Chained Future Cold wallet datasheets

Datasheet · Ledger · rev.

Ledger Nano Gen5

Suits people who want a touchscreen Ledger with Bluetooth and NFC, and who accept a wider, battery-powered device at a higher listed price than the Nano X.

  • Bluetooth
  • NFC
  • Battery
  • Touchscreen

Official page

Maker
Ledger
Model
Nano Gen5
Status
In production
Released
2025
Sources
11
Security events
5
Rows verified
14 of 16
Side-by-sides
1
Dwg no.
CF-LEDGER-NANO-GEN5
Last checked
FrontSide53.379.48.62.8 in110 mm · grid 5 mm

Fig. 1 Ledger Nano Gen5: outline, front and side view. Dimensions in mm.

  1. 1. Screen

    Monochrome E Ink touchscreen, 2.8 inches, 300 x 4001

Size and weight
79.4 x 53.3 x 8.6 mm; 46 g1
Distinctive
Nano-branded signer using an E Ink touchscreen.3

Schematic, not a likeness. The outline is drawn to the published size and the screen window to the published diagonal and resolution; where the screen sits, and any buttons or ports, are not drawn.

Key parameters

Price
$179 Maker's shop, checked 14 Oct 20261
Screen
2.8 in · E Ink · touch 300 × 400 px1
Connectivity
USB-C, Bluetooth BLE 5.2, NFC for Recovery Key and Security Key3
Secure element
ST33K1M53
Open-source firmware
Partial4
Backup format
24-word recovery phrase; optional services/cards vary by model5
Recovery on other wallets
Accounts can be recovered on other hardware or software wallets that support the same standards (BIP32/BIP39/BIP44). Asset and derivation-path compatibility still matters.11

Ledger Nano Gen5 in six answers

Fit card · checked 14 Oct 2026

Six plain questions, each answered from one row of the spec sheet. The line under every answer is the recorded value and its source. Unknown means the sources we checked do not settle it.

  1. Its own screen

    Check the amount and address on the wallet itself.

    Yes

    Display Monochrome E Ink touchscreen, 2.8 inches, 300 x 4001

  2. Bluetooth or NFC

    A radio link in the maker's list of connections.

    Yes

    Connectivity USB-C, Bluetooth BLE 5.2, NFC for Recovery Key and Security Key3

  3. QR or air-gapped signing

    Can sign with no cable or radio link to the online device.

    No

    Connectivity USB-C, Bluetooth BLE 5.2, NFC for Recovery Key and Security Key3

  4. Open-source firmware

    The code it runs is published for anyone to read.

    Partly

    Open-source firmware Partial4

  5. Backup in shares

    Split the backup into shares; a set number of them restores the wallet.

    Unknown

    Shamir / SLIP-39 backup Not verified

  6. Built-in battery

    A battery inside, to charge or replace.

    Yes

    Battery Up to 10 hours normal use or 150 transactions1

Tally: 3 yes, 1 partly, 1 no, 1 unknown

Coins and features

Support data · checked

What Ledger documents for the Ledger Nano Gen5, one status per coin or feature, each with its source. A linked name opens the sheet that sets every wallet side by side on it.

Coins

  • Bitcoin Native srcIn Ledger Wallet (formerly Ledger Live). No Bitcoin-only edition found.
  • Ethereum Native srcIn Ledger Wallet.
  • Solana Native srcIn Ledger Wallet.
  • XRP Native srcXRP in Ledger Wallet, formerly Ledger Live. Source date: not stated.

Features

  • Multisig Yes srcLedger Enterprise Multisig lists Nano Gen5. Bitcoin/Sparrow version compatibility remains unverified. Official search-index evidence; direct page returned no readable body. Source updated: 2026-05-05.
  • Passphrase Yes srcOptional recovery-phrase extension creates a hidden wallet. Source updated: 2026-10-05.
  • Bluetooth Yes srcBLE 5.2. Source date: not stated.
  • SLIP-39 Shamir backup Not documented srcNo Ledger statement on SLIP-39 found. Ledger Recover (optional, paid) splits an encrypted copy of the seed among three companies; that is not a SLIP-39 backup.
  • BIP39 recovery phrase Yes srcThe device creates a 24-word BIP39 recovery phrase.
  • Open-source firmware Partial srcApps, SDK and crypto libraries are public; the low-level secure element OS stays closed under the chip vendor NDA.

Notes: design and recovery

  1. Distinctive design

    What the maker's pages single out about this device.

    Nano-branded signer using an E Ink touchscreen.3

    Source wording E Ink® touchscreen Checked 14 Oct 2026

  2. Seed portability

    Whether its backup restores on a wallet from another maker.

    Accounts can be recovered on other hardware or software wallets that support the same standards (BIP32/BIP39/BIP44). Asset and derivation-path compatibility still matters.11

    Source wording supports the same standards as Ledger (BIP32/BIP39/BIP44) Checked 14 Oct 2026

Price position

At $179 it ranks 14th lowest of the 21 featured devices with a US dollar price on our sheets.

Lowest
$54.90
Median
$149
Highest
$399
All 21 listed prices
  1. Tangem Wallet $54.90 for 2 cards, $69.90 for 3 cards
  2. Trezor Safe 3 $59
  3. Arculus Cold Storage Wallet $59.76
  4. KeepKey $59.95
  5. Ledger Nano S Plus $69
  6. SafePal X1 $69.99
  7. SafePal S1 Pro $89.99
  8. Ledger Nano X $99
  9. Trezor Safe 5 $129
  10. Blockstream Jade Plus $149 to $169
  11. Keystone 3 Pro $149
  12. Tangem Ring $160
  13. ELLIPAL Titan 2.0 $169
  14. Ledger Nano Gen5 (this sheet) $179
  15. COLDCARD Mk5 $219
  16. Ledger Flex $249
  17. Trezor Safe 7 $249
  18. OneKey Pro $278
  19. COLDCARD Q $319
  20. Foundation Passport Prime $349
  21. Ledger Stax $399

Listed prices at each maker's own shop, in US dollars. Checked between 14 Oct 2026 and 15 Oct 2026. Shops change prices, bundles and regional offers often; open the source before buying. 5 featured devices have no US dollar price recorded and are left off the scale.

Note

How this page was made: a documentation-led review. Every specification comes from Ledger's own pages or published research and links to its source; we have not used this device hands-on for this page. Last checked 14 Oct 2026. Method.

The Ledger Nano Gen5 is a touchscreen hardware wallet released in 2025, the most recent Ledger release in our database. Despite the Nano name it is wide and flat rather than stick-shaped, built around a 2.8-inch E Ink touchscreen, with USB-C, Bluetooth, NFC and a battery. On 14 October 2026 it was listed at $179 on Ledger’s online comparison page.

Who is the Ledger Nano Gen5 for?

It fits people who:

  • want to read and approve transactions on a touchscreen rather than the 1.1-inch OLED and buttons of the Nano S Plus and Nano X;
  • want Bluetooth for a phone and USB-C for a computer;
  • want the option of an NFC Recovery Key alongside the paper recovery phrase.

It fits fewer people who:

  • want a lower listed price, or no battery and no radio: on the same date Ledger listed the Nano X at $99 and the battery-free, USB-C-only Nano S Plus at $69;
  • want a higher-resolution screen: the Ledger Flex lists a 2.8-inch E Ink touchscreen at 480 x 600 with 16 grayscale levels, listed at $249 the same day (see Flex vs Stax);
  • want documented native Shamir (SLIP-39) backup support, which we could not verify for the Gen5, or firmware that is open source down to the chip level.

How is the Ledger Nano Gen5 different from the Nano X?

Values from our dataset, checked on 14 October 2026:

  • Screen: a 2.8-inch monochrome E Ink touchscreen at 300 x 400 pixels, against the Nano X’s 1.1-inch monochrome OLED at 128 x 64 pixels with no touch input.
  • Connectivity: both have USB-C and Bluetooth BLE 5.2. The Gen5 adds NFC, which Ledger lists for its Recovery Key and Security Key.
  • Secure element: ST33K1M5 on the Gen5 (as on the Nano S Plus), ST33J2M0 on the Nano X.
  • Battery: up to 10 hours of normal use or 150 transactions, against up to 5 hours for the Nano X.
  • Size and weight: 79.4 x 53.3 x 8.6 mm and 46 g, against 72 x 18.6 x 11.7 mm and 34 g. The Gen5 is close to three times as wide, 3.1 mm thinner and 12 g heavier.
  • Release year and listed price: 2025 and $179, against 2019 and $99.

Unchanged: the 24-word phrase, passphrase support, Ledger Wallet, the 500+ coin figure and partly open-source firmware. Full side-by-side: Ledger Nano Gen5 vs Nano X.

What is the Ledger Nano Gen5 screen like?

Menus and confirmations are handled by touch on the 300 x 400 pixel E Ink panel; Ledger’s Gen5 introduction sets it against the 128 x 64 OLED plus buttons of the older Nanos. The larger screen may make a full address easier to read before signing.

Is the Ledger Nano Gen5 secure and open source?

Keys are held in the ST33K1M5 secure element, and transactions are signed only after you confirm them on the device screen (see our cold wallet guide).

Ledger says its operating system and software are “95% OpenSource and/or available”. The closed part is the low-level secure element code, which Ledger says its agreement with STMicroelectronics keeps private.

Ledger’s published Bluetooth security model was written for the Nano X in 2019. We did not find a Gen5-specific version.

How do backup and recovery work on the Nano Gen5?

  • Recovery phrase. 24 words. Ledger’s support documentation says accounts generated by a Ledger device can be recovered on any hardware or software wallet that supports the same standards as Ledger (BIP32, BIP39 and BIP44); every account appears only if that wallet supports the same coins and derivation paths. See our seed phrase guide.
  • Recovery Key. Ledger’s Gen5 introduction lists one as included. Ledger’s Recovery Key announcement (July 2025) describes a PIN-protected card that stores a backup of the 24-word phrase, is wiped after three wrong PIN attempts, and works alongside the paper recovery sheet rather than replacing it. The announcement names the Flex and Stax; the Gen5 reaches the card over NFC.
  • Passphrase. Ledger says all its devices offer a passphrase, which opens a separate set of accounts and cannot be recovered if forgotten.
  • SLIP-39. Ledger’s pages we checked do not state native SLIP-39 support.
  • Ledger Recover. Ledger’s Recover explainer names the Nano X and Nano S Plus as supported and does not mention the Gen5.
  • Multisig. Ledger’s multisig explainer describes multisig at brand level; we found no Gen5-specific documentation.

Does the Ledger Nano Gen5 have NFC?

Yes. Ledger lists NFC for two uses: the Recovery Key and the Security Key. Ledger’s developer documentation says the Security Key app supports FIDO2 and U2F. The FIDO Alliance says passkeys are built on FIDO2 specifications.

What coins does the Ledger Nano Gen5 support?

Ledger lists 500+ coins through Ledger Wallet and thousands more through third-party wallets. We found no Bitcoin-only edition.

How much does the Ledger Nano Gen5 cost?

It was listed at $179 on Ledger’s online comparison page on 14 October 2026. The same day Ledger listed the Flex at $249 and the Stax at $399. These are dated snapshots.

Has the Ledger Nano Gen5 had security problems?

The events we recorded for the Gen5 are all at brand level, and none is a compromise of Gen5 hardware:

  • 2020: a customer-data breach, which Ledger says it fixed.
  • May 2023: the Ledger Recover controversy, after which Ledger delayed the service and sped up open-sourcing work.
  • December 2023: the Connect Kit incident, in which Ledger replaced malicious releases of the library with a genuine version.
  • January 2026: customer order and contact data exposed through Global-e. Global-e notified affected customers; Ledger’s FAQ on the incident says it was separate from Ledger devices and did not expose recovery phrases.

A device released in 2025 has had less time on the market than the 2019 Nano X, so a short record says little on its own. Sources are listed below; Is Ledger safe? covers the brand.

What we could not verify

  • Ledger Recover on the Gen5: Ledger’s Recover explainer does not name it.
  • Gen5 multisig: only a brand-level statement; no Gen5-specific documentation found.
  • Gen5 Bluetooth security model: Ledger’s published model covers the Nano X; we found no Gen5 version.
  • Bitcoin-only edition and native SLIP-39 backup: not stated on the Ledger pages we checked.
  • Country of manufacture: Ledger’s comparison page gives its Paris company address, not where the device is assembled.

Not verified on this sheet

2 of 16 rows empty

No value recorded

  • Bitcoin-only edition Not verified
  • Shamir / SLIP-39 backup Not verified

Evidence base

Rows with a value
14 of 16
Sources cited
11
On ledger.com
10
Other domains
1
Sources checked
14 Oct 2026

Security history at a glance

Events recorded
5
First
Latest
Period
2020 to 2026

Security history

5 events recorded

Documented events involving this device or its maker, with the date and the source. An empty list means we found no documented event, not that none exists.

  1. Historical Ledger customer database, not model-specific

    Ledger patched unauthorized customer-database access. Included as brand history, not a Nano Gen5 hardware compromise.7

  2. brand

    Ledger disclosed an e-commerce and marketing customer-data breach. This is a brand-level privacy incident.7

  3. Historical Ledger Recover controversy

    Ledger announced accelerated open sourcing and delayed Recover pending that work; the service was described as optional.8

  4. Historical Ledger Connect Kit incident

    Malicious npm releases were replaced with a genuine release. Included as brand software-supply-chain history.9

  5. Global-e customer-order data

    Ledger customer contact and order information was exposed through Global-e. Customers were notified and warned about phishing.10

Compared with

1 side-by-side sheet

Sheets that set the Ledger Nano Gen5 beside other devices, one row per spec with differences marked.

  1. Ledger Nano Gen5 vs Nano X

    Against Ledger Nano X

    Rows that differ
    7 of 16
    Revised

Similar devices

4 from other makers

Featured devices from other makers that share a connection type or a listed-price band with the Ledger Nano Gen5. Outlines at one scale, this device first.

  • Ledger Nano Gen5

    This sheet · $179

  • NTS
    Tangem Ring

    Also has NFC; same price band ($100 to $199), listed at $160.

  • Blockstream Jade Plus

    Also has Bluetooth; same price band ($100 to $199), listed at $149 to $169.

  • OneKey Pro

    Also has Bluetooth and NFC; listed at $278.

  • Foundation Passport Prime

    Also has Bluetooth and NFC; listed at $349.

Front outlines at published sizes, one scale for all. A dashed outline marked NTS has no published size and is not to scale. Price bands: under $100, $100 to $199, $200 to $299, $300 and over, by the lowest listed price.

Also from Ledger

4 more datasheets

The maker's other featured devices, lowest listed price first: the feature stamps each one adds or lacks next to the Ledger Nano Gen5, and the fit-card answers that differ.

DeviceListed priceFeature stampsFit-card answers that differ
Ledger Nano S Plus$69
  • Lacks Bluetooth, NFC, Battery, Touchscreen
  • Bluetooth or NFC: No (this sheet: Yes)
  • Built-in battery: No (this sheet: Yes)
Ledger Nano X$99
  • Lacks NFC, Touchscreen
Same six answers
Ledger Flex$249Same stampsSame six answers
Ledger Stax$399Same stampsSame six answers

Pages that link here

9 pages

Other pages on this site that point readers to the Ledger Nano Gen5 datasheet.

Sources

11 reference documents
  1. 1 shop.ledger.com/pages/hardware-wallets-comparison checked 14 Oct 2026
  2. 2 ledger.com/academy/the-world-of-nano-which-ones-for-you checked 14 Oct 2026
  3. 3 shop.ledger.com/products/ledger-nano-gen5/jet-black checked 14 Oct 2026
  4. 4 ledger.com/blog-ledger-is-95-opensource-why-not-100 checked 14 Oct 2026
  5. 5 ledger.com/ledger-101-part-4-advanced-security-principles checked 14 Oct 2026
  6. 6 ledger.com/academy/what-is-a-multisig-wallet checked 14 Oct 2026
  7. 7 ledger.com/addressing-the-july-2020-e-commerce-and-marketing-data-breach
  8. 8 ledger.com/blog/ledger-recover-a-message-from-pascal-gauthier-chairman-ceo-at-ledger
  9. 9 ledger.com/blog/security-incident-report
  10. 10 theregister.com/security/2026/01/06/ledger-confirms-customer-data-lifted-after-global-e-snafu/2443622
  11. 11 support.ledger.com/article/4404388633489-zd checked 14 Oct 2026