Chained Future Cold wallet datasheets

Datasheet · Block · rev.

Block Bitkey

Suits bitcoin holders who would rather recover through a phone, a fingerprint-locked device and a recovery key held by Block than guard a written seed phrase; less suited to anyone who wants a standard seed backup, other coins or a setup with no company-held key.

  • Open-source firmware
  • Bitcoin-only
  • NFC
  • Battery
  • Touchscreen

Official page

Maker
Block
Model
Bitkey
Status
In production
Released
2026
Sources
6
Security events
4
Rows verified
12 of 16
Side-by-sides
0
Dwg no.
CF-BLOCK-BITKEY
Last checked
FrontSide606613.6110 mm · grid 5 mm

Fig. 1 Block Bitkey: outline, front and side view. Dimensions in mm.

  1. 1. Screen

    OLED touchscreen; size not verified1

Size and weight
66 x 60 x 13.6 mm; 79 g1
Distinctive
OLED touchscreen plus fingerprint authentication in a 2-of-3 multisig system.1

Schematic, not a likeness. The outline is drawn to the published size; where the screen sits, and any buttons or ports, are not drawn. Dashed window: the maker does not publish enough to draw the screen to scale.

Key parameters

Price
€230 Maker's shop, checked 14 Oct 20261
Screen
OLED · touch1
Connectivity
NFC, USB-C charging1
Secure element
Not verified
Open-source firmware
Yes3
Backup format
Seedless, three-key recovery system4
Recovery on other wallets
No BIP39 seed phrase. Uses three separate keys and Bitkey recovery/exit tooling.1

Block Bitkey in six answers

Fit card · checked 14 Oct 2026

Six plain questions, each answered from one row of the spec sheet. The line under every answer is the recorded value and its source. Unknown means the sources we checked do not settle it.

  1. Its own screen

    Check the amount and address on the wallet itself.

    Yes

    Display OLED touchscreen; size not verified1

  2. Bluetooth or NFC

    A radio link in the maker's list of connections.

    Yes

    Connectivity NFC, USB-C charging1

  3. QR or air-gapped signing

    Can sign with no cable or radio link to the online device.

    No

    Connectivity NFC, USB-C charging1

  4. Open-source firmware

    The code it runs is published for anyone to read.

    Yes

    Open-source firmware Yes3

  5. Backup in shares

    Split the backup into shares; a set number of them restores the wallet.

    Unknown

    Shamir / SLIP-39 backup Not verified

  6. Built-in battery

    A battery inside, to charge or replace.

    Yes

    Battery Up to one year on a single charge1

Tally: 4 yes, 0 partly, 1 no, 1 unknown

Coins and features

Support data · checked

What Block documents for the Block Bitkey, one status per coin or feature, each with its source. A linked name opens the sheet that sets every wallet side by side on it.

Coins

  • Bitcoin Native srcIn the Bitkey app. Bitcoin-only, 2-of-3 multisig wallet.
  • Ethereum Not supported srcBitcoin-only device.
  • Solana Not supported srcBitcoin-only device.
  • XRP Not supported srcCurrent screen device is Bitcoin-only. Source date: not stated.

Features

  • Multisig Yes srcIntegrated 2-of-3 coordinator: hardware, app and Bitkey server keys. Source date: not stated.
  • Passphrase Not documented srcNo BIP39 extension or equivalent user-defined seed passphrase documented. Seed-free recovery is explicit. Source date: not stated.
  • Bluetooth Not documented srcNFC and USB-C charging listed. Explicit Bluetooth support or non-support statement not found. Source date: not stated.
  • SLIP-39 Shamir backup No srcSeedless: three multisig keys replace a recovery phrase, so there are no SLIP-39 shares.
  • BIP39 recovery phrase No srcSeedless 2-of-3 multisig recovery; no recovery phrase to write down.
  • Open-source firmware Partial srcFirmware published at github.com/proto-at-block/bitkey, except a proprietary fingerprint-matching library.

Notes: design and recovery

  1. Distinctive design

    What the maker's pages single out about this device.

    OLED touchscreen plus fingerprint authentication in a 2-of-3 multisig system.1

    Source wording OLED touchscreen display Checked 14 Oct 2026

  2. Seed portability

    Whether its backup restores on a wallet from another maker.

    No BIP39 seed phrase. Uses three separate keys and Bitkey recovery/exit tooling.1

    Source wording This wallet does not use a seed phrase. Checked 14 Oct 2026

Price position

Listed as €230, which we cannot place on a US dollar range.

Lowest
$54.90
Median
$149
Highest
$399
All 21 listed prices
  1. Tangem Wallet $54.90 for 2 cards, $69.90 for 3 cards
  2. Trezor Safe 3 $59
  3. Arculus Cold Storage Wallet $59.76
  4. KeepKey $59.95
  5. Ledger Nano S Plus $69
  6. SafePal X1 $69.99
  7. SafePal S1 Pro $89.99
  8. Ledger Nano X $99
  9. Trezor Safe 5 $129
  10. Blockstream Jade Plus $149 to $169
  11. Keystone 3 Pro $149
  12. Tangem Ring $160
  13. ELLIPAL Titan 2.0 $169
  14. Ledger Nano Gen5 $179
  15. COLDCARD Mk5 $219
  16. Ledger Flex $249
  17. Trezor Safe 7 $249
  18. OneKey Pro $278
  19. COLDCARD Q $319
  20. Foundation Passport Prime $349
  21. Ledger Stax $399

Listed prices at each maker's own shop, in US dollars. Checked between 14 Oct 2026 and 15 Oct 2026. Shops change prices, bundles and regional offers often; open the source before buying. 5 featured devices have no US dollar price recorded and are left off the scale.

Note

How this page was made: a documentation-led review. Every specification comes from Block's own pages or published research and links to its source; we have not used this device hands-on for this page. Last checked 14 Oct 2026. Method.

Bitkey is Block’s Bitcoin-only self-custody wallet. It combines a hexagonal hardware device with an OLED touchscreen and fingerprint sensor, the Bitkey phone app and a key held on Block’s servers into a 2-of-3 multisig wallet with no seed phrase. This page covers the current screen model, which Block introduced on 27 April 2026, not the first-generation device. Bitkey’s product page showed €230 when our dataset was checked on 14 October 2026; we have no US dollar listing on record. This page is built from Block’s documentation and disclosures; we have not used the device.

How does Bitkey work without a seed phrase?

The wallet has three keys, and any two of them approve a transaction or a change to security settings. Block’s product page describes them:

  • Hardware key: “generated and stored completely offline in a secure enclave”, and enabled only by your fingerprint.
  • App key: stored in the Bitkey app, with an encrypted backup copy in your personal cloud account.
  • Server key: held by Block for recovery, in what Block calls an AWS Nitro Enclave.

Block says on its home page that it “cannot access or move your Bitcoin”, because one key alone cannot authorise a transaction. A single-signature wallet is backed up by its seed phrase, which BIP-39 lets you protect with a separate optional passphrase; Bitkey instead spreads signing across three keys in three places, one of them a company. That changes what you look after: a phone, a cloud account and a fingerprint-locked device, with Block’s server key as the third leg, rather than a sheet of words. Our self-custody guide covers the wider trade-off, and the Tangem Wallet shows a different seedless design built on backup cards.

What happens if you lose your phone or your Bitkey?

Block’s product page lists three cases:

  • Lost phone: use the Bitkey device to decrypt the app-key backup in your cloud account.
  • Lost Bitkey: get a new device and recover with the app on your phone.
  • Lost both: Block points to its Recovery Contacts feature.

The product page also lists integrated inheritance, and its FAQ says you “can move your Bitcoin without the company” because you hold two of the three keys. Our dataset describes that route as relying on Bitkey’s recovery and exit tooling. We have not confirmed how it works on the screen model without the Bitkey app.

What is the Bitkey hardware like?

The product page lists an OLED touchscreen, a fingerprint sensor and a shell of Corian solid surface, at 66 x 60 x 13.6 mm and 79 g. The device talks to your phone over NFC and charges by USB-C, and Block quotes battery life of up to one year on a single charge. Phones need iOS 15.2 or later, or Android 7.0 or later with NFC. Block says every transaction and security setting is verified on the device. It does not publish the screen size in the sources we checked.

Is Bitkey open source?

Block publishes Bitkey’s app, firmware and server code in the proto-at-block/bitkey repository, whose licence file is the MIT License. The README calls it a published copy of Block’s internal repository, made available “for auditing purposes”, and says Block is not yet ready to support outside parties building every component. It documents a verifiable build for the Android app, with iOS to follow. We did not confirm which firmware in the repository matches the screen model, and binary reproducibility of the firmware was not tested.

In the sources we checked, Block names no secure element part or certification for this model. “Secure enclave” is Block’s wording, not a chip specification.

Has Bitkey been hacked?

None of the disclosures in our dataset is a reported theft. The four 2026 entries come from Block’s security updates page:

  • 1 August 2026: a path using a modified app and a test relationship could shorten an inheritance claim’s review delay. Block reported a fix and no shortened customer inheritance claims.
  • 11 August 2026: five software and infrastructure issues, covering delay checks on privileged actions, authorisation tokens in telemetry, randomness of an enrollment nonce, credential handling in release automation and authentication on an internal service. Block reported fixes and no customer impact.
  • 2 October 2026: before onboarding, someone in close NFC range could, under specific timing conditions, pre-set an unlock PIN on a device. Block says this alone cannot reach funds but could allow wiping the device or starting a recovery that the owner can cancel. Fixed production firmware disables PIN unlock.
  • 3 October 2026: a race in the signed-transaction cache of the Mobile Pay server, which tracks a daily spending allowance, could fail to count valid customer transactions against that allowance. Block reported a server fix and no customer impact.

Three of the four concern Block’s app or servers rather than the device. Because Block holds one of the three keys, its servers are part of the wallet’s security model.

What coins and apps work with Bitkey?

Bitcoin only. Setup needs both the Bitkey app and the device, according to Bitkey’s setup article. The 2-of-3 multisig is built in; we found no documentation for using Bitkey as a signer in other multisig coordinators. For how a phone-and-device setup compares with keeping keys entirely offline, see cold wallet vs hot wallet.

What we could not verify

  • Screen size.
  • The secure element part and any certification.
  • Country of manufacture.
  • Optional BIP-39 passphrase support; we found none documented.
  • A US dollar price.
  • How to move funds to another wallet without the Bitkey app on the screen model.

Our methodology explains how we source and date these records.

Not verified on this sheet

4 of 16 rows empty

No value recorded

  • Secure element Not verified
  • Passphrase Not verified
  • Shamir / SLIP-39 backup Not verified
  • Made by (country) Not verified

Recorded with a stated gap

  • Display Size not verified1

Evidence base

Rows with a value
12 of 16
Sources cited
6
On bitkey.world
5
Other domains
1
Sources checked
14 Oct 2026

Security history at a glance

Events recorded
4
First
Latest
Period
2026

Security history

4 events recorded

Documented events involving this device or its maker, with the date and the source. An empty list means we found no documented event, not that none exists.

  1. Bitkey ecosystem; inheritance review period

    Vendor disclosed a modified-app/test-relationship path that could shorten an inheritance delay. It reported a fix and no shortened customer inheritance claims.6

  2. Bitkey ecosystem; five disclosed software/infrastructure issues

    Vendor disclosed privileged-action delay checks, bearer tokens in telemetry, enrollment nonce randomness, release automation credential handling and internal-service authentication. It reported fixes and no customer impact.6

  3. Bitkey hardware before onboarding; close-proximity NFC provisioning

    Vendor disclosed a path to pre-provision an unlock PIN under specific proximity/timing conditions. It says this alone cannot access funds, but could permit wiping or starting cancellable recovery. Fixed production firmware disables PIN unlock.6

  4. Bitkey Mobile Pay server; spend accounting

    Vendor disclosed a signed-transaction cache race that could fail to count otherwise valid customer transactions against the daily allowance. It reported a server fix and no customer impact.6

Compared with

0 side-by-side sheets

No side-by-side sheet includes the Block Bitkey yet. The comparisons page lists every sheet we have.

Similar devices

4 from other makers

Featured devices from other makers that share a connection type or a listed-price band with the Block Bitkey. Outlines at one scale, this device first.

Front outlines at published sizes, one scale for all. A dashed outline marked NTS has no published size and is not to scale. Price bands: under $100, $100 to $199, $200 to $299, $300 and over, by the lowest listed price.

Pages that link here

2 pages

Other pages on this site that point readers to the Block Bitkey datasheet.

Sources

6 reference documents
  1. 1 bitkey.world/product checked 14 Oct 2026
  2. 2 bitkey.world/blog/meet-the-new-bitkey checked 14 Oct 2026
  3. 3 github.com/proto-at-block/bitkey checked 14 Oct 2026
  4. 4 bitkey.world checked 14 Oct 2026
  5. 5 support.bitkey.world/hc/en-us/articles/18929976655892-How-do-I-set-up-my-Bitkey-wallet checked 14 Oct 2026
  6. 6 bitkey.world/security-updates