Chained Future Cold wallet datasheets

Datasheet · Coinkite · rev.

COLDCARD Mk5

Suits Bitcoin-only holders who want a compact keypad signer that works over microSD or NFC with compatible coordinator software of their choice; less suited to anyone who holds other coins, wants a guided phone app or needs to scan QR codes.

  • Bitcoin-only
  • NFC

Official page

Maker
Coinkite
Model
COLDCARD Mk5
Status
In production
Released
2026
Sources
10
Security events
3
Rows verified
16 of 16
Side-by-sides
0
Dwg no.
CF-COLDCARD-MK5
Last checked
FrontSide528710.31.54 in (NTS)110 mm · grid 5 mm

Fig. 1 COLDCARD Mk5: outline, front and side view. Dimensions in mm.

  1. 1. Screen

    1.54-inch monochrome LCD, Gorilla Glass3

Size and weight
87 × 52 × 10.3 mm with cover; approximately 55 g.8
Distinctive
Clear-case Bitcoin signer with two secure elements.4

Schematic, not a likeness. The outline is drawn to the published size; where the screen sits, and any buttons or ports, are not drawn. Dashed window: the maker does not publish enough to draw the screen to scale. Published size is with cover.

Key parameters

Price
$219 Maker's shop, checked 14 Oct 20261
Screen
1.54 in · LCD3
Connectivity
USB-C, NFC, microSD4
Secure element
Microchip ATECC608 and Maxim DS28C36B4
Open-source firmware
Source available under MIT plus Commons Clause; not unrestricted open source.5
Backup format
24-word BIP39 seed; other options not exhaustively verified4
Recovery on other wallets
BIP39-compatible 24-word seed; compatible-wallet recovery.4

COLDCARD Mk5 in six answers

Fit card · checked 14 Oct 2026

Six plain questions, each answered from one row of the spec sheet. The line under every answer is the recorded value and its source. Unknown means the sources we checked do not settle it.

  1. Its own screen

    Check the amount and address on the wallet itself.

    Yes

    Display 1.54-inch monochrome LCD, Gorilla Glass3

  2. Bluetooth or NFC

    A radio link in the maker's list of connections.

    Yes

    Connectivity USB-C, NFC, microSD4

  3. QR or air-gapped signing

    Can sign with no cable or radio link to the online device.

    No

    Connectivity USB-C, NFC, microSD4

  4. Open-source firmware

    The code it runs is published for anyone to read.

    Partly

    Open-source firmware Source available under MIT plus Commons Clause; not unrestricted open source.5

  5. Backup in shares

    Split the backup into shares; a set number of them restores the wallet.

    Yes

    Shamir / SLIP-39 backup Codex32 Shamir sharing supported; native SLIP39 support not established.7

  6. Built-in battery

    A battery inside, to charge or replace.

    No

    Battery No internal battery; USB-C power required.3

Tally: 3 yes, 1 partly, 2 no, 0 unknown

Coins and features

Support data · checked

What Coinkite documents for the COLDCARD Mk5, one status per coin or feature, each with its source. A linked name opens the sheet that sets every wallet side by side on it.

Coins

  • Bitcoin Third-party srcBitcoin-only device with no companion app of its own: COLDCARD lists Sparrow, Electrum, Nunchuk, BlueWallet and Bitcoin Core among compatible wallets.
  • Ethereum Not supported srcBitcoin-only device: COLDCARD does not support altcoins.
  • Solana Not supported srcBitcoin-only device: COLDCARD does not support altcoins.
  • XRP Not supported srcBitcoin-only firmware. Source states last updated: June 2026.

Features

  • Multisig Yes srcBitcoin multisig via Electrum; PSBT workflows documented. Source date: not stated.
  • Passphrase Yes srcBIP39 passphrase for seed-word wallets. Codex32 MS1 secrets have different rules. Source date: not stated.
  • Bluetooth No srcNo Bluetooth radio. Source states last updated: June 2026.
  • SLIP-39 Shamir backup Not documented srcNo SLIP-39 statement found. COLDCARD offers Codex32 (BIP-93) Shamir shares from Mk5 firmware 5.6.3, a different standard.
  • BIP39 recovery phrase Yes srcCreates 12 or 24 BIP39 words; imports 12, 18 or 24.
  • Open-source firmware Partial srcSource-available: github.com/Coldcard/firmware under MIT plus Commons Clause, which bars selling the software, so not an open-source licence.

Notes: design and recovery

  1. Distinctive design

    What the maker's pages single out about this device.

    Clear-case Bitcoin signer with two secure elements.4

    Source wording dual secure elements, a Gorilla Glass screen Checked 14 Oct 2026

  2. Seed portability

    Whether its backup restores on a wallet from another maker.

    BIP39-compatible 24-word seed; compatible-wallet recovery.4

    Source wording the 24-word seed phrase for your BIP-39 wallet. Checked 14 Oct 2026

Price position

At $219 it ranks 15th lowest of the 21 featured devices with a US dollar price on our sheets.

Lowest
$54.90
Median
$149
Highest
$399
All 21 listed prices
  1. Tangem Wallet $54.90 for 2 cards, $69.90 for 3 cards
  2. Trezor Safe 3 $59
  3. Arculus Cold Storage Wallet $59.76
  4. KeepKey $59.95
  5. Ledger Nano S Plus $69
  6. SafePal X1 $69.99
  7. SafePal S1 Pro $89.99
  8. Ledger Nano X $99
  9. Trezor Safe 5 $129
  10. Blockstream Jade Plus $149 to $169
  11. Keystone 3 Pro $149
  12. Tangem Ring $160
  13. ELLIPAL Titan 2.0 $169
  14. Ledger Nano Gen5 $179
  15. COLDCARD Mk5 (this sheet) $219
  16. Ledger Flex $249
  17. Trezor Safe 7 $249
  18. OneKey Pro $278
  19. COLDCARD Q $319
  20. Foundation Passport Prime $349
  21. Ledger Stax $399

Listed prices at each maker's own shop, in US dollars. Checked between 14 Oct 2026 and 15 Oct 2026. Shops change prices, bundles and regional offers often; open the source before buying. 5 featured devices have no US dollar price recorded and are left off the scale.

Note

How this page was made: a documentation-led review. Every specification comes from Coinkite's own pages or published research and links to its source; we have not used this device hands-on for this page. Last checked 14 Oct 2026. Method.

The COLDCARD Mk5 is a Bitcoin-only signing device from Coinkite, which says its devices are designed and assembled in Canada. Coinkite introduced it on 10 March 2026. It has a numeric keypad, a 1.54-inch screen behind Gorilla Glass, two secure elements and three ways to move data: USB-C, NFC and a microSD slot. It was listed at $219, marked down from $269, on Coinkite’s store on 14 October 2026. This page is built from Coinkite’s documentation and advisories; we have not used the device.

Who is the COLDCARD Mk5 for?

It is built for people who hold only bitcoin and already know which wallet software they want. Coinkite’s product page says there is “No COLDCARD account or required companion app”, and its setup guide walks through Sparrow Wallet as the coordinator (the program that tracks balances and builds transactions). The Mk5 supports BIP-39 passphrases and multisig wallets.

It is a weaker fit if you:

  • hold coins other than bitcoin, since Coinkite describes itself as a Bitcoin-only company;
  • want a maker app that guides setup and shows balances;
  • want to sign by QR code: the setup guide says the Mk5 can show QR codes but “has no camera”, so it cannot scan them (the COLDCARD Q has one);
  • want a battery: the guide says the Mk5 “has no internal battery” and needs USB-C power the whole time it is on.

What changed from the COLDCARD Mk4?

The changes are hardware. Coinkite’s Mk5 vs Mk4 page lists a new 1.54-inch screen, a redesigned keypad, a USB-C port moved to the bottom edge, faster and more reliable NFC with the tap point in the top-right corner, and a tougher case. The launch announcement adds a choice of colours. The Mk5 vs Mk4 page says the Mk5 “runs exactly the same firmware image as Mk4”, with the same pair of secure elements.

Coinkite’s spec sheet gives the Mk5 as 87 x 52 x 10.3 mm with its cover on and approximately 55 g, against 88 x 52 x 10 mm and about 30 g for the Mk4.

Is the COLDCARD Mk5 air-gapped?

It can be used without a data cable. The setup guide recommends a microSD card as the signing method, and Coinkite’s microSD signing guide describes the round trip: the coordinator saves an unsigned transaction in the PSBT format (BIP-174) to the card, you move the card to the Mk5 for review and signing, and the Mk5 writes the signed PSBT back to the card for the coordinator to load and broadcast. Coinkite’s NFC guide, which covers the Mk5 and the Q, describes a tap link of about 4 centimetres and says “NFC is disabled by default”. Power still comes over USB-C. Our air-gapped wallets guide covers the trade-offs.

Does the COLDCARD Mk5 have a secure element?

Two, from different vendors: a Microchip ATECC608 and a Maxim DS28C36B, which Coinkite says protect the master secret. The product page also describes firmware signatures checked at boot, shown by a green or red light, and a clear case meant to make physical implants visible. The setup guide’s two-part PIN shows anti-phishing words after the first half, and 13 wrong attempts permanently brick the device; “there is no way to recover a forgotten PIN”. Trick PINs include a duress PIN and a “Brick Me” PIN that destroys the secure elements. Our records include no security certification level for either chip.

Is COLDCARD open source?

The firmware source is public on GitHub under MIT plus the Commons Clause, which withholds the right to sell the software. The Open Source Definition does not allow that restriction, so the code is source-available: anyone can read and audit it, but the licence limits commercial reuse. COLDCARD vs Trezor compares Trezor’s approach.

How do you back up a COLDCARD Mk5?

The setup guide offers a 12- or 24-word BIP-39 seed, and requires your own randomness first: at least 65 key presses with unpredictable timing, 50 fair physical dice rolls or 128 physical coin flips. BIP-39 words restore in other compatible wallets. An optional passphrase creates a separate wallet from the same words; lose the passphrase and you lose that wallet.

From firmware 5.6.3, Coinkite’s codex32 page lists the Mk5 among models that can generate and import codex32 secrets and Shamir shares. Codex32 (BIP-93) is not SLIP-39, and we found no native SLIP-39 support documented for the Mk5. The product page also lists encrypted backups, Seed XOR and BIP-85. Our seed phrase guide compares the formats.

What happened with the COLDCARD seed-generation bug?

On 30 July 2026 Coinkite published an advisory stating that a firmware bug weakened seed generation on several COLDCARD models and that attackers regenerated private keys from weak seeds offline and stole funds; the devices were not remotely accessed. On the Mk5, seeds generated before standard firmware 5.6.0, or Edge firmware 6.6.0X, are affected; the advisory puts Mk4 and Mk5 seeds from those releases at about 72 bits of entropy rather than the expected 128. Seeds made with at least 50 fair, independent dice rolls that were never recorded or exposed are not considered at risk from this issue alone.

What Coinkite tells owners:

  • Updating firmware does not repair an existing seed. Update, create a new seed on fixed firmware, verify the backup, send a small test, then move the rest.
  • A strong, unique BIP-39 passphrase reduces the immediate exposure but does not repair the affected seed; passphrase users should also migrate.
  • Keep the old backup until the move is confirmed.

Coinkite’s security status page, revised on 1 October 2026, lists 5.6.3 as the current standard release for the Mk4 and Mk5. The setup guide tells new owners to check that page and install the recommended firmware before creating or importing a seed.

What we could not verify

  • The screen’s resolution. Coinkite’s setup guide identifies the display as a monochrome LCD but gives no pixel count.
  • A certification level for either secure element.
  • Which firmware version new units ship with.
  • Which mobile wallets support NFC signing; Coinkite’s guide names only Nunchuk.
  • How the July 2026 losses split by model.

How we source these facts: methodology.

Not verified on this sheet

0 of 16 rows empty

Every row has a value, but some values state a gap in their own wording.

Recorded with a stated gap

  • Shamir / SLIP-39 backup Native SLIP39 support not established7

Evidence base

Rows with a value
16 of 16
Sources cited
10
On coldcard.com
6
Other domains
4
Sources checked
14 Oct 2026

Security history at a glance

Events recorded
3
First
Latest
Period
2026

Security history

3 events recorded

Documented events involving this device or its maker, with the date and the source. An empty list means we found no documented event, not that none exists.

  1. Coinkite published a seed-generation advisory covering affected Mk2/3/4/5 and Q firmware. Updating firmware alone does not repair an existing affected seed.9

  2. Mk5 and other COLDCARD models; affected seed-generation firmware

    Vendor disclosed reduced seed entropy and offline exploitation. Mk5 is included before standard 5.6.0 or Edge 6.6.0X. Updating alone does not repair an old seed. Migration guidance includes a qualified independent-dice exception.9

  3. Current Mk4/Mk5 security status and affected seed generation

    Vendor warns that affected historical firmware can require seed migration, not just an update. Current recommended standard release is 5.6.3; minimum fixed standard version is 5.6.0.10

Compared with

0 side-by-side sheets

No side-by-side sheet includes the COLDCARD Mk5 yet. The comparisons page lists every sheet we have.

Similar devices

4 from other makers

Featured devices from other makers that share a connection type or a listed-price band with the COLDCARD Mk5. Outlines at one scale, this device first.

  • COLDCARD Mk5

    This sheet · $219

  • Ledger Flex

    Also has NFC; same price band ($200 to $299), listed at $249.

  • OneKey Pro

    Also has NFC; same price band ($200 to $299), listed at $278.

  • Trezor Safe 7

    Same price band ($200 to $299), listed at $249.

  • Ledger Nano Gen5

    Also has NFC; listed at $179.

Front outlines at published sizes, one scale for all. Price bands: under $100, $100 to $199, $200 to $299, $300 and over, by the lowest listed price.

Also from Coinkite

1 more datasheet

The maker's other featured devices, lowest listed price first: the feature stamps each one adds or lacks next to the COLDCARD Mk5, and the fit-card answers that differ.

DeviceListed priceFeature stampsFit-card answers that differ
COLDCARD Q$319
  • Adds QR / air-gapped
  • QR or air-gapped signing: Yes (this sheet: No)
  • Built-in battery: AAA cells (this sheet: No)

Pages that link here

2 pages

Other pages on this site that point readers to the COLDCARD Mk5 datasheet.

Sources

10 reference documents
  1. 1 store.coinkite.com/store checked 14 Oct 2026
  2. 2 blog.coinkite.com/coldcard-mk5-launch checked 14 Oct 2026
  3. 3 coldcard.com/guides/setup/coldcard-mk5-setup checked 14 Oct 2026
  4. 4 coldcard.com/mk5 checked 14 Oct 2026
  5. 5 github.com/Coldcard/firmware/blob/master/COPYING-CC checked 14 Oct 2026
  6. 6 coldcard.com/about checked 14 Oct 2026
  7. 7 coldcard.com/docs/codex32 checked 14 Oct 2026
  8. 8 coldcard.com/docs/specs checked 14 Oct 2026
  9. 9 blog.coinkite.com/coldcard-mk3-seed-generation-warning
  10. 10 coldcard.com/security/status