Chained Future Cold wallet datasheets

Datasheet · Ledger · rev.

Ledger Nano S Plus

Suits people who sign at a computer or Android phone over a cable and want Ledger Wallet's coin range without a battery or a Bluetooth radio.

Official page

Maker
Ledger
Model
Nano S Plus
Status
In production
Released
2022
Sources
12
Security events
5
Rows verified
14 of 16
Side-by-sides
3
Dwg no.
CF-LEDGER-NANO-S-PLUS
Last checked
FrontSide62.417.48.21.1 in110 mm · grid 5 mm

Fig. 1 Ledger Nano S Plus: outline, front and side view. Dimensions in mm.

  1. 1. Screen

    Monochrome OLED, 1.1 inches, 128 x 64, non-touch3

Size and weight
62.4 x 17.4 x 8.2 mm; 21 g3
Distinctive
USB-connected, battery-free signer for desktop and Android.4

Schematic, not a likeness. The outline is drawn to the published size and the screen window to the published diagonal and resolution; where the screen sits, and any buttons or ports, are not drawn.

Key parameters

Price
$69 Maker's shop, checked 14 Oct 20261
Screen
1.1 in · OLED 128 × 64 px3
Connectivity
USB-C4
Secure element
ST33K1M54
Open-source firmware
Partial5
Backup format
24-word recovery phrase; optional services/cards vary by model6
Recovery on other wallets
Accounts can be recovered on other hardware or software wallets that support the same standards (BIP32/BIP39/BIP44). Asset and derivation-path compatibility still matters.12

Ledger Nano S Plus in six answers

Fit card · checked 14 Oct 2026

Six plain questions, each answered from one row of the spec sheet. The line under every answer is the recorded value and its source. Unknown means the sources we checked do not settle it.

  1. Its own screen

    Check the amount and address on the wallet itself.

    Yes

    Display Monochrome OLED, 1.1 inches, 128 x 64, non-touch3

  2. Bluetooth or NFC

    A radio link in the maker's list of connections.

    No

    Connectivity USB-C4

  3. QR or air-gapped signing

    Can sign with no cable or radio link to the online device.

    No

    Connectivity USB-C4

  4. Open-source firmware

    The code it runs is published for anyone to read.

    Partly

    Open-source firmware Partial5

  5. Backup in shares

    Split the backup into shares; a set number of them restores the wallet.

    Unknown

    Shamir / SLIP-39 backup Not verified

  6. Built-in battery

    A battery inside, to charge or replace.

    No

    Battery No battery3

Tally: 1 yes, 1 partly, 3 no, 1 unknown

Coins and features

Support data · checked

What Ledger documents for the Ledger Nano S Plus, one status per coin or feature, each with its source. A linked name opens the sheet that sets every wallet side by side on it.

Coins

  • Bitcoin Native srcIn Ledger Wallet (formerly Ledger Live). No Bitcoin-only edition found.
  • Ethereum Native srcIn Ledger Wallet.
  • Solana Native srcIn Ledger Wallet.
  • XRP Native srcXRP in Ledger Wallet, formerly Ledger Live. Source date: not stated.

Features

  • Multisig Yes srcBitcoin via Sparrow. Source is maker-wide guidance. Source updated: 2025-08-29.
  • Passphrase Yes srcOptional recovery-phrase extension creates a hidden wallet. Source updated: 2026-10-05.
  • Bluetooth No srcUSB-only model. Source date: not stated.
  • SLIP-39 Shamir backup Not documented srcNo Ledger statement on SLIP-39 found. Ledger Recover (optional, paid) splits an encrypted copy of the seed among three companies; that is not a SLIP-39 backup.
  • BIP39 recovery phrase Yes srcThe device creates a 24-word BIP39 recovery phrase.
  • Open-source firmware Partial srcApps, SDK and crypto libraries are public; the low-level secure element OS stays closed under the chip vendor NDA.

Notes: design and recovery

  1. Distinctive design

    What the maker's pages single out about this device.

    USB-connected, battery-free signer for desktop and Android.4

    Source wording built-in USB-C and battery-free connection Checked 14 Oct 2026

  2. Seed portability

    Whether its backup restores on a wallet from another maker.

    Accounts can be recovered on other hardware or software wallets that support the same standards (BIP32/BIP39/BIP44). Asset and derivation-path compatibility still matters.12

    Source wording supports the same standards as Ledger (BIP32/BIP39/BIP44) Checked 14 Oct 2026

Price position

At $69 it ranks 5th lowest of the 21 featured devices with a US dollar price on our sheets.

Lowest
$54.90
Median
$149
Highest
$399
All 21 listed prices
  1. Tangem Wallet $54.90 for 2 cards, $69.90 for 3 cards
  2. Trezor Safe 3 $59
  3. Arculus Cold Storage Wallet $59.76
  4. KeepKey $59.95
  5. Ledger Nano S Plus (this sheet) $69
  6. SafePal X1 $69.99
  7. SafePal S1 Pro $89.99
  8. Ledger Nano X $99
  9. Trezor Safe 5 $129
  10. Blockstream Jade Plus $149 to $169
  11. Keystone 3 Pro $149
  12. Tangem Ring $160
  13. ELLIPAL Titan 2.0 $169
  14. Ledger Nano Gen5 $179
  15. COLDCARD Mk5 $219
  16. Ledger Flex $249
  17. Trezor Safe 7 $249
  18. OneKey Pro $278
  19. COLDCARD Q $319
  20. Foundation Passport Prime $349
  21. Ledger Stax $399

Listed prices at each maker's own shop, in US dollars. Checked between 14 Oct 2026 and 15 Oct 2026. Shops change prices, bundles and regional offers often; open the source before buying. 5 featured devices have no US dollar price recorded and are left off the scale.

Note

How this page was made: a documentation-led review. Every specification comes from Ledger's own pages or published research and links to its source; we have not used this device hands-on for this page. Last checked 14 Oct 2026. Method.

The Ledger Nano S Plus is a cable-only hardware wallet: it connects over USB-C, has no battery and no Bluetooth, and keeps its private keys in an ST33K1M5 secure element. Ledger released it in 2022 (its review of that year says the device shipped in April) and positions it as a signer for desktop and Android, used with its Ledger Wallet app. On 14 October 2026 it was listed at $69 on Ledger’s online shop, the lowest listed price of the three Nano models in our database on that date.

Who is the Ledger Nano S Plus for?

It fits people who:

  • sign transactions at a computer, or on an Android phone with a cable, and do not need a wireless link;
  • want the coin range of Ledger Wallet (Ledger lists 500+ coins) plus third-party wallets;
  • prefer a device with nothing to charge.

It fits fewer people who:

  • want to sign from a phone without a cable: the Nano S Plus lists USB-C only, while the Nano X and Nano Gen5 add Bluetooth;
  • want firmware that is open source down to the chip level, since Ledger keeps part of its secure element code closed (see below);
  • want a Shamir (SLIP-39) split backup, which Ledger’s pages we checked do not document for this model (the Trezor Safe 3 lists SLIP-39 multi-share backup);
  • want a larger screen for checking long addresses and contract details.

The cable-versus-Bluetooth trade-off is laid out in Ledger Nano X vs Nano S Plus.

What is the Ledger Nano S Plus like to use?

The display is a 1.1-inch monochrome OLED at 128 x 64 pixels, and it is not a touchscreen. Ledger’s own model comparison describes the S Plus and Nano X as screen plus buttons, so every confirmation happens with button presses on that small screen. The body measures 62.4 x 17.4 x 8.2 mm and weighs 21 g, according to Ledger’s comparison page. With no battery, it runs on power from the USB-C cable.

Is the Ledger Nano S Plus secure?

Ledger says its devices store private keys offline in a secure element; on the Nano S Plus that chip is an ST33K1M5 with CC EAL6+ certification, according to its product page. The computer or phone sends the transaction details over the cable, and the device shows them on its screen and asks you to sign. That check is limited by what the screen can show: Ledger’s model comparison rates Clear Signing on the Nano S Plus as “Partial (supported via Ledger Wallet)”, and Ledger defines blind signing as approving a transaction without being able to verify its full details. Approving on the device does not by itself make a transaction safe. Our cold wallet guide explains the model, and Is Ledger safe? covers the brand’s record.

Is the Ledger Nano S Plus open source?

Partly. Ledger says its operating system and software are “95% OpenSource and/or available” for review. The closed part is the low-level code that talks to the secure element’s hardware blocks, which Ledger says its agreement with STMicroelectronics prevents it from publishing. Ledger Wallet and the device apps can be read; the lowest firmware layer cannot, so trust there rests on Ledger and the chip maker. Ledger vs Trezor compares a different approach.

How do you back up and restore a Ledger Nano S Plus?

At setup the device creates a 24-word recovery phrase. Ledger’s support documentation says accounts generated by a Ledger device can be recovered on any hardware or software wallet that supports the same standards as Ledger (BIP32, BIP39 and BIP44). Every account appears only if that wallet supports the same coins and derivation paths. See our seed phrase guide.

Other options Ledger documents:

  • Passphrase. Ledger says all its devices offer a passphrase. It opens a separate set of accounts, can be tied to a second PIN, and cannot be recovered if forgotten.
  • SLIP-39. Ledger’s pages we checked do not state native support. SLIP-39 splits a secret into shares with a threshold, and its authors say it is for the most part not compatible with BIP39.
  • Ledger Recover. Ledger describes Recover as a paid optional subscription and names the Nano S Plus as supported. The device encrypts a copy of the seed and splits it into three fragments held by Coincover, Ledger and Escrowtech; restoring requires identity checks. After criticism of the May 2023 announcement, Ledger delayed the service and sped up open-sourcing work. The 24-word phrase works without it.
  • Multisig. Ledger documents Bitcoin multisig through its Bitcoin app and compatible coordinator software.

What coins does the Ledger Nano S Plus support?

Ledger lists 500+ coins through Ledger Wallet and says thousands more are reachable through third-party wallets. We found no Bitcoin-only edition of this model on Ledger’s pages. By contrast, the Coldcard Q is sold as a Bitcoin-only product and the Trezor Safe 3 has a Bitcoin-only edition (Coldcard vs Trezor).

How much does the Ledger Nano S Plus cost?

It was listed at $69 on Ledger’s online shop on 14 October 2026. On the same date Ledger listed the Nano X at $99 and the Nano Gen5 at $179. These are dated snapshots. Ledger’s model comparison article, updated 12 March 2026, still shows $59 for the Nano S Plus.

Has the Ledger Nano S Plus been hacked?

The events we recorded for this model are all at brand level, and none of them is an extraction of a seed from a Nano S Plus:

  • June 2020: Ledger’s e-commerce and marketing database was accessed, exposing customer contact and order details. Ledger fixed the breach; a larger leaked dataset became public that December.
  • May 2023: the Ledger Recover controversy, described above.
  • 14 December 2023: a compromised npm account published malicious releases of Ledger Connect Kit, a library used by third-party apps. Ledger replaced it with a genuine version.
  • January 2026: customer order and contact data was exposed through Global-e; customers were warned about phishing.

The dated list with sources is below the article.

What we could not verify

  • Bitcoin-only edition: not found on the Ledger pages we checked.
  • Native SLIP-39 backup: Ledger’s pages we checked do not state it.
  • Country of manufacture: Ledger’s comparison page gives its Paris company address, not where the device is assembled.

Not verified on this sheet

2 of 16 rows empty

No value recorded

  • Bitcoin-only edition Not verified
  • Shamir / SLIP-39 backup Not verified

Evidence base

Rows with a value
14 of 16
Sources cited
12
On ledger.com
11
Other domains
1
Sources checked
14 Oct 2026

Security history at a glance

Events recorded
5
First
Latest
Period
2020 to 2026

Security history

5 events recorded

Documented events involving this device or its maker, with the date and the source. An empty list means we found no documented event, not that none exists.

  1. Ledger customer database, brand-level context

    Customer contact and order data were accessed. Ledger patched the breach; the larger leaked dataset became public in December 2020.8

  2. brand

    Ledger disclosed an e-commerce and marketing customer-data breach. This is a brand-level privacy incident.8

  3. Ledger Recover controversy, brand-level context

    Following customer criticism, Ledger announced accelerated open sourcing and delayed Recover pending that work. The service was described as optional.9

  4. Ledger Connect Kit and integrating third-party DApps

    A compromised npm account distributed malicious Connect Kit releases. Ledger deployed a genuine replacement. This was not a hardware seed-extraction incident.10

  5. Global-e customer-order data, brand-level context

    Ledger customer contact and order information was exposed through Global-e. Customers were notified and warned about phishing.11

Compared with

3 side-by-side sheets

Sheets that set the Ledger Nano S Plus beside other devices, one row per spec with differences marked.

  1. Ledger Nano X vs Nano S Plus

    Against Ledger Nano X

    Rows that differ
    6 of 16
    Revised
  2. Ledger vs Trezor

    Against Trezor Safe 3, Trezor Safe 5, Trezor Safe 7 Same side Ledger Nano X, Ledger Flex

    Rows that differ
    12 of 16
    Revised
  3. Tangem vs Ledger

    Against Tangem Wallet Same side Ledger Nano X

    Rows that differ
    11 of 16
    Revised

Similar devices

4 from other makers

Featured devices from other makers that share a connection type or a listed-price band with the Ledger Nano S Plus. Outlines at one scale, this device first.

  • Ledger Nano S Plus

    This sheet · $69

  • NTS
    KeepKey

    Also connects by cable only (USB); same price band (under $100), listed at $59.95.

  • Trezor Safe 3

    Also connects by cable only (USB); same price band (under $100), listed at $59.

  • NTS
    SafePal X1

    Same price band (under $100), listed at $69.99.

  • NTS
    Arculus Cold Storage Wallet

    Same price band (under $100), listed at $59.76.

Front outlines at published sizes, one scale for all. A dashed outline marked NTS has no published size and is not to scale. Price bands: under $100, $100 to $199, $200 to $299, $300 and over, by the lowest listed price.

Also from Ledger

4 more datasheets

The maker's other featured devices, lowest listed price first: the feature stamps each one adds or lacks next to the Ledger Nano S Plus, and the fit-card answers that differ.

DeviceListed priceFeature stampsFit-card answers that differ
Ledger Nano X$99
  • Adds Bluetooth, Battery
  • Bluetooth or NFC: Yes (this sheet: No)
  • Built-in battery: Yes (this sheet: No)
Ledger Nano Gen5$179
  • Adds Bluetooth, NFC, Battery, Touchscreen
  • Bluetooth or NFC: Yes (this sheet: No)
  • Built-in battery: Yes (this sheet: No)
Ledger Flex$249
  • Adds Bluetooth, NFC, Battery, Touchscreen
  • Bluetooth or NFC: Yes (this sheet: No)
  • Built-in battery: Yes (this sheet: No)
Ledger Stax$399
  • Adds Bluetooth, NFC, Battery, Touchscreen
  • Bluetooth or NFC: Yes (this sheet: No)
  • Built-in battery: Yes (this sheet: No)

Pages that link here

11 pages

Other pages on this site that point readers to the Ledger Nano S Plus datasheet.

Sources

12 reference documents
  1. 1 shop.ledger.com/products/ledger-nano-s-plus checked 14 Oct 2026
  2. 2 ledger.com/blog/ledger-in-2022-releases-collabs-next-gen-consumer-devices checked 14 Oct 2026
  3. 3 shop.ledger.com/pages/hardware-wallets-comparison checked 14 Oct 2026
  4. 4 shop.ledger.com/products/ledger-nano-s-plus/matte-black checked 14 Oct 2026
  5. 5 ledger.com/blog-ledger-is-95-opensource-why-not-100 checked 14 Oct 2026
  6. 6 ledger.com/ledger-101-part-4-advanced-security-principles checked 14 Oct 2026
  7. 7 ledger.com/blog/building-a-best-in-class-hardware-bitcoin-multisig checked 14 Oct 2026
  8. 8 ledger.com/addressing-the-july-2020-e-commerce-and-marketing-data-breach
  9. 9 ledger.com/blog/ledger-recover-a-message-from-pascal-gauthier-chairman-ceo-at-ledger
  10. 10 ledger.com/blog/security-incident-report
  11. 11 theregister.com/security/2026/01/06/ledger-confirms-customer-data-lifted-after-global-e-snafu/2443622
  12. 12 support.ledger.com/article/4404388633489-zd checked 14 Oct 2026