Chained Future Cold wallet datasheets

Datasheet · NGRAVE · rev.

NGRAVE ZERO

Suits people who want a QR-only signer with a large touchscreen and fingerprint unlock, mainly for Bitcoin, Ethereum and EVM assets; less suited to anyone who wants a long native coin list, fully open firmware or a light device.

  • QR / air-gapped
  • Battery
  • Touchscreen

Official page

Maker
NGRAVE
Model
ZERO
Status
In production
Released
2020
Sources
8
Security events
0
Rows verified
13 of 16
Side-by-sides
0
Dwg no.
CF-NGRAVE-ZERO
Last checked
FrontSide70125134 in110 mm · grid 5 mm

Fig. 1 NGRAVE ZERO: outline, front and side view. Dimensions in mm.

  1. 1. Screen

    4-inch LCD capacitive touchscreen, 480 x 8003

Size and weight
125 x 70 x 13 mm; 214 g3
Distinctive
Air-gapped QR-signing wallet with a four-inch touchscreen.3

Schematic, not a likeness. The outline is drawn to the published size and the screen window to the published diagonal and resolution; where the screen sits, and any buttons or ports, are not drawn.

Key parameters

Price
€398 Maker's shop, checked 14 Oct 20261
Screen
4 in · LCD · touch 480 × 800 px3
Connectivity
QR signing, USB-C for charging and firmware updates3
Secure element
Yes4
Open-source firmware
Not fully open source; vendor describes gradual publication excluding the Secure Element and secure OS.5
Backup format
Perfect Key; other seed import details not verified7
Recovery on other wallets
Perfect Key can be converted to a 24-word seed for compatible-wallet import.3

NGRAVE ZERO in six answers

Fit card · checked 14 Oct 2026

Six plain questions, each answered from one row of the spec sheet. The line under every answer is the recorded value and its source. Unknown means the sources we checked do not settle it.

  1. Its own screen

    Check the amount and address on the wallet itself.

    Yes

    Display 4-inch LCD capacitive touchscreen, 480 x 8003

  2. Bluetooth or NFC

    A radio link in the maker's list of connections.

    No

    Connectivity QR signing, USB-C for charging and firmware updates3

  3. QR or air-gapped signing

    Can sign with no cable or radio link to the online device.

    Yes

    Connectivity QR signing, USB-C for charging and firmware updates3

  4. Open-source firmware

    The code it runs is published for anyone to read.

    Partly

    Open-source firmware Not fully open source; vendor describes gradual publication excluding the Secure Element and secure OS.5

  5. Backup in shares

    Split the backup into shares; a set number of them restores the wallet.

    Unknown

    Shamir / SLIP-39 backup Not verified

  6. Built-in battery

    A battery inside, to charge or replace.

    Yes

    Battery Built-in 1200 mAH battery8

Tally: 3 yes, 1 partly, 1 no, 1 unknown

Coins and features

Support data · checked

What NGRAVE documents for the NGRAVE ZERO, one status per coin or feature, each with its source. A linked name opens the sheet that sets every wallet side by side on it.

Coins

  • Bitcoin Native srcIn NGRAVE LIQUID (listed under native support). No Bitcoin-only edition found.
  • Ethereum Native srcIn NGRAVE LIQUID, with ERC-20 tokens.
  • Solana Native srcIn NGRAVE LIQUID.
  • XRP Native srcNative XRP with LIQUID app. Source date: not stated.

Features

  • Multisig Not documented srcZERO multisig support or coordinators not found. Source date: not stated.
  • Passphrase Yes srcPerfect Key or seed extension creates hidden wallets. Source date: not stated.
  • Bluetooth No srcQR communication. Source date: not stated.
  • SLIP-39 Shamir backup Not documented srcNo NGRAVE statement on SLIP-39 found; the ZERO uses its own Perfect Key backup and imports BIP39 phrases.
  • BIP39 recovery phrase Partial srcSince firmware 1.5 new wallets use the Perfect Key format; an equivalent 24-word BIP39 phrase can be displayed in Settings, and 12-, 18- or 24-word phrases import.
  • Open-source firmware Not documented srcNGRAVE says ZERO firmware "will be gradually open sourced" except the secure element and its OS; we found no published firmware.

Notes: design and recovery

  1. Distinctive design

    What the maker's pages single out about this device.

    Air-gapped QR-signing wallet with a four-inch touchscreen.3

    Source wording 4″ Touchscreen Checked 14 Oct 2026

  2. Seed portability

    Whether its backup restores on a wallet from another maker.

    Perfect Key can be converted to a 24-word seed for compatible-wallet import.3

    Source wording free to import your seed into another wallet. Checked 14 Oct 2026

Price position

Listed as €398, which we cannot place on a US dollar range.

Lowest
$54.90
Median
$149
Highest
$399
All 21 listed prices
  1. Tangem Wallet $54.90 for 2 cards, $69.90 for 3 cards
  2. Trezor Safe 3 $59
  3. Arculus Cold Storage Wallet $59.76
  4. KeepKey $59.95
  5. Ledger Nano S Plus $69
  6. SafePal X1 $69.99
  7. SafePal S1 Pro $89.99
  8. Ledger Nano X $99
  9. Trezor Safe 5 $129
  10. Blockstream Jade Plus $149 to $169
  11. Keystone 3 Pro $149
  12. Tangem Ring $160
  13. ELLIPAL Titan 2.0 $169
  14. Ledger Nano Gen5 $179
  15. COLDCARD Mk5 $219
  16. Ledger Flex $249
  17. Trezor Safe 7 $249
  18. OneKey Pro $278
  19. COLDCARD Q $319
  20. Foundation Passport Prime $349
  21. Ledger Stax $399

Listed prices at each maker's own shop, in US dollars. Checked between 14 Oct 2026 and 15 Oct 2026. Shops change prices, bundles and regional offers often; open the source before buying. 5 featured devices have no US dollar price recorded and are left off the scale.

Note

How this page was made: a documentation-led review. Every specification comes from NGRAVE's own pages or published research and links to its source; we have not used this device hands-on for this page. Last checked 14 Oct 2026. Method.

The NGRAVE ZERO is an air-gapped hardware wallet, made in Belgium, that signs transactions by QR code. NGRAVE’s product page lists “No USB, Bluetooth, NFC, WiFi or 4G”, and says the USB-C port is “Only for Wall Charging & Secure Firmware Updates”. It has a 4-inch LCD touchscreen at 480 x 800 pixels, a 640 x 480 camera, a fingerprint sensor and a 1200 mAh battery, and measures 125 x 70 x 13 mm at 214 g. NGRAVE announced it in an April 2020 release that set 26 May 2020 as the launch date. NGRAVE’s shop listed the ZERO at €398 on 14 October 2026, or €498 for the wallet-and-backup combo pack on the same date.

Who is the NGRAVE ZERO for?

It suits people who:

  • want to sign only by QR code, with no data cable or radio;
  • want a fingerprint as well as a PIN: NGRAVE says the fingerprint is used to “unlock your device, and sign transactions in combination with a solid 8-digit PIN code”;
  • hold mainly Bitcoin, Ethereum and EVM tokens, and use NGRAVE’s LIQUID app, MetaMask or Rabby.

It is a weaker fit if you want:

  • a long native coin list: see the coin section below;
  • firmware you can read in full: NGRAVE says only part of it will be published;
  • a light device: at 214 g it weighs more than the ELLIPAL Titan 2.0 (140 g, listed at $169 on 14 October 2026) and the Keystone 3 Pro (103 g, listed at $149 on the same date), both also 4-inch QR signers;
  • multisig or SLIP-39 backups: we found no NGRAVE documentation of either for the ZERO.

What does EAL7 mean on the NGRAVE ZERO?

NGRAVE’s spec sheet lists “CC EAL7, CE, RoHS, FCC”, and the product page credits “a custom OS that achieved EAL7 certification”. NGRAVE’s May 2020 announcement is more specific: the ZERO integrates ProvenCore, a trusted execution environment from Prove & Run that “meets Common Criteria EAL7 security certification”. By NGRAVE’s own account, then, the certificate covers the operating system layer, not the whole wallet or its chip.

The secure element is a separate part. NGRAVE’s specifications page describes it as “a customized and upgraded version of the STSAFE A100”, next to an STM32MP157C processor, and does not state its certification level. When Trezor or Tangem quote EAL6+, they refer to the secure element chip, so the two numbers describe different components and are not a direct ranking.

For physical protection, NGRAVE says “You can’t open NGRAVE ZERO without damaging it or leaving traces”, so you can check it for tampering after shipping, and that after setup “sensors inside wipe the device if opened”. The specifications page adds an IP55 rating. We found no independent test of the tamper sensors. Our dataset records no security incident for the ZERO; that is the result of our search, not proof that none exists.

Is the NGRAVE ZERO open source?

Not fully. NGRAVE’s help article, last updated in July 2023, says the firmware “will be gradually open sourced except the secure element and secure operating system.” We did not establish how much has been published since. Separately, NGRAVE’s homepage says firmware 1.8 moved the ZERO to an “open Universal QR Protocol”, “published for anyone to read, verify, and build on”. That opens the format the device uses to exchange data, not the firmware that signs.

What is the NGRAVE Perfect Key?

The Perfect Key is NGRAVE’s backup format: “the equivalent of a traditional 24-word seed phrase in a 64-character hexadecimal format”. During setup the ZERO “uses your biometrics and allows you to shuffle parts of your key” to generate it, and the specifications page says the camera adds randomness “separate from the built-in chip”. Since firmware 1.5, according to NGRAVE’s setup guide, new wallets are created only in this format.

It is not a closed format. An FAQ on the product page (updated 16 December 2023) says the Perfect Key “can easily be converted into the 24-words version and vice versa”. NGRAVE calls both forms representations of a 256-bit private key, but its conversion steps are more precise: they label the hexadecimal value “Entropy” and the words “BIP39 Mnemonic”. In BIP39 terms, the 64 characters are the random entropy that the 24 words encode, and the wallet’s seed and keys are derived from the words afterwards. NGRAVE says you are “always free to import” that phrase into another wallet. We have not tested whether every asset appears at the same addresses there.

Other backup details:

  • Importing: NGRAVE’s import guide covers 12-, 18- or 24-word phrases, while recommending new keys created on the ZERO.
  • GRAPHENE is a two-plate stainless steel backup for the Perfect Key that NGRAVE describes as “encrypted and recoverable”; its shop listing sells it separately from the ZERO.
  • Passphrase: supported. NGRAVE’s passphrase FAQ says it is not stored on the ZERO like the Perfect Key: it is held encrypted in the secure element only for the duration of a session and wiped when the ZERO goes into standby or turns off. The FAQ adds that a passphrase “can’t be displayed” on the device and is not part of the Perfect Key backup, so a lost passphrase means losing “access to the associated funds”.

See our seed phrase guide.

Which coins does the NGRAVE ZERO support?

NGRAVE’s figures vary by page. The ZERO page says “We support 15 coins and all Ethereum and MultiversX tokens” but opens with “+3 500 coins and tokens”. The FAQ on NGRAVE’s homepage names coins including Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, XRP, Litecoin, Dogecoin and Avalanche (X-chain), plus Ethereum NFTs, and says that through MetaMask and Rabby you can “store and transact coins on all EVM-based chains even if they are not supported in the LIQUID app”. The same page says firmware 1.8 adds Polygon tokens. We found no Bitcoin-only edition.

Other QR signers are compared in our air-gapped hardware wallets guide, including the COLDCARD Q.

What we could not verify

  • The secure element’s certification level.
  • Which parts of the firmware NGRAVE has published, and under what licence.
  • Multisig and SLIP-39 support.
  • When the first units shipped: the 2020 release planned shipping for October 2020, and NGRAVE’s press archive places first-batch coverage in 2021.
  • A single coin count that reconciles NGRAVE’s figures.
  • Any independent test of the tamper sensors.

Read how we build each datasheet in our methodology.

Not verified on this sheet

3 of 16 rows empty

No value recorded

  • Bitcoin-only edition Not verified
  • Multisig Not verified
  • Shamir / SLIP-39 backup Not verified

Recorded with a stated gap

  • Backup format Other seed import details not verified7

Evidence base

Rows with a value
13 of 16
Sources cited
8
On ngrave.io
6
Other domains
2
Sources checked
14 Oct 2026

Security history

0 events recorded

Documented events involving this device or its maker, with the date and the source. An empty list means we found no documented event, not that none exists.

No documented events recorded yet.

Compared with

0 side-by-side sheets

No side-by-side sheet includes the NGRAVE ZERO yet. The comparisons page lists every sheet we have.

Similar devices

4 from other makers

Featured devices from other makers that share a connection type or a listed-price band with the NGRAVE ZERO. Outlines at one scale, this device first.

Front outlines at published sizes, one scale for all. Price bands: under $100, $100 to $199, $200 to $299, $300 and over, by the lowest listed price.

Pages that link here

2 pages

Other pages on this site that point readers to the NGRAVE ZERO datasheet.

Other datasheets

Sources

8 reference documents
  1. 1 shop.ngrave.io checked 14 Oct 2026
  2. 2 globenewswire.com/news-release/2020/04/28/2023389/0/en/ngrave-launches-world-s-most-secure-cryptocurrency-hardware-wallet.html checked 14 Oct 2026
  3. 3 ngrave.io/en/zero checked 14 Oct 2026
  4. 4 medium.com/ngrave/ngraves-crypto-hardware-wallet-earns-world-s-top-security-standard-20007f9fea63 checked 14 Oct 2026
  5. 5 support.ngrave.io/hc/en-us/articles/4409555395217-Is-the-ZERO-open-source checked 14 Oct 2026
  6. 6 support.ngrave.io/hc/en-us/articles/14915071703581-Passphrase-FAQ checked 14 Oct 2026
  7. 7 support.ngrave.io/hc/en-us/articles/4409592716177-Demo-Create-a-wallet checked 14 Oct 2026
  8. 8 support.ngrave.io/hc/en-us/articles/4409554458001-ZERO-specifications checked 14 Oct 2026