7 inches, 400 x 670, 16 grayscale3
-
Bluetooth or NFC
A radio link in the maker's list of connections.
Yes
Connectivity USB-C, Bluetooth BLE 5.2, NFC, Qi charging3
-
QR or air-gapped signing
Can sign with no cable or radio link to the online device.
No
Connectivity USB-C, Bluetooth BLE 5.2, NFC, Qi charging3
-
Open-source firmware
The code it runs is published for anyone to read.
Partly
Open-source firmware Partial5
-
Backup in shares
Split the backup into shares; a set number of them restores the wallet.
Unknown
Shamir / SLIP-39 backup Not verified
-
Built-in battery
A battery inside, to charge or replace.
Yes
Battery Up to 10 hours normal use or 150 transactions3
Tally: 3 yes, 1 partly, 1 no, 1 unknown
Coins and features
Support data · checkedWhat Ledger documents for the Ledger Stax, one status per coin or feature, each with its source. A linked name opens the sheet that sets every wallet side by side on it.
Coins
Features
- Multisig Yes srcBitcoin via Sparrow. Source is maker-wide guidance. Source updated: 2025-08-29.
- Passphrase Yes srcOptional recovery-phrase extension creates a hidden wallet. Source updated: 2026-10-05.
- Bluetooth Yes srcBLE 5.2. Source date: not stated.
- SLIP-39 Shamir backup Not documented srcNo Ledger statement on SLIP-39 found. Ledger Recover (optional, paid) splits an encrypted copy of the seed among three companies; that is not a SLIP-39 backup.
- BIP39 recovery phrase Yes srcThe device creates a 24-word BIP39 recovery phrase.
- Open-source firmware Partial srcApps, SDK and crypto libraries are public; the low-level secure element OS stays closed under the chip vendor NDA.
Notes: design and recovery
-
Distinctive design
What the maker's pages single out about this device.
Curved E Ink touchscreen signer with Qi charging.4
-
Seed portability
Whether its backup restores on a wallet from another maker.
Accounts can be recovered on other hardware or software wallets that support the same standards (BIP32/BIP39/BIP44). Asset and derivation-path compatibility still matters.13
Price position
At $399 it ranks highest of the 21 featured devices with a US dollar price on our sheets.
- Lowest
- $54.90
- Median
- $149
- Highest
- $399
- Next lower Foundation Passport Prime ($349)
All 21 listed prices
- Tangem Wallet $54.90 for 2 cards, $69.90 for 3 cards
- Trezor Safe 3 $59
- Arculus Cold Storage Wallet $59.76
- KeepKey $59.95
- Ledger Nano S Plus $69
- SafePal X1 $69.99
- SafePal S1 Pro $89.99
- Ledger Nano X $99
- Trezor Safe 5 $129
- Blockstream Jade Plus $149 to $169
- Keystone 3 Pro $149
- Tangem Ring $160
- ELLIPAL Titan 2.0 $169
- Ledger Nano Gen5 $179
- COLDCARD Mk5 $219
- Ledger Flex $249
- Trezor Safe 7 $249
- OneKey Pro $278
- COLDCARD Q $319
- Foundation Passport Prime $349
- Ledger Stax (this sheet) $399
Listed prices at each maker's own shop, in US dollars. Checked between 14 Oct 2026 and 15 Oct 2026. Shops change prices, bundles and regional offers often; open the source before buying. 5 featured devices have no US dollar price recorded and are left off the scale.
How this page was made: a documentation-led review. Every specification comes from Ledger's own pages or published research and links to its source; we have not used this device hands-on for this page. Last checked 14 Oct 2026. Method.
The Ledger Stax is a battery-powered hardware wallet built around a 3.7-inch curved E Ink touchscreen. It has an ST33K1M5 secure element, connects over USB-C, Bluetooth and NFC, and charges over Qi wireless charging. Ledger announced it in 2022 and began shipping it to the first customers in 2024. It was listed at $399 on Ledger’s US shop on 14 October 2026, the highest price among the five Ledger models in our database. This page is a documentation-led review.
Ledger Stax review: who is it for?
On Ledger’s spec sheets, the main physical differences from the cheaper Ledger Flex are a larger curved screen, Qi charging, and a thinner, lighter body. The screens also differ in resolution and cover: Ledger’s comparison page lists Gorilla Glass for the Flex and lightweight durable plastic for the Stax. Security chip, battery rating, backup options and coin support are the same on both. So the Stax suits someone who values those differences enough to pay $150 more than the Flex’s $249 list price (both checked on 14 October 2026). Our Ledger Flex vs Stax page sets the two side by side.
It suits fewer people if you want:
- Fully open-source firmware. Ledger describes its code as only partly open.
- A Bitcoin-only build or Shamir (SLIP-39) backups. Ledger’s pages we checked mention neither for the Stax.
- A low price. The Nano Gen5, the lowest-priced touchscreen Ledger in our database, was listed at $179, and the USB-only Nano S Plus at $69, on the same day.
How big is the Ledger Stax screen?
Ledger lists a 3.7-inch curved E Ink touchscreen at 400 x 670 pixels with 16 levels of grey. By diagonal it is the largest screen of the five Ledger models we track; the Flex and Nano Gen5 both measure 2.8 inches. The body is 85 x 54 x 6 mm and weighs 45 g, so it is thinner and lighter than the Flex (7.7 mm, 58 g).
Ledger rates the battery at up to 10 hours of normal use or 150 transactions, the same as the Flex and Gen5. The Stax is the only one of the five that Ledger lists with Qi wireless charging, alongside USB-C.
How much does the Ledger Stax cost?
The Stax was listed at $399 on Ledger’s US shop on 14 October 2026. Ledger’s comparison page lists a Ledger Recovery Key card and a protective magnet shell in the box. Prices change, so check the maker’s shop on the day you buy.
Is the Ledger Stax secure?
The Stax keeps its keys in an ST33K1M5 secure element, the same chip part number Ledger lists for the Flex, Nano Gen5 and Nano S Plus. The Stax is a cold wallet: you prepare a transaction in an app on your phone or computer, then review and sign it on the Stax itself. Ledger’s product page says that what you see on the device screen is what you are approving.
Is the Ledger Stax open source? Partly. In a July 2024 post, Ledger says its operating system and software are “95% OpenSource and/or available” for review. That covers the companion app, the Secure SDK and the apps that run on the device. Ledger also says its agreement with STMicroelectronics legally prevents it from publishing the low-level code that talks to the secure element’s hardware. That low-level code is not publicly available for independent review.
Has the Ledger Stax had security problems? On 10 January 2025 Ledger’s security team published advisory LSB-021. It covered missing parameter validation during microcontroller firmware updates, a flaw that could permanently brick a device. The fix is in Stax firmware 1.6.2 and later, and Ledger states that client funds were never at risk.
The remaining entries in the security history below are company-level. They include a 2020 customer-data breach, the 2023 Connect Kit software supply-chain incident, and an exposure of order data through Global-e in January 2026. None of them was a seed extraction from a Ledger device. Ledger warned affected customers about phishing after the 2026 exposure. More context is in Is Ledger safe?.
How do you back up a Ledger Stax?
- A 24-word recovery phrase. Ledger’s recovery phrase guide says its devices generate the phrase with the BIP39 standard, and that a phrase can be entered into another compatible wallet to restore access. Coin and derivation-path support on the receiving wallet still matters. See our seed phrase guide.
- Ledger Recovery Key. Ledger’s comparison page lists it as included with the Stax. Ledger describes it as a PIN-protected backup card that stores the 24-word phrase in its own secure element chip. Ledger calls it a complement to the paper recovery sheet, not a replacement, and warns that wrong PIN attempts wipe the card’s contents.
- Ledger Recover. This is a paid, optional subscription. It encrypts the seed’s entropy, splits it into three fragments, and gives one each to Coincover, Ledger and EscrowTech. Restoring requires identity verification with an ID document. Ledger’s Recover page says it works with the Stax through both the desktop and mobile versions of Ledger’s app.
Does the Ledger Stax support a passphrase? Yes. Ledger states that all its devices offer the passphrase option: an optional string of letters, numbers and signs that is combined with the 24 words to derive a different seed. Under BIP39 every passphrase produces a valid wallet, so a typo opens a different wallet rather than an error.
Does the Ledger Stax support Shamir backup? Ledger’s pages we checked do not state support for SLIP-39, the SatoshiLabs standard that splits a secret into shares and needs a set minimum of them to restore it.
What coins does the Ledger Stax support?
Ledger lists 500+ coins through its Ledger Wallet app, and thousands through third-party wallets. For Bitcoin multisig, Ledger says its signers have integrated multisig capabilities. That statement covers Ledger devices in general, and we did not find a list of coordinator apps confirmed for the Stax specifically.
What we could not verify
- SLIP-39 (Shamir) backup support: not stated on the Ledger pages we checked.
- A Bitcoin-only edition: none found.
- Which third-party multisig coordinators Ledger confirms for the Stax specifically.
- How the curved E Ink panel holds up over years of use: Ledger’s pages we checked give no durability rating.
- The countries Ledger ships the Stax to.
Not verified on this sheet
2 of 16 rows emptyNo value recorded
- Bitcoin-only edition Not verified
- Shamir / SLIP-39 backup Not verified
Evidence base
- Rows with a value
- 14 of 16
- Sources cited
- 13
- On ledger.com
- 12
- Other domains
- 1
- Sources checked
- 14 Oct 2026
Security history at a glance
- Events recorded
- 6
- First
- Latest
- Period
- 2020 to 2026
Security history
6 events recordedDocumented events involving this device or its maker, with the date and the source. An empty list means we found no documented event, not that none exists.
-
Historical Ledger customer database, predating Stax
Ledger patched unauthorized customer-database access. Included as brand history, not a Stax hardware compromise.8
-
brand
Ledger disclosed an e-commerce and marketing customer-data breach. This is a brand-level privacy incident.8
-
Ledger Recover controversy
Ledger announced accelerated open sourcing and delayed Recover pending that work; the service was described as optional.9
-
Ledger Connect Kit and integrating DApps
Malicious npm releases were replaced with a genuine release. Included as software-supply-chain history.10
-
Stax MCU firmware-update validation
Missing reset-handler validation could brick the device. Fixed in Stax 1.6.2 or later; Ledger reports funds were not at risk.11
-
Global-e customer-order data
Ledger customer contact and order information was exposed through Global-e. Customers were notified and warned about phishing.12
Compared with
1 side-by-side sheetSheets that set the Ledger Stax beside other devices, one row per spec with differences marked.
- Ledger Flex vs Stax
Against Ledger Flex
- Rows that differ
- 4 of 16
- Revised
Similar devices
4 from other makersFeatured devices from other makers that share a connection type or a listed-price band with the Ledger Stax. Outlines at one scale, this device first.
-
Ledger Stax
This sheet · $399
- Foundation Passport Prime
Also has Bluetooth and NFC; same price band ($300 and over), listed at $349.
- COLDCARD Q
Also has NFC; same price band ($300 and over), listed at $319.
- OneKey Pro
Also has Bluetooth and NFC; listed at $278.
- Trezor Safe 7
Also has Bluetooth; listed at $249.
Front outlines at published sizes, one scale for all. Price bands: under $100, $100 to $199, $200 to $299, $300 and over, by the lowest listed price.
Also from Ledger
4 more datasheetsThe maker's other featured devices, lowest listed price first: the feature stamps each one adds or lacks next to the Ledger Stax, and the fit-card answers that differ.
| Device | Listed price | Feature stamps | Fit-card answers that differ |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ledger Nano S Plus | $69 |
|
|
| Ledger Nano X | $99 |
| Same six answers |
| Ledger Nano Gen5 | $179 | Same stamps | Same six answers |
| Ledger Flex | $249 | Same stamps | Same six answers |
Pages that link here
5 pagesOther pages on this site that point readers to the Ledger Stax datasheet.
Guides
- What is a cold wallet? 1 link
- Cold wallet vs hot wallet 2 links
- Is Ledger safe? 1 link
- How to choose a hardware wallet 3 links
Other datasheets
- Ledger Flex 1 link
Sources
13 reference documents- 1 shop.ledger.com/products/ledger-stax checked 14 Oct 2026
- 2 ledger.com/blog-ledger-stax-starts-shipping-to-first-customers checked 14 Oct 2026
- 3 shop.ledger.com/pages/hardware-wallets-comparison checked 14 Oct 2026
- 4 shop.ledger.com/products/ledger-stax/ledger-stax%E2%84%A2-%2B-recovery-key checked 14 Oct 2026
- 5 ledger.com/blog-ledger-is-95-opensource-why-not-100 checked 14 Oct 2026
- 6 ledger.com/ledger-101-part-4-advanced-security-principles checked 14 Oct 2026
- 7 ledger.com/academy/what-is-a-multisig-wallet checked 14 Oct 2026
- 8 ledger.com/addressing-the-july-2020-e-commerce-and-marketing-data-breach
- 9 ledger.com/blog/ledger-recover-a-message-from-pascal-gauthier-chairman-ceo-at-ledger
- 10 ledger.com/blog/security-incident-report
- 11 donjon.ledger.com/lsb/021
- 12 theregister.com/security/2026/01/06/ledger-confirms-customer-data-lifted-after-global-e-snafu/2443622
- 13 support.ledger.com/article/4404388633489-zd checked 14 Oct 2026