Chained Future Cold wallet datasheets

Datasheet · Trezor · rev.

Trezor Safe 5

Suits people who want a color touchscreen with haptic confirmation on a Trezor that connects by USB-C cable, and who do not need Bluetooth or wireless charging.

  • Open-source firmware
  • Bitcoin-only edition
  • Touchscreen

Official page

Maker
Trezor
Model
Safe 5
Status
In production
Released
2024
Sources
14
Security events
3
Rows verified
16 of 16
Side-by-sides
4
Dwg no.
CF-TREZOR-SAFE-5
Last checked
FrontSide4065.981.54 in110 mm · grid 5 mm

Fig. 1 Trezor Safe 5: outline, front and side view. Dimensions in mm.

  1. 1. Screen

    1.54-inch color touchscreen, 240 x 2403

Size and weight
65.9 x 40 x 8 mm; 23 g3
Distinctive
Color touchscreen with haptic confirmation feedback.3

Schematic, not a likeness. The outline is drawn to the published size and the screen window to the published diagonal and resolution; where the screen sits, and any buttons or ports, are not drawn.

Key parameters

Price
$129 Maker's shop, checked 14 Oct 20261
Screen
1.54 in · color · touch 240 × 240 px3
Connectivity
USB-C, microSD3
Secure element
Infineon OPTIGA Trust M (V3), certified to Common Criteria EAL6+.4
Open-source firmware
Yes6
Backup format
BIP39 12/24 words or SLIP39 20-word shares3
Recovery on other wallets
Supports BIP39 and SLIP39. BIP39 restores on compatible wallets; SLIP39 needs compatible recovery software or hardware.14

Trezor Safe 5 in six answers

Fit card · checked 14 Oct 2026

Six plain questions, each answered from one row of the spec sheet. The line under every answer is the recorded value and its source. Unknown means the sources we checked do not settle it.

  1. Its own screen

    Check the amount and address on the wallet itself.

    Yes

    Display 1.54-inch color touchscreen, 240 x 2403

  2. Bluetooth or NFC

    A radio link in the maker's list of connections.

    No

    Connectivity USB-C, microSD3

  3. QR or air-gapped signing

    Can sign with no cable or radio link to the online device.

    No

    Connectivity USB-C, microSD3

  4. Open-source firmware

    The code it runs is published for anyone to read.

    Yes

    Open-source firmware Yes6

  5. Backup in shares

    Split the backup into shares; a set number of them restores the wallet.

    Yes

    Shamir / SLIP-39 backup SLIP39 Multi-share Backup supported; firmware requirement applies8

  6. Built-in battery

    A battery inside, to charge or replace.

    Not stated

    Battery Powered over USB-C; Trezor's pages we checked do not list a battery.9

Tally: 3 yes, 0 partly, 2 no, 1 unknown

Coins and features

Support data · checked

What Trezor documents for the Trezor Safe 5, one status per coin or feature, each with its source. A linked name opens the sheet that sets every wallet side by side on it.

Coins

  • Bitcoin Native srcIn Trezor Suite. A Bitcoin-only edition of the Safe 5 is sold, and Suite can switch firmware.
  • Ethereum Native srcIn Trezor Suite, with ERC-20 tokens, on the universal firmware.
  • Solana Native srcIn Trezor Suite, with SPL tokens, on the universal firmware.
  • XRP Native srcNative Trezor Suite support. Use universal firmware, not Bitcoin-only firmware. Source date: not stated.

Features

  • Multisig Yes srcBitcoin via Electrum or Casa. Suite has no direct multisig management. Source date: not stated.
  • Passphrase Yes srcSeed-extension passphrase protection. Source date: not stated.
  • Bluetooth No srcMaker says Safe 5, Safe 3, and earlier models use wired connections. Source date: not stated.
  • SLIP-39 Shamir backup Yes srcCreates and recovers SLIP-39 Single-share and Multi-share backups; the updated Multi-share Backup needs firmware 2.7.2 or later.
  • BIP39 recovery phrase Partial srcThe default backup is a 20-word SLIP-39 share; a 12- or 24-word BIP39 phrase can be chosen at setup, and BIP39 phrases restore.
  • Open-source firmware Yes srcFirmware (core) published at github.com/trezor/trezor-firmware under GPLv3.

Notes: design and recovery

  1. Distinctive design

    What the maker's pages single out about this device.

    Color touchscreen with haptic confirmation feedback.3

    Source wording color touchscreen & confirmation haptic feedback Checked 14 Oct 2026

  2. Seed portability

    Whether its backup restores on a wallet from another maker.

    Supports BIP39 and SLIP39. BIP39 restores on compatible wallets; SLIP39 needs compatible recovery software or hardware.14

    Source wording BIP39 backups are widely supported Checked 14 Oct 2026

Price position

At $129 it ranks 9th lowest of the 21 featured devices with a US dollar price on our sheets.

Lowest
$54.90
Median
$149
Highest
$399
All 21 listed prices
  1. Tangem Wallet $54.90 for 2 cards, $69.90 for 3 cards
  2. Trezor Safe 3 $59
  3. Arculus Cold Storage Wallet $59.76
  4. KeepKey $59.95
  5. Ledger Nano S Plus $69
  6. SafePal X1 $69.99
  7. SafePal S1 Pro $89.99
  8. Ledger Nano X $99
  9. Trezor Safe 5 (this sheet) $129
  10. Blockstream Jade Plus $149 to $169
  11. Keystone 3 Pro $149
  12. Tangem Ring $160
  13. ELLIPAL Titan 2.0 $169
  14. Ledger Nano Gen5 $179
  15. COLDCARD Mk5 $219
  16. Ledger Flex $249
  17. Trezor Safe 7 $249
  18. OneKey Pro $278
  19. COLDCARD Q $319
  20. Foundation Passport Prime $349
  21. Ledger Stax $399

Listed prices at each maker's own shop, in US dollars. Checked between 14 Oct 2026 and 15 Oct 2026. Shops change prices, bundles and regional offers often; open the source before buying. 5 featured devices have no US dollar price recorded and are left off the scale.

Note

How this page was made: a documentation-led review. Every specification comes from Trezor's own pages or published research and links to its source; we have not used this device hands-on for this page. Last checked 14 Oct 2026. Method.

The Trezor Safe 5 is Trezor’s color-touchscreen hardware wallet for use over a USB-C cable. Trezor released it on 14 June 2024. It pairs a 1.54-inch touchscreen and haptic feedback with a secure element certified to EAL6+, open-source device software and a choice of BIP39 or SLIP39 backups. Trezor’s comparison page listed it at $129 on 14 October 2026, between the Safe 3 at $59 and the Safe 7 at $249.

Who is the Trezor Safe 5 for?

The Safe 5 fits people who want to read and approve transactions on a color screen by touch and are happy to plug the wallet into a computer. On both price and screen size it sits in the middle of Trezor’s three current Safe models.

It is a weaker match if you want:

  • the lowest list price: the Safe 3 keeps the same backup options with a two-button monochrome screen;
  • no cable: the Safe 7 is the Safe model whose specifications list Bluetooth, a battery and Qi2 wireless charging;
  • signing with no USB or Bluetooth link to a computer or phone: see air-gapped hardware wallets;
  • multisig inside Trezor Suite: Trezor says Suite does not support multisig wallets directly; it works through compatible third-party software.

What is the Trezor Safe 5 screen like?

Trezor lists a 1.54-inch color touchscreen at 240 x 240 pixels, and describes “confirmation haptic feedback”, a tactile response when you confirm an action. By diagonal the screen is larger than the Safe 3’s 0.96 inches and smaller than the Safe 7’s 2.5 inches.

The body measures 65.9 x 40 x 8 mm and weighs 23 g. Trezor’s hardware security page says the Safe 5 uses USB-C for both power and communication. Trezor also lists a microSD card slot. A February 2025 reply on Trezor’s community forum, covering the models sold at the time, says Trezor devices are manufactured in the Czech Republic.

Is the Trezor Safe 5 secure?

Trezor documents two layers: a secure element listed as “Certified Chip EAL6+”, which its secure element page identifies as the OPTIGA Trust M (V3), and open-source device software. EAL6 is the sixth of seven evaluation assurance levels in the Common Criteria, Part 3, which lets a level be augmented by adding assurance components or by substituting higher-level ones; the ”+” refers to such an augmentation. Trezor’s secure element page says it covers protections against fault injection and side-channel analysis, without naming the formal assurance components. Trezor attributes the certification to the chip, not to the whole wallet.

The Safe 5 has one documented hardware advantage over the original Safe 3. In November 2024 Ledger Donjon, the lab of rival maker Ledger, reported that some Safe 3 countermeasures against supply chain attacks (in this case, tampering with a device before it reaches its owner) could be bypassed. Trezor’s disclosure states that the Safe 5 “is not affected” because it uses a more recent microcontroller.

The security history below this article also lists two phishing incidents involving Trezor’s support systems. The January 2024 one predates the Safe 5; the June 2025 one was a brand-level campaign, not a device flaw. Trezor restricted support-portal access and warned affected users after the first, and said the second was contained and the phishing site taken down.

Is the Trezor Safe 5 open source?

The device software is. Trezor’s security page says the software in Trezor devices “has always been open-source” and can be verified and built from the public code, so outside researchers can read what runs on the device. That statement concerns device software: we did not verify whether the design of the Safe 5’s secure element is open to review, and the Trezor pages we checked do not say whether the hardware design files are published.

How does Trezor Safe 5 backup and recovery work?

Trezor lists 12-, 20- and 24-word backups:

  • 12 or 24 words follow BIP39, which Trezor’s backup guide describes as widely supported by other wallets.
  • 20 words follow SLIP-39, built on Shamir’s secret sharing. This Single-share Backup is the Safe 5 default, according to the same guide. It restores only on SLIP39-compatible software or hardware, and the SLIP-39 specification says shares cannot be turned back into a BIP39 phrase.

If portability to other wallets matters most, the backup guide says you can choose a different format from the Backup format menu during setup in Trezor Suite. Trezor’s SLIP39 FAQ lists the Safe 5 among devices that support Multi-share Backup with firmware 2.7.2 or newer, where you create a separate set of shares and a chosen number of them, for example 2 of 3, rebuilds the wallet.

An optional passphrase is supported. Under the BIP39 design each passphrase produces a different wallet from the same words, so losing the passphrase means losing access to the funds behind it. More in our seed phrase guide and self-custody guide.

What coins does the Trezor Safe 5 support?

Trezor says the Safe 5 manages “1000s of coins & tokens” in Trezor Suite. We have not counted that list. A Bitcoin-only edition of the Safe 5 is also sold.

How much is the Trezor Safe 5?

Trezor’s comparison page listed the Safe 5 at $129 on 14 October 2026. On the same date the Safe 3 was listed at $59 and the Safe 7 at $249. Prices change, so check the date before relying on the figure. The trade-offs on either side are in Trezor Safe 3 vs Safe 5 and Trezor Safe 5 vs Safe 7; for a comparison with Ledger, see Ledger vs Trezor.

What we could not verify

  • Battery. Trezor says the Safe 5 is powered over USB-C, but the pages we checked do not state outright that it has no battery.
  • microSD slot. Trezor lists the slot; our records do not say what it is used for.
  • Hardware design files. The Trezor security page we checked covers software only.
  • Country of manufacture. The source is a forum reply, not a product page.

Not verified on this sheet

0 of 16 rows empty

Every row has a value, but some values state a gap in their own wording.

Recorded with a stated gap

  • Battery Trezor's pages we checked do not list a battery9

Evidence base

Rows with a value
16 of 16
Sources cited
14
On trezor.io
13
Other domains
1
Sources checked
14 Oct 2026

Security history at a glance

Events recorded
3
First
Latest
Period
2024 to 2025

Security history

3 events recorded

Documented events involving this device or its maker, with the date and the source. An empty list means we found no documented event, not that none exists.

  1. Historical Trezor support-portal incident

    Unauthorized portal access enabled seed phishing. Trezor restricted access and warned affected users. This predates Safe 5.11

  2. Safe 3 research, explicit Safe 5 exclusion

    Trezor states Safe 5 was not affected by the reported Safe 3 supply-chain bypass because it uses a newer MCU.12

  3. Trezor support-form impersonation

    Attackers abused support replies for phishing. Trezor said the issue was contained and the phishing site removed.13

Compared with

4 side-by-side sheets

Sheets that set the Trezor Safe 5 beside other devices, one row per spec with differences marked.

  1. COLDCARD vs Trezor

    Against COLDCARD Q

    Rows that differ
    14 of 16
    Revised
  2. Ledger vs Trezor

    Against Ledger Nano S Plus, Ledger Nano X, Ledger Flex Same side Trezor Safe 3, Trezor Safe 7

    Rows that differ
    12 of 16
    Revised
  3. Trezor Safe 3 vs Safe 5

    Against Trezor Safe 3

    Rows that differ
    6 of 16
    Revised
  4. Trezor Safe 5 vs Safe 7

    Against Trezor Safe 7

    Rows that differ
    8 of 16
    Revised

Similar devices

4 from other makers

Featured devices from other makers that share a connection type or a listed-price band with the Trezor Safe 5. Outlines at one scale, this device first.

  • Trezor Safe 5

    This sheet · $129

  • Blockstream Jade Plus

    Also has a microSD or SD slot; same price band ($100 to $199), listed at $149 to $169.

  • Keystone 3 Pro

    Same price band ($100 to $199), listed at $149.

  • NTS
    Tangem Ring

    Same price band ($100 to $199), listed at $160.

  • ELLIPAL Titan 2.0

    Same price band ($100 to $199), listed at $169.

Front outlines at published sizes, one scale for all. A dashed outline marked NTS has no published size and is not to scale. Price bands: under $100, $100 to $199, $200 to $299, $300 and over, by the lowest listed price.

Also from Trezor

4 more datasheets

The maker's other featured devices, lowest listed price first: the feature stamps each one adds or lacks next to the Trezor Safe 5, and the fit-card answers that differ.

DeviceListed priceFeature stampsFit-card answers that differ
Trezor Safe 3$59
  • Lacks Touchscreen
  • Built-in battery: No (this sheet: Not stated)
Trezor Safe 7$249
  • Adds Bluetooth, Battery
  • Bluetooth or NFC: Yes (this sheet: No)
  • Built-in battery: Yes (this sheet: Not stated)
Trezor Model OneNot recorded
  • Lacks Touchscreen
  • Backup in shares: No (this sheet: Yes)
  • Built-in battery: No (this sheet: Not stated)
Trezor Model TNot recordedSame stamps
  • Built-in battery: No (this sheet: Not stated)

Pages that link here

11 pages

Other pages on this site that point readers to the Trezor Safe 5 datasheet.

Sources

14 reference documents
  1. 1 trezor.io/compare checked 14 Oct 2026
  2. 2 trezor.io/guides/trezor-devices/trezor-fundamentals/trezor-fundamentals checked 14 Oct 2026
  3. 3 trezor.io/trezor-safe-5 checked 14 Oct 2026
  4. 4 trezor.io/learn/security-privacy/how-trezor-keeps-you-safe/secure-elements-in-trezor-safe-devices checked 14 Oct 2026
  5. 5 trezor.io/guides/trezor-devices/trezor-safe-7/what-is-the-tropic-01-chip checked 14 Oct 2026
  6. 6 trezor.io/learn/security-privacy/how-trezor-keeps-you-safe/security-safety-in-trezor checked 14 Oct 2026
  7. 7 trezor.io/learn/supported-assets/bitcoin/multisig-wallets-how-multi-key-security-protects-your-bitcoin checked 14 Oct 2026
  8. 8 trezor.io/guides/backups-recovery/general-standards/slip39-faqs checked 14 Oct 2026
  9. 9 trezor.io/learn/security-privacy/how-trezor-keeps-you-safe/trezor-hardware-built-in-security checked 14 Oct 2026
  10. 10 forum.trezor.io/t/where-is-trevor-safe-3-manufactured/22077 checked 14 Oct 2026
  11. 11 forum.trezor.io/t/security-alert-update/15204
  12. 12 trezor.io/vulnerability/donjon-s-trezor-safe-3-evaluation
  13. 13 theblock.co/news/regulation/2025-06-23-trezor-phishing-scam-359172
  14. 14 trezor.io/learn/security-privacy/personal-security-standards/understanding-trezor-wallet-backups-12-20-or-24-words checked 14 Oct 2026