Chained Future Cold wallet datasheets

Datasheet · Arculus · rev.

Arculus Cold Storage Wallet

Suits phone-first holders who want to approve each transaction with a PIN and a card tap in one app; less suited to anyone who wants to check transactions on the device itself, needs documented passphrase support, or wants to move a Bitcoin wallet to software that lacks Arculus's derivation path.

  • NFC
  • Touchscreen

Official page

Maker
Arculus
Model
Cold Storage Wallet
Status
In production
Released
2021
Sources
7
Security events
1
Rows verified
11 of 16
Side-by-sides
0
Dwg no.
CF-ARCULUS-COLD-STORAGE-WALLET
Last checked
Front · not to scaleSize not published · not to scale

Fig. 1 Arculus Cold Storage Wallet: outline, front view. Dimensions in mm.

Size and weight
Not verified
Distinctive
NFC metal card used with phone biometrics and a PIN.1

Schematic, not a likeness. The sources we checked do not publish a size, so the outline is generic and not to scale.

Key parameters

Price
$59.76 Maker's shop, checked 14 Oct 20261
Screen
No display2
Connectivity
NFC1
Secure element
Yes3
Open-source firmware
Not verified
Backup format
Recovery phrase; word count not verified5
Recovery on other wallets
12/24-word BIP39-compatible recovery format; compatible-wallet recovery requires matching account derivation.3

Arculus Cold Storage Wallet in six answers

Fit card · checked 14 Oct 2026

Six plain questions, each answered from one row of the spec sheet. The line under every answer is the recorded value and its source. Unknown means the sources we checked do not settle it.

  1. Its own screen

    Check the amount and address on the wallet itself.

    No

    Display Phone provides the interface; card is described as an NFC card rather than a touchscreen device.2

  2. Bluetooth or NFC

    A radio link in the maker's list of connections.

    Yes

    Connectivity NFC1

  3. QR or air-gapped signing

    Can sign with no cable or radio link to the online device.

    No

    Connectivity NFC1

  4. Open-source firmware

    The code it runs is published for anyone to read.

    Unknown

    Open-source firmware Not verified

  5. Backup in shares

    Split the backup into shares; a set number of them restores the wallet.

    Unknown

    Shamir / SLIP-39 backup Not verified

  6. Built-in battery

    A battery inside, to charge or replace.

    No

    Battery No charging required1

Tally: 1 yes, 0 partly, 3 no, 2 unknown

Coins and features

Support data · checked

What Arculus documents for the Arculus Cold Storage Wallet, one status per coin or feature, each with its source. A linked name opens the sheet that sets every wallet side by side on it.

Coins

  • Bitcoin Native srcIn the Arculus app. No Bitcoin-only edition found.
  • Ethereum Native srcIn the Arculus app, with ERC-20 tokens.
  • Solana Native srcIn the Arculus app.
  • XRP Native srcStore/send/receive XRP in Arculus app. Source date: not stated.

Features

  • Multisig No srcNot a multisig wallet itself; can join a Safe multisig through WalletConnect
  • Passphrase Not documented srcNo BIP39 extension-passphrase statement found. Maker's 12/24-word recovery passphrase terminology denotes the recovery phrase. Source date: not stated.
  • Bluetooth No srcNFC card. Source date: not stated.
  • SLIP-39 Shamir backup No srcInferred: Arculus restores 12- or 24-word phrases and requires BIP-39 words.
  • BIP39 recovery phrase Yes srcCreates and restores 12- or 24-word BIP39 phrases; other wallets can restore them if they use the same derivation paths.
  • Open-source firmware Not documented srcNo Arculus statement on firmware source found; Arculus says the firmware cannot be updated.

Notes: design and recovery

  1. Distinctive design

    What the maker's pages single out about this device.

    NFC metal card used with phone biometrics and a PIN.1

    Source wording your unique biometrics, a PIN known only to you, and your NFC-enabled Arculus Card. Checked 14 Oct 2026

  2. Seed portability

    Whether its backup restores on a wallet from another maker.

    12/24-word BIP39-compatible recovery format; compatible-wallet recovery requires matching account derivation.3

    Source wording recovery phrase (the BIP39 Mnemonic) is generated using the BIP39 standard. Checked 14 Oct 2026

Price position

At $59.76 it ranks 3rd lowest of the 21 featured devices with a US dollar price on our sheets.

Lowest
$54.90
Median
$149
Highest
$399
All 21 listed prices
  1. Tangem Wallet $54.90 for 2 cards, $69.90 for 3 cards
  2. Trezor Safe 3 $59
  3. Arculus Cold Storage Wallet (this sheet) $59.76
  4. KeepKey $59.95
  5. Ledger Nano S Plus $69
  6. SafePal X1 $69.99
  7. SafePal S1 Pro $89.99
  8. Ledger Nano X $99
  9. Trezor Safe 5 $129
  10. Blockstream Jade Plus $149 to $169
  11. Keystone 3 Pro $149
  12. Tangem Ring $160
  13. ELLIPAL Titan 2.0 $169
  14. Ledger Nano Gen5 $179
  15. COLDCARD Mk5 $219
  16. Ledger Flex $249
  17. Trezor Safe 7 $249
  18. OneKey Pro $278
  19. COLDCARD Q $319
  20. Foundation Passport Prime $349
  21. Ledger Stax $399

Listed prices at each maker's own shop, in US dollars. Checked between 14 Oct 2026 and 15 Oct 2026. Shops change prices, bundles and regional offers often; open the source before buying. 5 featured devices have no US dollar price recorded and are left off the scale.

Note

How this page was made: a documentation-led review. Every specification comes from Arculus's own pages or published research and links to its source; we have not used this device hands-on for this page. Last checked 14 Oct 2026. Method.

The Arculus Cold Storage Wallet is a metal card with an NFC chip that holds your private keys and signs transactions when you tap it against a phone running the Arculus app. Arculus’s How It Works whitepaper (2023) says it was created by CompoSecure (NASDAQ: CMPO). Arculus dates the launch to 2021 on its hub page, and its bundle page says “Made in the USA.” Arculus says it needs no charging. The Arculus store showed it at $59.76, marked “Now”, on 14 October 2026; Arculus’s help center gives a price of $99.00 including shipping.

How does the Arculus card work?

Per the whitepaper, private keys “are generated, encrypted, and stored in the Secure Element on the Arculus Card” and never leave it. The card talks to the app over NFC, which the whitepaper says has “a range of only a few centimeters.”

Arculus markets three-factor authentication: a biometric, a PIN and the card. The whitepaper is more specific: the app uses biometrics or a card tap before showing balances, and “All transactions require you to enter your PIN and tap your card to authenticate.” The six-digit PIN is stored on the card. After three wrong PIN entries the card is reset and its keys are wiped, and you restore the wallet from the recovery phrase.

The card has no screen. You read the address and amount in the Arculus app and tap to approve, so in our reading the phone is the only place to review a transaction. The Tangem Wallet works the same way; a device such as the Ledger Nano X shows the details on its own display.

Arculus’s compatibility article lists Android 11 or newer on phones with NFC, and iOS 17.5 or newer on iPhone XR and later models.

Who is the Arculus wallet for?

It suits people who manage crypto from a phone, want a signer that needs no charging, and are happy to buy, swap and send inside one app; Arculus says it routes purchases and swaps through partners Onramper and Changelly.

It is a weaker fit if you:

  • want to confirm transactions on the signing device itself;
  • work from a desktop: the only connection is NFC to a phone;
  • want an optional passphrase: we found no Arculus documentation of one;
  • need Bitcoin multisig: Arculus says the card “is not a multisignature (multisig) wallet”, though it can be one owner of a Safe smart-contract account through WalletConnect; that does not give you Bitcoin multisig.

Is Arculus secure?

Arculus describes a secure element with a “CC EAL6+ Hardware Classification”, and the whitepaper diagram shows it running JavaCardOS. We found no chip name or certificate number.

The whitepaper says the card is “shipped locked, meaning the code on the card can’t be updated.” Arculus presents that as blocking malicious code; it also means a card keeps the firmware it shipped with. Arculus’s coin list requires card firmware 2.0 or above and says “Edition Zero and Edition One sold prior to March, 2023” do not support most of the listed coins. We found no published card firmware source or licence.

Our dataset records no published attack on the card. The only entry is a scam warning: in an article updated 10 October 2026, Arculus warns that scammers claim wallets like Arculus, Ledger or Trezor are “unsafe” or “compromised” to push fake “QFS” products, and that fake “Web3 validation” pages ask for your 12-word recovery phrase. The warning describes recovery-phrase phishing, not a demonstrated card exploit.

How do Arculus backup and recovery work?

The whitepaper says the card creates a 12- or 24-word phrase under the BIP39 standard, shown once in the app, which then asks you to re-enter it; “the recovery phrase is not stored on the card or the phone.” The app can also restore any 12- or 24-word BIP39 phrase. If you lose the card, Arculus says you can buy a new one and restore, or restore in another wallet that uses the same derivation paths. Each card holds one wallet at a time.

Those paths matter. Arculus says that for Bitcoin it uses the path m/0’, which “may not be supported by other wallets like Ledger”, though many wallets let you enter it manually. Check that a fallback wallet accepts the path before you rely on it. We found no SLIP-39 support. See our seed phrase guide.

Arculus vs Ledger: what is the difference?

  • Screen: the Ledger Nano S Plus and Nano X have a 1.1-inch display on the device; the Arculus card has none.
  • Connection: Arculus uses NFC to a phone; the Nano S Plus uses USB-C, and the Nano X adds Bluetooth.
  • Recovery: Ledger documents a 24-word phrase with passphrase support; Arculus offers 12 or 24 words, no documented passphrase, and a Bitcoin path Arculus says other wallets may not support.
  • Code: Ledger describes its firmware as partly open; we found no published Arculus card firmware.
  • Price on 14 October 2026: $59.76 for Arculus, $69 for the Nano S Plus and $99 for the Nano X on Ledger’s shop.

More in Is Ledger safe? and Tangem vs Ledger, which covers the same card-versus-screen trade-off.

Which coins does Arculus support?

The product page claims “50+ Blockchains” and over 10,000 tokens. The help-center list includes Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, Cardano and XRP (listed as Ripple). WalletConnect connects the card to decentralized apps. We found no Bitcoin-only edition.

What we could not verify

  • The secure element’s part number and certificate.
  • Card dimensions and weight.
  • Optional passphrase support.
  • The card firmware source.
  • Whether you can send while Arculus’s servers are unreachable. The help center treats an “Arculus Cloud Unreachable” error as a phone or network problem and does not address an outage on Arculus’s side; the fallback Arculus documents is restoring the recovery phrase in another wallet with compatible derivation paths (see above).

Read how we compile each datasheet in our methodology.

Not verified on this sheet

5 of 16 rows empty

No value recorded

  • Open-source firmware Not verified
  • Bitcoin-only edition Not verified
  • Passphrase Not verified
  • Shamir / SLIP-39 backup Not verified
  • Size and weight Not verified

Recorded with a stated gap

  • Backup format Word count not verified5

Evidence base

Rows with a value
11 of 16
Sources cited
7
On getarculus.com
5
Other domains
2
Sources checked
14 Oct 2026

Security history at a glance

Events recorded
1
First
Latest
Period
2026

Security history

1 event recorded

Documented events involving this device or its maker, with the date and the source. An empty list means we found no documented event, not that none exists.

  1. Brand users targeted in broader QFS/Web3 migration scams; no card exploit demonstrated

    Vendor warned of false claims that Arculus and other wallets are unsafe, directing users to fake migration/validation wallets.7

Compared with

0 side-by-side sheets

No side-by-side sheet includes the Arculus Cold Storage Wallet yet. The comparisons page lists every sheet we have.

Similar devices

4 from other makers

Featured devices from other makers that share a connection type or a listed-price band with the Arculus Cold Storage Wallet. Outlines at one scale, this device first.

  • NTS

    Arculus Cold Storage Wallet

    This sheet · $59.76

  • NTS
    Tangem Wallet

    Also has NFC; same price band (under $100), listed at $54.90 to $69.90.

  • NTS
    KeepKey

    Same price band (under $100), listed at $59.95.

  • Trezor Safe 3

    Same price band (under $100), listed at $59.

  • Ledger Nano S Plus

    Same price band (under $100), listed at $69.

Front outlines at published sizes, one scale for all. A dashed outline marked NTS has no published size and is not to scale. Price bands: under $100, $100 to $199, $200 to $299, $300 and over, by the lowest listed price.

Pages that link here

1 page

Other pages on this site that point readers to the Arculus Cold Storage Wallet datasheet.

Sources

7 reference documents
  1. 1 getarculus.com/products/arculus-cold-storage-wallet.html checked 14 Oct 2026
  2. 2 getarculus.com/hub checked 14 Oct 2026
  3. 3 getarculus.com/content/Whitepapers/Arculus-HowItWorksFinal.pdf checked 14 Oct 2026
  4. 4 support.arculus.co/hc/en-us/articles/15440021929239-Does-the-Arculus-Cold-Storage-Wallet-Support-Multisig checked 14 Oct 2026
  5. 5 getarculus.com/faqs checked 14 Oct 2026
  6. 6 getarculus.com/bundle checked 14 Oct 2026
  7. 7 support.arculus.co/hc/en-us/articles/39336204164119-I-m-hearing-I-need-to-back-up-my-Arculus-Wallet-to-Web3-is-this-true